We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the heart of Bellagio!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Antico Pozzo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stay in the heart of Bellagio!”
Reviewed 15 May 2010

This place is all about location. You come off the ferry and climb up some steps and then you're there.
Check in and check out is all very friendly and relaxed. Room 6 offered pleasant views of the lake. The apartment was very clean and the kitchenette has everything you need! Only niggle would be the temperature of the shower was sometimes tricky to adjust. However this place is definitely good value for a base to explore the lake from.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_with_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    39
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duncraig
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Stayed in beautiful Bellagio early November for 8 days. We highly recommend Antico Pozzo, in particular our room in the attic surprised an delighted us. Our first impression is the magnificent view across the Lake to the Mountains which never ceases to fascinate the occupants. Spacious , comfortable and very well appoointed for kitchen factilies and bathroom (with views also). Access is a little challenging if carrying heavy cases but you can be revivied on the comfortable bed and just taking in the views. Antico Pozzo is so central to all your needs. Thank you Kikka - we will return to Bellagio and stay with you again... Bellagio early November was quite but as a base it is excellent value as you can access Como, Milano and Lugano by local transport...We miss you Bellagio....

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2009

I stayed at Residenza Antico Pozzo with my mum who was visiting from Australia.

We had the lakeview room, and the views were stunning (including those from the toilet!). The Rezidenza is located directly up the hill/stairs from where the boat comes in from Como. It was an effort for us to get our suitcases up the stairs, which is the only downside to the location (we found out that there is a way of getting to the apartment to avoid the stairs, and we found this route much better with our suitcases when we left). The apartments are above a restaurant, and we ate a nice lunch there during our stay.

The apartment was a studio room with a bathroom, and the kitchen was small but very well equipped. There was a bar fridge, microwave, stovetop/ hob, dishwasher and cooking/eating utensils. I really liked how clean everything was, with the rubbish being collected daily by the apartment's friendly cleaner. There wasn't any food or condiments of any type though, and it was annoying to have to buy 1kg of sugar just for my breakfast coffee over four days.

I would definitely stay here again, as it is such a good location and great to have the option of self catering for breakfast and other meals.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail_Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We have just returned from a week's stay in Antico Pozzo in Bellagio.
This little Residence is centrally located close to the lake, ferry dock and all amenities.
We stayed in a studio apartment at 1st floor.
It was a good choice as we had much more space then an hotel room and we had the opportunity to eat out and enjoy the fab restaurants in Bellagio.
There is also a good restaurant close the apartments. Any noise from there.
The apartment was extremely clean and very well furnished :
fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and microwave oven
comfortable double bed
good air conditioning system
Each morning the maid was in the apartment to replace stocks and pick up bargain.
We also had a full change of linens during the week.

Our stay was very reasonably priced even during high season.

We enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay here again.

Highly recomended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

My Girlfriend and I (aged 17 and 22) stayed at Antico Pozzo for 7 nights at the end of July. Prior to arrival i was very impressed with the speed and helpfulness of communications between myself and Kicca (the lady in charge?). It made booking a room and getting everything organised very quick and easy.
We arrived mid-day Thursday, parked the hire car in the free 1hr car park in the square and walked the 30 second walk to the apartments. The restaurant was fairly busy but getting checked in etc was no problem and there are plenty of free car parking spaces a short walk away.
We had paid the extra 100 Euro or so and gone for a 2 roomed apartment on the second floor (No4). I think it was worth it even for the 2 of us as it made it that bit more comfortable. I didn't see a single roomed apartment though so they maybe bigger than i expect them to be.
The apartment itself was a little disappointing to be honest. The pictures do make it look larger than it is and the furniture in the kitchen/living room is a bit drab. However, it is pretty well kitted out from what i could see. We ate out all week so we didn’t actually have to use anything in the kitchen but it was all there. The sofa bed was very hard and not the most comfortable thing to sit on. I must say that the main room was kitted out with a very very good air-con system! It really was a gods send!

The bedroom. Again a lot smaller than i expected but the cabinets and wardrobes are really good with plenty of space for clothes etc. Unfortunately that really comfy bed shown in the pictures was pretty bad in reality. It was 2 single mattresses put together. Over time the joining edges in the centre of the bed have sunk and gone soft but the rest of the bed is like sleeping on a wooden plank!
The bathroom was very clean and well kitted out. However, the shower had a mind of its own, changing from hot to cold etc. Also the built in hair dryer was about as effective as hanging your head out of the window so bring your own!

On the whole it was perfect for what we wanted as a young couple and it is good value for money considering the rates being charged at the neighbouring hotels. Great location aswell (the steps will soon work that big meal off).
We were only really there to get changed and to sleep but I wouldn’t want to spend too much time in there though (i.e., nights in etc). There is obviously no pool or anything but the Sporting club is absolutely brilliant! We were only there for a few hours on 2 occasions and we were both pleasantly surprised! Really nice, clean place with something to suit all age groups! Apparently there is a free bus that takes you up there but as we had a hire car we drove and found parking right outside the gate both times. It is quite a trek to walk there but its possible if you wanted to.

As for the restaurant Antico Pozzo. I read endless reviews from people saying its the best food in Bellagio! So as anyone would, we ate there on the first night. I’m sorry, but what planet are these people from! Ok so the service was great as it normally is in Italy but the food.....?
For starter we shared a platter of cold meats, cheeses, bread etc. I’m glad we shared because I was actually full after that! Very very nice but too much and to be honest, there’s not a huge amount of skill in putting a bit of ham and cheese on a board.
Throughout our journey we had both been craving a good home made Italian lasagne so we both had that for main course. When they came out wobbling like a jelly I was horrified to be presented a lasagne fresh from the microwave!!! I do find that completely unacceptable for any restaurant! It was horrible!
The Eric Clapton Look/sound alike was quite a nice touch which everybody seemed to be enjoying.
We did give them another chance later in the week and we had Pizza's. They were ok but really nothing special. I’ve had better in England!

Having been to Bellagio on several occasions in the past, the last being 7 years ago, I was keen to go back now that I’m older. I think it’s safe to say that it really is my idea of heaven. My girlfriend had never been to Italy before but after that week she’s a true convert and we can't think of anywhere we would rather go next year and we would certainly stay at Antico Pozzo again! thank you

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtis_330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed here in between tours and could not have picked a better place,so much so it is very likely we will return for a longer stay.The restaurant was very pleasant and our check in check out lady was excellent.We toured the lake by boat from here and it is convenient for everything.Tip for arriving guests.Don't try the hill with cases.If you come by boat go to the left and walk around to the top.Its a little further but a lot easier. Enjoyed every moment of Bellagio

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo44Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Our family of four spent Thanksgiving at the Residence L'Antico Pozzo in the Rosa Dei Venti apartment. Bellagio took about 25-30 mins to get to from Como. Depends on traffic. The road from Como to Bellagio is VERY narrow and winds along the lake. Try not to get distracted by the views while driving, as it is really beautiful. The apartment was located at the far end of town away from the main residence, but was easy to find by the following the directions provided. Park in the small parking lot just after the hair salon and Baba Yaga steakhouse. Call the manager from here and they will come and open the apartment for you. You unload your luggage in the small parking lot next to the apartment and then park your vehicle down the street near the boat launch. It takes 4 minutes to walk there from the apartment and was very safe. The accommodations were wonderful! The 2-bedroom apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. Everything within Bellagio is walking distance. Our visit was in the off-season, so there were few folks out and about. There are several nice cafes, shops, and other stores very close by. We found one cafe/bakery/bar on Via Garbaldi on the right had side of the street as you walk from the apartment. The place was operated by two older gentlemen who were extremely friendly. This was our stop for coffee and some pastry items each day. We also found a very nice grocery/deli a little further up the street that was very nice. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. Since it was the off-season, there were fewer choices for dinner. However, the steakhouse Baba Yaga, which is right next to the apartment was awesome. We had lunch and dinner there and thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. Their pizzas were very good. Highly recommend stopping in for at least one meal here. We also had dinner one evening at the Restaurant Antico Pozzo. Another wonderful meal here! We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would definitely recommend the apartment, especially for those with families.

  • Liked — Wonderful service and clean room
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wm-L7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Antico Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Antico Pozzo

Property: Residence Antico Pozzo
Address: Salita Antonio Mella 26, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Antico Pozzo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Antico Pozzo is a centuries old original house in the centre of Bellagio, just 50 metres from the lake and the landing stage.Antico Pozzo is the ideal place for a pleasant stay on the lake: our apartments enjoy pride of place in a quiet location along the most central of the many cobblestoned stepped paths that are typical of the historic centre.We have several types of apartments, tastefully furnished and with all the modern comforts to cater for a relaxing holiday or a visit to pursue your favourite sport.The apartments are available all year round and can be booked together for weddings or family reunions.Our restaurant is located in the romantic courtyard close the apartments.Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Residence Antico Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Antico Pozzo Hotel Bellagio
Residence Antico Pozzo Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing