We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very pleasant place to stay”
Review of Hotel Villa Flori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa Flori
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“a very pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is a pleasant and comfortable place to stay in Como
It is a 30 minute walk to the centre of Como town but with such great views along the side of the lake it is a great location to stay

There was a pleasant and efficient check in and the porter was very helpful
My room was fully serviced every day and internet access was fast

The breakfast room offers a very wide selection of cereals, fruit, breads, cut meats and cheeses etc. you will be ready for anything. Plenty of coffee and teas (served in a pots) will set you up for the day. The breakfast room staff are very willing to help led by the head waitress who has a friendly word for everyone

The fitness room is small but adequate, ask at the front desk for a pass key and for the steam room to be turned on

The hotel manager was there at check out to say good bye and thank you for custom. A computer and printer were readily available for airline check in which was a great help to me
A driver was arranged for airport trip

I had a lake view room and it was well worth taking

Room Tip: Lake view is a good idea Ground floor room gave first class wifi but may be as good elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    167
    64
    33
    18
See reviews for
62
245
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here as a treat for one night on our summer journey around lake como. At 355 euros per couple per night its not cheap but it literally is on the lake front. Room was spacious with a balcony that over hung the edge of the lake. Place itself is like a palace from the 17th century and the furnishing and décor reflect this.
Staff are helpful and our only major criticism would be the fact that they only have one bar man to serve the whole of the hotel. so its possible to get very thirsty between drinks.

The restaurant whilst expensive has a superb location on the ground floor at the lakeside, food was good but not excellent, service was very good however.

One major criticism is that its 25 euros per day to park yet if you park in the restaurant car park its free! Despite eating there we still were landed with the charge.

The other is that its right on the road but then again so are most of the hotels around como.

They have a couple cycles that can be borrowed but other than that there isn't a great deal to do in the hotel - it has a gym but really that's a running machine, cycle and a few weights.

Room Tip: Forward facing rooms overlooking lake are quiter and have great views, take a book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevincharles3995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The stuff is helpful and the room is nice.
the view from the balcony is wonderful, indeed, as advertised, but unfortunately the balcony is of no use, because of constant noise - the building being squeezed between the lake and a busy road with heavy traffic. No room can offer you silence or tranquility - even then your windows and steel curtains are tidily shut, the background noise is still there.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Che C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Was feeling a bit exhausted when we arrived and our reason for making a stop here was to catch up with emails and some business and catch our breath. Was assured there was internet. Unfortunately our inability to connect really spoiled our stay. We were assured it was our computers. I cannot accept this as we have stayed in so many hotels in the previous ten days and not one problem connecting nor since. We were offered a 40 euro reduction in room rate but it didn't really compensate for not only their attitude but also the shortcoming. The barman in the bar was extremely aloof and rude and it is the only hotel in Europe so far that has a sign up prohibiting taking food and drink from the restaurant. Only a certain type of traveller is going to do this and despite any notices they would still smuggle food out for goodness sake. It was just another example of the hotel's attitude towards its guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, Direttore at Hotel Villa Flori, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I’ve just read your review regarding your recent stay on July 25th, 2014. I would like to begin by apologizing that you were not satisfied. After verifying the reasons why the connection problems occurred, the receptionists explained that they provided the maximum assistance to help solve this matter. In regards to wifi connection, they mentioned that you were able to connect your iPhone to the line. With no complaints from other Guests and a successful connection on your iPhone, the underlying problem seemed to be with your laptop settings.

After your discussion with the reception staff and their realisation of your dissatisfaction, a 20% discount and parking free of charge were applied. Throughout your conversation, you seemed to be satisfied and grateful for this allocation.

Once again we apologize that you were not pleased; however our best effort was put into place for solving this problem.

We hope that our explanation is thorough and look forward to have a chance in welcoming you once again to Hotel Villa Flori.

Samantha Dell’Ambrogio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great location overlooking Lake Como . Balcony of the lounge hangs over the lake with a delightful view. Out of central Como, but convenient to ferry access for transport to all lake villages . Breakfast was very good. Rooms very nice with large balconies for relaxing. Recommend all day ferry pass for easy, leisurely way to tour Lake Como towns and villages.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great location for hotel. Lacks an atmosphere though.
Expensive for what it offered. Charge of 25 Euro per night to park the car was one step too far !!
Ferry service on Lake Como is excellent - great way to avoid traffic.

Room Tip: Only book rooms facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTG1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. Room was very good service excellent and food in breankfast room and restaruant was of a high standard. Veiws to lake fabulous. A car would make it perfect as the establishment is out of town Looking forward to
our next stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cows29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
1.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
852 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
1.2 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
1.2 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Flori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Flori

Property: Hotel Villa Flori
Address: Via Cernobbio 12, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Flori 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Flori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flori Hotel Como
Hotel Villa Flori Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing