We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for....”
Review of Hotel Bellagio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bellagio
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Insch, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for....”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Ok Hotel, nothing outstanding. Terrible room on first night, shower door came off and tap dripped all night in sink. But we were moved into another room for the rest of our stay which was fine although very noisy as walls are paper thin. Breakfast OK, not great selection. I booked this Hotel based on reviews but as it was our Honeymoon then wished we had booked somewhere better. Bellagio itself is great, especially the little fishing village over the back, wished we had stayed there instead. Go to restaurant "Far Out" it was fantastic!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    261
    44
    17
    11
See reviews for
78
474
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have not stayed in a 2 star hotel for many years so I was a bit concerned. No need to have been as it was a spotless, friendly hotel with a fantastic view from our room (401). Very centrally located in Bellagio. Best way to get to from Milan is a train to Varenna and then a short ferry ride to Bellagio. Loved Bellagio with its cobbled streets. Reception staff were always on hand with any advise re restaurants etc.. We had our nicest evening meal at Hotel du Lac. A hidden gem for lunch was a café called 3 and a half miles which is just down the road from Villa Carlotta - bruschetta to die for (we went twice). Make sure you also visit Villa Melzi; Villa Del Balbianello and Villa Serbelloni fantastic properties and gardens. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Must get a room with a lakeview on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawn267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
353 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The view in our room is hard to beat. It is the best room of the hotel, corner room on the top floor, room 404. You pay a little more but it is worth to splurge once in awhile. I regretted why I only booked for 3 nights, I could have added one more day. Jane who met us at the reception is a very nice lady and gave us tips on what to check out in Bellagio in the days we were there.

The thing that we could have wished they could improve is the food they can offer breakfast. There was no egg or bacon at all. Just jams and one type of cold ham. On our third day, we saw some people ordering capuccino instead of just getting brewed coffee.

The room to the key is a card which you put in a little box to turn on the electricity of the room. This is quite common and the disadvantage to this is that you could not re-charge your gadgets if you go out for dinner. Anyway, it was not such a big deal. It is just that I always ran out of battery on my camera and my tablet because of too much pictures taken during the day. Bellagio and its surrounding areas is just so beautiful.

The elevator is not reliable esp. if you go from the first floor (eating area) to your room on the 4th floor. During our stay, the elevator never came on the first floor. The ground level is 0 (reception area).

The other travellers have mentioned the steps leading to the hotel from the street level. It is quite some steps so it is wise not to fill up your suitcase that you cannot carry it. We never bothered the hotel about this issue. For the view we got, it was worth carrying our suitcases.

The hotel offers a 10% discount if you eat dinner at the restaurant of Hotel du Lac which is located along the main street of Bellagio right infront of the pier. Great food there so it is worthwhile to eat dinner there.

The bed is good to sleep on. The temperature of the aircon is controlled by the receptionist. So you can just ask them to adjust it for you if you want it colder or warmer. Dial 9 if you don't like to go down. Wifi works well.

There are 2 ways to come to Bellagio. Either via Como where you could take either a slow or a fast ferry. The slow one took almost 2 hours but it was enjoyable. In going home, we took a shorter route back to Milan. We took the train from Varenna, a place across Bellagio. From there, we took the train to Milan which took only an hour and 3 min. Buy the ticket from the conductor on the train. The Varenna Esino train station is closed therefore you could not buy tickets from a machine but the train stops there, that is for sure.

There is a lavandera (self-laundry). Cheap and good to have a service like this esp. if one has been travelling Italy for many days. Next time, I will even bring fewer clothes and wash the clothes during the trip. There are many train stations where you really have to carry your suitcases as there is no escalator or elevator, just stairs and it's not a piece of cake to carry suitcases. So reserve your shopping on the last city you will visit in Italy before your flight going home.

For 2 nights, we could hear there is music coming from an establishment. But at 12 midnight, the music stops. It is not irritating however as they sang old songs and not the modern disco music these days. It sounds like karaoke but maybe not, it's just the singers singing sounds like they are in a karaoke bar.

Highly recommend this hotel and we wish to go back and get the same room!

Room Tip: Top floor on the corner has a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingisagift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a lovely family run hotel located by the ferry dock in Bellagio. You have to climb up a step hill to enter the hotel but it is worth it. It is important to have a room with a view of the lake because it is really special. There is no restaurant but their sister hotel is nearby and has an excellent restaurant. There is buffet breakfast in the hotel which is just fine. There is a nearby spa which is associated with the hotel as well. The hotel is quite well maintain. Our stay was just perfect.
Added bonus walk up the hill by the hotel turn right and then left and there is a laundry mat.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view if the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel was the perfect choice for our stay in Bellagio. You do have to go up several small steps to reach the hotel (and carrying heavy luggage is not an easy feat- but there is usually someone at the front desk who will get it from the street and carry up it up for you). The lake view rooms have gorgeous views of Lake Como and are well worth the price. The breakfast is simple but enough to get you started in the morning. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Bellagio is definitely the town to stay in while visiting Lake Como and Hotel Bellagio is a wonderful boutique hotel. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Breaking news…………..Hotel Bellagio brings Mr Creosote out of retirement!!

Perfectly situated in the heart of beautiful Bellagio, on an archetypal, cobbled Italian street with breath taking views over Lake Como. During this my latest stay, it was just as it has always been, maybe even better!! This small family run hotel never disappoints.

I do not think that I can come up with anymore superlatives than those that are already exhibited in the positive reviews of this hotel, the town, the lake or indeed Northern Italy!

Breakfast is the only meal served at The Bellagio and it is excellent. Make sure it is Suri that prepares your morning cappuccino, perfecto!
Their sister hotel, The Du Lac which is within 100 metres, will take care of any other meals that you may require, snacks, lunch and dinner are all very well catered for!! Killer G and T's too!!!

Simply, the Leoni family, Dani and the gorgeous Janey and their staff are fantastic, they are a credit to their profession and Italian tourism. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them.

Terrific, you will love it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very good hotel ideally located just on the back of the main road. good breakfast in the terrace. The ideal place in bellagio. Ask for the room,in the upper floors for the view on the lake and enjoy italian food in all the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
764 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
867 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellagio

Property: Hotel Bellagio
Address: Salita Leone Carlo Grandi 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellagio 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing