We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Como”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Continental
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Como
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A reasonable value hotel in Como town. The location is about 10 mins walk from the water bus port. OK its not in the best area (a bit scruffy) but you are not paying for that. The room was fine and comfortable although the AC was not at its best and wifi was a bit hit and miss (but best near the door). We found the staff tremendous, english speaking and helpful. A nice continental breakfast welcomes you in the morning. Overall its better inside than it looks from the outside and a great base for exploring the town of Como and the beautiful lake. Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank AH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Good value for the cost- small but that was expected. Great location, easy walk to lake or old section of town. A filling breakfast was included with our cost.
The Internet was slow but again I didn't expect lightening speed.
We could have walked from train station but too tired so took a 10 Euro taxi- worth it at the time after a long travel day from. U.S.

The staff are very kind and helpful!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed 8 nights. The staff were always helpful and friendly and the rooms clean. There is some road noise without using the airconditioning. The hotel is not lakeside, but an easy walk to all downtown and lakeside places.

Our one glitch was 24 hours without hot water due to major problems with the boiler. The management apologised for the inconvenience and also treated us to a complimentary evening meal, including all wines, in the dining room.

The hotel is only 400 m easy walk from Como San Giovanni Station, but is a more difficult walk if you arrive at Como Lago, s take a taxi in that case.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel before. Yes it's had a slight upgrade but the room was oh so dark and dreary. The passageways are dark. Need to paint in lighter colours and get rid of the dark blue doors and surrounds. The area around the hotel is very scruffy but not far from city centre. Our room was so hot and air conditioning wasn't working until we told the staff who then gave us a different remote for a air conditioner in the room. They hadn't turned on the other air conditioning yet!! One English speaking TV channel. Breakfast had a good selection and staff very attentive. Wifi went ok. Train station very close. Would we stay here again - Probably not!

Room Tip: Be aware lots of building going on next door and very noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravellers9960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is located just outside the citycenter of Como. That is not a real problem because walking distances are small. In about 10 minutes you can walk to the central square at the border of the lake.

Room Tip: Be aware that before the hottest summer period it seems to be forbidden to switch on the airco in Co...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GertGoirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014


Walking distance from train station but area surrounding the hotel looks a bit run down. No restaurants near by, some were closed because it was off season. Hotel had a limited restaurant menu with great service. Walking distance to old city. Breakfast was good. Room was clean and comfortable but we would probably stay closer to the lake in future.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Very dated chain type hotel. Very average experience and would not return. Over priced for what you get. Not the greatest location but not terrible. Very helpful staff. Clean with mini bar. No off street parking available for us. Average breakfast

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.4 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#12 of 32 in Como
258 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#9 of 32 in Como
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Continental

Address: Viale Innocenzo XI 15, 22100, Como, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Continental)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: £54 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated downtown, 300 meters from Como San Giovanni train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Continental Hotel Como
Best Western Hotel Como
Best Western Como
Como Best Western
Best Western Hotel Continental Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing