We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is not what you expect in Italy”
Review of L'antica Riva

L'antica Riva
Reserve with
L'antica Riva is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 527 Restaurants in Como
Price range: US$27 - US$82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: L'Antica Riva is situated in front of the Como lake, near the funicolar Como-Brunate and near the centre of the city. Special price for the groups and tour operator.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is not what you expect in Italy”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Certainly many people could find this place appealing, be it the scenic view onto the Como lake or the medieval-looking facade of the building nicely contrasting with the white canopies.
This is probably also the cause of us having been lured to the table on some afternoon early september during a short stay in Como, only to find out soon, how deceived we've been. It started with a refried swordfish fillet, soaked with cooking oil and covered with balsamico to hide it's taste of a shoe sole, not to mention it was germented by a dry mixed salat you could easily fetch from nearby BILA. Speaking about salads, a friend next to me found this plastic ending from an olive bottle in her portion and we carefully checked, that did not come from any bottles we had on our table. Other friends dish was served with grilled vegetables, unfortunately these were cold as the water in the nearby lake. A nice topping was the 12 Euro charge for the "pane e coperto". You certainly should expect it in an italian restaurant, but not if the bread was from yesterday. This was a dinner for 5, all fish, and maybe pizzas and pastas are good there, but otherwise it was one of the worst culinary experiences I ever made with italian cuisine. Give it a wide berth!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RolandFromPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    122
    62
    44
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best value in Como”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We tried a few restaurants in Como, but this is the one to which we returned, not just because of the awesome location by the lake, but also the consistently good food and helpful service. You expect to pay a premium for places with location in a tourist town, but I still feel this place offered the best value for money. Carpaccio of beef was very good, the risottos were excellent and the escalpoe of veal mouth-watering. The shellfish platter was massive; the quality of the fish a little mixed. The maitre d' was charming & knew his wines very well, while these were reasonalby priced. He also produced an excellent Sicilain dessert wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HertsTimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food on a location with a nice view of lake Como”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We were with a party of four and a baby. Personell was very pleasant. And the food was great. We ordered two chefs choices and a carpaccio and risotto and a carpaccio of tuna and a sirloin steak. For the baby we ordered a pasta with tomatos. All the staff were all over the baby, they loved here. Even the chef came out.
Food quality vs pricing is in good balance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Know what to expect and you'll be happy”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is on the tourist strip so expect inflated prices. But the views and quality of the food are worth it. We had just arrived in Como and were tired and didn't feel like missioning into town to find a reasonably priced and preferably non tourist eatery. And we wanted the lake view as it was a beautiful evening so settled on this place at a table on the 'promenade'. Front of house staff all spoke fluent English, were all helpful and friendly. We ordered the Chef's recommendation at €20 per person for 3 courses and were not disappointed. We expected small, nouvelle portions but each one was regular size. Antipasti a choice of either beef or salmon carpaccio, primi piatti of either risotto pomegranate or a homemade pasta with zucchini and shrimp, secondi was a choice of perch fillets and veg or pork fillets with potatoes and apple sauce. We had one of each and shared. Everything was very fresh and impeccably prepared. Especially the frutti de bosco for dessert (with lemon sorbet). Only complaint was the cursory clump of tired lettuce as garnish with each dish - leave it out, so unnecessary! Our neighboring table had a caprese salad and a creamy fettuccine dish that also looked amazing. Cover charge €2.50 per person. No service charge included. Extensive wine list - we went 'cheap' at €15 for a bottle of white on the waiter's recommendation and were very happy. Some bottles ranged up to €500 (albeit magnums)!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tokyostar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth it !”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This restaurant is located opposite lake Como, there are tables available on the street side, in the garden and indoor.
The place looks like an old house, mainly made in rocks, nice wooden interiors.
Tables are distributed fairly distant indoor where you can dine in a relaxed atmosphere.
The multi language staff is very polite and helpful.
We tried several types of beef and we were delighted by the flavor, tenderness, presentation and portion' size.
They have a fair wine selection but only house wine is available by glass.
The prices are a little bit high but definitely worth for the overall experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fragolozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'antica Riva also viewed

 

Been to L'antica Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing