We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food on a location with a nice view of lake Como”
Review of L'antica Riva

L'antica Riva
Reserve with
L'antica Riva is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 527 Restaurants in Como
Price range: US$27 - US$82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: L'Antica Riva is situated in front of the Como lake, near the funicolar Como-Brunate and near the centre of the city. Special price for the groups and tour operator.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food on a location with a nice view of lake Como”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We were with a party of four and a baby. Personell was very pleasant. And the food was great. We ordered two chefs choices and a carpaccio and risotto and a carpaccio of tuna and a sirloin steak. For the baby we ordered a pasta with tomatos. All the staff were all over the baby, they loved here. Even the chef came out.
Food quality vs pricing is in good balance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    121
    62
    44
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Know what to expect and you'll be happy”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is on the tourist strip so expect inflated prices. But the views and quality of the food are worth it. We had just arrived in Como and were tired and didn't feel like missioning into town to find a reasonably priced and preferably non tourist eatery. And we wanted the lake view as it was a beautiful evening so settled on this place at a table on the 'promenade'. Front of house staff all spoke fluent English, were all helpful and friendly. We ordered the Chef's recommendation at €20 per person for 3 courses and were not disappointed. We expected small, nouvelle portions but each one was regular size. Antipasti a choice of either beef or salmon carpaccio, primi piatti of either risotto pomegranate or a homemade pasta with zucchini and shrimp, secondi was a choice of perch fillets and veg or pork fillets with potatoes and apple sauce. We had one of each and shared. Everything was very fresh and impeccably prepared. Especially the frutti de bosco for dessert (with lemon sorbet). Only complaint was the cursory clump of tired lettuce as garnish with each dish - leave it out, so unnecessary! Our neighboring table had a caprese salad and a creamy fettuccine dish that also looked amazing. Cover charge €2.50 per person. No service charge included. Extensive wine list - we went 'cheap' at €15 for a bottle of white on the waiter's recommendation and were very happy. Some bottles ranged up to €500 (albeit magnums)!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tokyostar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth it !”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This restaurant is located opposite lake Como, there are tables available on the street side, in the garden and indoor.
The place looks like an old house, mainly made in rocks, nice wooden interiors.
Tables are distributed fairly distant indoor where you can dine in a relaxed atmosphere.
The multi language staff is very polite and helpful.
We tried several types of beef and we were delighted by the flavor, tenderness, presentation and portion' size.
They have a fair wine selection but only house wine is available by glass.
The prices are a little bit high but definitely worth for the overall experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fragolozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location across from Lake Como”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great location, very nice interior, and table settings, service and food selection were outstanding. the menu had many great options, fish, meat, pasta, salads, etc. We had a local red wine, fish and pasta dishes, they were all excellent, the desert menu was challenging so many great options. Well worth you time for dinner

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mathewwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
623 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Romantic ambience/welcoming staff/good food”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

This was the first restaurant we went to on our visit to Como...we were strolling along looking for a place to eat after a long day of travel. The attractive decor, table settings and soft lighting caught our attention...the menu is extensive - it made deciding on what to choose a little difficult! We were both very pleased with the food...traditional Italian, well cooked and nicely presented. The serves were quite large and the prices were what you would expect for this style of restaurant. The music was ok...mostly laid back American pop from last few decades; so better than no music but some classical &/or Italian music could have added to the ambience and would have helped to make the experience one to really remember. The waiter was welcoming, pleasant and helpful; he seemed to have a little English...enough to help but not engage in many pleasantries. That's fine with us as we don't have much Italian & just appreciated his calm, helpful manner. The restaurant became very busy as the night went on so if you decide to go from 8 onwards it would be wise to make a reservation. We're glad we arrived early at 730.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'antica Riva also viewed

 

Been to L'antica Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing