We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views if you don't mind an old room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, USA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent views if you don't mind an old room”
Reviewed 1 April 2009

The good – the hotel view was excellent, just to seat there and relax and enjoy the view was wonderful. It is uphill, but the views are worth it. Carlo and Piera were both very friendly. The breakfast was good. The view from our room window was fantastic.
The bad – our room (#25) was very run down, old, ugly furniture and we could hear the TV from the next room as if it was in our room.
The ugly – upon arrival we decided to walk to the hotel – big mistake! The road does not have a sidewalk so it is very dangerous, especially because of all the curves. Plus we were carrying our luggage. I would not recommend walking there. Second thing – taxis are very few. We went out for dinner at La Grotta (good restaurant) and when we left we called a taxi from the list of taxis that Carlo provided. Well, one driver was off that night (Saturday night), the other one was asleep, and the 3rd one did not answer. We went back to the restaurant and asked if they could call a taxi – they called exactly the same people we did. We made it back thanks to the courtesy of one young hotel bar manager who offered us a ride after we explained our situation. It wasn’t that late, I believe it was 10pm. So, if you stay at this hotel, make sure you have an early dinner.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vero_PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    265
    48
    23
    10
See reviews for
129
538
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shildon
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed here for three nights while on our way to Nago-Torbole, Lake Garda. The view is every bit as good as mentioned in other peoples reviews, however the photos still do not do it enough justice. This is a sight you really have to experience to realise how beautiful the sunset is over the lake. The hotel is well presented, average really, no complaints and no real plus points. Would definantly go again to enjoy a bottle of chanti while watching the sunset. The hotel is a little far out to be convenient which was slightly awkward for us as we were travelling via motorcycle so it was a hassle to get about.However you could plan your day around the bus service which wasn't frequent enough for us. Since our travelling requires us to be quite structured to achieve the miles between the hotels we prefer to be very easy going once there.It is worth noting that we paid extra for a room with a lake view,which was well worth the money.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Outward location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShildonPaulandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

The Il Perlo Panorama Hotel/B&B in Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy was a quaint lovely place. The views of the Lake were magnificant. The people were gracious. But.... we had two problems: 1) There is no lift/elevator which was not a big problem; 2) they had roaches which was a big problem. We only stayed 2-days/1-night and I saw one roach in the bathroom during the night and one on the ceiling in the morning...the little creatures made their way into our luggage and we bought two home with us. I could put up with the 'no-lift/elevator', but the roaches... ugh! Too bad because the people, the breakfast, the room ... all great!

  • Liked — The location, the views, the people, the room
  • Disliked — roaches and no lift/elevator
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Wow, what a view!! It doesn't get much better than sitting on the terrace of this beautiful hotel and looking down on the village of Bellagio and Lake Como.
We stayed in a 'Family Suite' which was on 2 levels with a small kitchenette available and accommodated the 4 of us with plenty of room to spare.
Can't wait to go back and spend more time.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — breakfast in a pokey little room when the hotel is so big & beautiful
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hostiewiththemostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We stayed in the same room in 2004. Went back even though the price has almost doubled because of the view and the claim of recent renovations (including plasma TVs). The place has not changed, there were no plasma tvs and no sign of renovations. Upon arrival, the kitchenette cupbord doors were sealed and there was a note that a 30 Euro charge would be added for a final clean up if kitchen was used (the note was on laminated paper which I guess means that there were lots of people complaining). This was not mentioned at any time while we were booking on the net. Other guests complained about it as well. Furthermore, the stove didnt work, the liitle freezer compartment had no door and as such our icecream melted), there was no cutlery and only minimal equipment was provided (4 years ago the level of equipment wasnt brilliant but one could get by). I suspect this had to do with the hotel's commencement of a resturant service. Upon leaving I gave the owner two options-we can either pay for our stay without the 30 euro fee or she can chase us for the entire amount. After a few minutes she agreed not to charge the fee (the fact that I had a printed receipt for the deposit and a final sum stated as including all services and taxes probably helped). Apart from that, the view is fabulous as is having a meal on the terrace. The place is overpriced (unless they do renovate it). Breakfast is ok. I noticed that they finally did put the 30 euro charge notification on their website.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — poor standard for the price, not disclosing extra charges until we arrived at the place for using a kitchennete with no cutlery, a stove that doesnt work and hardly any kitchen equipment.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank martino-in-sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We've just got back from staying 4 nights at this bed and breakfast and have to say we found the whole experience wonderful!

Okay admittedly it is a little far from town (especially when you don't have your own transport) but the walk down is a nice one (takes about 30 mins) and the hotel offers a shuttle service 3 times a day plus there is a public bus service. We walked back up to the hotel a few times and it is quite steep and we definitely wouldn't recommend it in the dark (or with luggage!) In the evenings, it just takes a bit of organising but there are plenty of restaurant shuttles/taxis that can take you where you need to be.

Our room was separate from the main building and absolutely perfect! We had lake views from the room and the patio area outside. It had everything you need (clean/tidy and a decent shower etc. Also a little kitchenette but I think you may have to pay a surcharge to use this) so we were more than happy. The views are stunning!!

Breakfast consisted of a buffet with hot drinks and we found this simple (cereal, breads, cheese, ham etc) but everything you need to start the day. We even stayed for the buffet dinner one night just to relax and lap up the views some more and this again was simple but everything you need (we even tried some of the local food). The hotel has a selection of wines at reasonable prices so what better way to spend the evening than sitting on the patio area drinking wine and taking in the views!

In terms of the family running the hotel, we found them lovely (very friendly, helpful and full of local advice). Definitely no complaints there.

If you want a really special evening, there is a little restaurant called Alle Darsene de Loppia which seemed a real Italian dining experience with food to die for! You need to book in advance and arrange taxis (we walked there and got a taxi back) but the family at the hotel can help you with this.

All in all, we would highly recommend this place and had a great stay. The only reason we are not giving it 5 stars is because of the transport planning needed to go out in the evening.

  • Liked — The views and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of mobility (didn't have own car)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djp278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We just returned from a 3-week vacation in Tuscany. We drove down to our vacation home in 3 days, with a first stop near Strassbourg and a second stop at lake Como. We picked this hotel from the internet and booked a room for 4 persons- my wife and I and our 2 children (7 and 9).

Our room was not part of the building we saw on the website but was a separate concrete entity that looked like it was added in the seventies and had not seen any changes since then.
Rather bare, tasteless and the bedroom was like a bunker. The huge window had only a very faint view on the lake.
Supposedly there is a -paid- shuttle service a little walk down the road. We didn't use it and walked down to the lake -according to the manager 10 minutes- but in fact more like a half hour. Going up took somewhat longer...
The breakfast was the worst we have ever experienced. Airplane food of the worst kind (including lots of plasticwrap) would be the best description. The final insult was the cheap coffeemachine which produced the foulest water-with-coffeehint you can imagine. Next to it was another coffeemachine which produced espresso/cappucinno for which you had to pay 1 euro per cup!!
When I expressed my displeasure to the owner (an elderly woman with a nasty disposition) and said I thought it not very friendly to serve bad coffee and ask guest 1 euro for good coffee, her reply was that I didn't have to buy the other coffee and that I was the first ever to complain about it. Needless to say I didn't believe her. No effort whatsoever to resolve the situation in a customer-friendly manner. I told her this was Italy, the land of great espresso!! and that this was not only demeaning to her guests but also to the traditions of her country, but this lady didn't care. Very sad.
We paid 161 euro's for our room. Why doesn't she charge 165 and serve proper coffee? That would have been fine with me. But this is just plain rude.
It is obvious that people go here for the view, which is nice. But the view is all they offer. And the lake is full of hotels that offer view AND service!

If you like horrible coffee, bad service and (in our case) a bunker-like room, go to Il Perlo. If you don't, it shouldn't be too hard finding a better hotel.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImagineAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
780 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Property: Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing