We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a terrace!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a terrace!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We enjoyed three nights at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama. The relaxed atmosphere of the terrace and the stunning view was a highlight. The tips on cycling routes were great and the food met with the needs of hungry cyclists. Il Perlo Panorama provided good accommodation, good value for money and helpful, friendly service.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake - it's spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateG778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilsanchi, Proprietario at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Kate, thanks a lot for your comment!!!
It was a real pleasure having you here and thanks for talking about cycling services... it is really growing now and we would really love sharing these services...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    260
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
127
525
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wow! What a wonderful location here in Lake Como. Just a short ferry journey over to Bellagio and a few minutes drive up to the hotel and you find yourself in heaven. Beautiful Piera on reception, so lovely and helpful. Her warmth just radiates. She greeted us after our long journey with a big smile and gave us a run down on the area and the hotel etc. Carlo her son was also around to greet us, he is just such a nice man. I booked it with him almost a year ago, he was so helpful in our emails and suggested room 14 'Il Professor'. The bedroom is large with two small balconies with table and chairs. When we opened the french doors the spectacular views just took our breath away. Thank you for this suggestion Carlo, and thanks for such brilliant communication skills when i was booking. The bathroom is fine although no walk in shower this was not a problem, its common in Italy. The bed is king size and super comfy with the best quality bedding. Changed daily. Also the towels. The colour scheme is a beautiful Tuscan yellow and lets you know you are in Italy.

We sat on the terrace during the day which has views to die for. Plenty of seating including tables, chairs and loungers. You can eat and drink on the terrace and just gaze out at the amazing views.

The food is homemade and although the menu isn't elaborate its spot on, something for everyone. The house red wine was very palatable too. We enjoyed the meal so much the first evening we decided to stay in the second evening too. It worked very well for us as the weather wasn't too kind during that evening with heavy rain and thunder storms.

Breakfast has everything to set you up for the day. A typical continental breakfast. Lovely coffee too.

We never do the same hotel twice but if we were to return to this area we would have no hesitation in booking here. Its a very special hotel, cherished by the owners who care very much about their guests. At around 100 - 115 euros a night bed and breakfast its really a no brainer.

Room Tip: Room 14 Il Professor has 2 balconies, stunning views over Lake Como.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I know everyone has said it but this hotel has one of the best views you will find anywhere in italy, if not the world. It's nice to have a room with a lake view (we had one if we walked to the end of our balcony), but don't worry too much as you will be spending quite a lot of time on the terrace just staring out over the lake

The room we had was pretty basic but very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a very unique shower (more of a tent than a cubicle). We ate in the first night we got there (as we arrived quite late) and the food was OK. Much better to pop into town as the choice of restaurants is amazing and everyone we ate in was great

To be honest you can forgive them the odd imperfect element as the service was second to none. The hotel is at the base of the madonna del ghisallo. A very famous climb for cycling enthusiasts. I wasn't there long to cycle up myself but if you are a keen cyclist don't forget your kit. No need to take your bike as the owner has a number of carbon race bikes to hire (I was quoted just 15EUR to hire one for a couple of hours to go up the climb and back)

There offer a cheap taxi service into town and back a few times a day (1EUR charged to your room per person) but the taxis in town only charge 10EUR so no drama if you miss the cheaper one.

All in all a great place to stay, much much cheaper than the hotels in town, and with a far superior view. Recommended especially for couples on a romantic break / or for cyclists who want to base themselves in Bellagio

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel. The rooms at the side do have a view of the lake right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were in Milan, visiting our daughter who was studying there. She had been to Lake Como earlier in the semester, and once I saw pictures, I knew I had to go!!! We found this gem in Bellagio on TripAdvisor. It is affordable, with the most stunning views of one of the most stunning lakes in the world!!!! After being in Milan for a few days, we were thrilled to find ourselves in this quiet, beautiful spot.

This hotel is not on the "main drag," is not "fancy" but is fantastic. We took a train to Como and then the the "slow" ferry from Como, which was delightful.When we arrived in Bellagio, we called the hotel, and they sent a driver to pick us up. After a 10-15 minute uphill drive, during which we were very glad to not be walking with our bags, we arrived at this sweet, simple hotel with lovely grounds and drop -dead gorgeous views. We ate a delicious dinner at the hotel,watched a dramatic thunder storm sweep accross the lake, slept in our clean, quiet room, and woke to jaw dropping views of the lake. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful, fresh and delicious. We got a ride into town and spent the day vising gardens, shopping and eating a delicious lunch. If we hadn't committed to returning to Milan to cook dinner with our daughter for her flat-mates, we would have loved to stay longer. Returning, we took the advice of the hotel manager and took the short ferry ride to Varenna, where we then walked to the train station and caught a train back to Milan. Shorter trip - less scenic, which was fine for our return.

Room Tip: Definitely get a lake view room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaxweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here not in the main building but in an apartment they have about 2 mins drive away. The apartment is very spacious with 2 full size bedrooms, kitchen/dining area, living room and a reception! It has obviously been renovated and is in a more residential/holiday home area than the hotel. There is room for 1 car to park outside (there is a single flight of stairs to the room, no lift). We were very happy with the apartment, and we had to drive up for breakfast in the morning which is traditional continental. The hotel has a shuttle bus daily down into the centre of Bellagio 3 - 4 times a day, useful as parking is a nightmare on most days. The staff were extremely kind, friendly and helpful. I would stay here again certainly. Free WiFi in both hotel and apartment.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarlFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed here twice before and love it. The owners are so nice, very friendly and offer a lot of information of the area. We stayed in a lovely room on the top floor overlooking the amazing view. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel twice whIch was a meal of home made pasta; ravioli and tagliatelle all really nice, we also had home made pizzas another night again very nice indeed. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a family run hotel with an amazing view of lake como.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilsanchi, Proprietario at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Wow... so nice to see we start reading about returning to il Perlo....
I really have to thank you for coming back first and about commenting above all... Your comment introduce something I would consider important... Restaurant at the Hotel.... after a few years trying the best formula, I would say we found now the way to: simple, home made cusine offering simple choice in an informal way... and it looks like you start enjoying it: we are now working on Autums Gourmet experiences to share with you.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The most amazing view of lake Como and Bellagio from this family run property. Could not have found a better location. The owners are very friendly and always ready for advise and cooperative in pick up and drops. Very quite and soooo beautiful. Want to spend the rest of my life here.

Room Tip: Get a room with the lake view;
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skoch222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilsanchi, Proprietario at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Simply SMILING on your review....It was a real pleasure having you here those days and we are really looking forward to share our "Heaven on Earth" with you soon.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Property: Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing