We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like you are part of the family”
Review of La Scalinata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Scalinata
Ranked #12 of 14 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lake Cuomo us an unforgettable place to visit, and this apartment added to the authentic and genuine feel. We felt like we stayed with family and they lent us their apartment. You will have to climb steps if you stay here, but that's part of the Bellagio experience and affords the view and the location is perfect. Do talk to Adrianna and Davide next door at the Princess Bellagio Bar for English speaking help.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roccreazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

I generally like to stay 5 star when I travel, but on this occasion we were travelling with another couple and thought an apartment would be a good idea. Situated in the heart of Bellagio, this apartment is idea. Although difficult to get to if you drove yourself, you can pretty much walk anywhere from the apartments and at the bottom of the cobblestone path way is the ferry terminal which can take you to any destination on Lake Como you want.
If you do drive yourself, rather than using the free parking, I suggest the car park at the top of the street...it is €15 a day and will save you lugging your suitcase through the town
Would definately recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVHPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Scalinata in the Appartament Mansarda. It is perfectly located in Bellagio to take in the beautiful lake and mountain view and meander the quaint cobblestone streets (the steps are part of the charm!). There are plenty of wonderful shops, restaurants and cafes at your doorstep and the apartment was modern, clean and comfortable. Parking in town is a bit of a pain and when we received a parking ticket in the mail long after we had returned home, Carla was kind enough to sort it out on our behalf - talk about excellent service! Our only mistake was not staying longer!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed in the top floor apartment at La Scalinata for 3 nights as part of a months travels in Italy In February 2012. The accommodation was excellent, clean and modern and quite spacious compared to other accommodations we used on rest of our trip. You get a view of the lake from the dining/lounge room and we were able to have gorgeous sunsets through our windows. Our host lived in house below us and was very helpful on arrival. La Scalinata is in a narrow pedestrian only street connecting the main high Rd and lower Wharf road in central Bellagio. It is close to everything in town and only a short stroll to ferries. We loved being there and would highly recommend to other travellers. We found free parking close by and were able to leave our car unattended the whole of our stay. If we return it will be our first choice. Many thanks again to our hosts. ( we were a party of 3 parents with 19y daughter

Room Tip: central location spotlessly clean and modern well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warwick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Casa La Scalinata is a "quaint" apartment block located on Salita Mella 21, Bellagio. Salita Mella is a cobblestoned " laneway" 2-3 metres wide and is one of the 3 main pedestrian thoroughfares connecting the upper road and the lower road of Bellagio.

Next to La Scalinata (less than a metre from your bedroom window) is Barchetta Ristorante which seats 70 to 80 people & is quite highly rated by trip advisor.

Directly opposite ( approx 3 metres from your front door/ windows) is is the Princess Cocktail Bar which caters for another 100 customers at a sitting.10 metres further up the laneway is another highly rated trattoria Ristorante Antico Pozzo.

If you are here to party 24x7 & don't mind noisy neighbours and being rtight in the action then Casa La Scalinata is for you.

At 8,9,10pm the conversations and banter happening around you, form part of the ambience of the place. At midnight, 1am 2am- not so.

However, if like us you are a family of 4 here to enjoy and relax in beautiful Bellagio then you should think about staying somewhere else!

Beware the "creative licence" taken by the real estate agents who market these & other similar apartments in Bellagio. 90% of the official photos linked to this Apartment are general photos of Bellagio- not views from your window!. Photos of different apartments are mixed up so what you see (& think you are getting!) is not necessarily what you actually rent for $220 Euro/night.

La Scalatina appears to be a modern trendy apartment. It has been renovated in part. What you don't see for example is that the "kitchenette" is a sink, microwave,bar fridge & stove in a cupboard 1 m x 1 m. There is no laundry (yes we should have read the fineprint!) An "iron" must be requested. We would have thought that for $220 Euro/night in the 21st century these things were basic necessities- apparently not.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had a double room at La Scalinata which is a beatifully decorated appartment. It is very close to the ferry, being just up the steps directly opposite the wharf. With a lovely terrace where you can eat meals it has a thoroughly Italian atmosphere.

Most importantly - comfortable beds, nicely decorated, close to ferry, right in the heart of Bellagio, compact but good kitchen.

The perfect place to visit Lake Como.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is not our first stay in the Mansard. And it will not be our last. And we have sent friends to stay there too. I think this says it all! We love to come to Bellagio for a short break every now and again, and the Mansard is out stay of choice. Right in the thick of it, but high enough to have views and peace and quiet so that you can sleep even in the buzz of summer. Love it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
11.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scalinata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scalinata

Address: Salita Antonio Mella n. 21, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range: £143 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation La Scalinata has 2 different apartments: 3rd floor apartment (with an amazing lakeview) and 1st floor apartment (with a furnished spacoius terrace). Stylish self-catering apartments, open all year long. Custom craftworks furniture and all modern comforts: wooden floor, autonomous heating, air conditioning, wi-fi Internet, sat-TV, safe, refrigerator, oven and dishwasher. Both are located on a characteristic stairway of the charming Bellagio old town: lots of typical restaurants, coffees, wine bars, art galleries, souvenir shops, boutiques, and any kind of services few meters away from our accommodations. Boat, bus and taxi stops are within walking distance. In summer it is a limited traffic zone (ZTL) with access permitted to the guests prior authorization. Free parking at 300 meters and paying at 100 to 500 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Scalinata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scalinata Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing