We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like the picture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

When i booked i was deceived by the pictures into thinking the big yellow character buiding you can see across the lake was the hotel. Instead it is a beastly modern apparition that is a two star masquerading as 4 . Add says rooms are spacious --haha-smallest room I have had -dirty wallpaper -small bathroom. The only redeeming features are the nice desk clerk who speaks Excellent English & is charming & the nice view from the lake view balcony -can' t believe the so-called air conditioning no way to adjust -No charm -no character -i would prefer a Best Western which is saying something. Next time I would take a ferry & stay in Bellagio -Como is a has-been resort with little charm.

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Liana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmpalaceComo, Direttore at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to read that your room was not to your satisfaction. However 60% of our lake view rooms are identical to the photograph on our website and we will complete the refurbishment of the remaining rooms this coming winter. The air conditioning is fully functional and can be controlled directly in the room by the guest. The photograph of the hotel itself is not deceiving - it is the graciously modern and completely renewed biulding with the hotel name on the signboard. Definitely a 4-star hotel. Thank you for the compliments regarding our welcoming staff. I will gladly share your thoughts with my team.
Best regards,
Robert Webber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights with a balcony view, which we enjoyed each night before dinner. Twice we had the pleasure of having Cosimo attend to us. His passion is sharing his knowledge of wine but he thoroughly enjoys people. He was willing to have their chef concoct a menu based on a special wine if we talked to him earlier in the day. This would have been wonderful but we didn't have the time to arrange. Maybe next time. The added bonus was he gave me his recipe for limoncello. Negative experience was the maid came into our room while we were sleeping one morning and another night the next door person had a key to our room and entered late at night

Room Tip: If possible choose 5th floor with a balcony to look over the square. Also, we paid for 24 hour wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elia B, Reservation manager at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your review.
I'll be pleased to share your compliments with Cosimo and his staff. I'm sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay, and I really hope that you reported these two minor episodes to the reception, during your stay. I'm sure that the maid entered in your room as the "do not disturb" sign was not on your door (maybe it felt while closing the door).
We all hope to welcome you back and I'm glad to inform our clients that special gourmet packages are now available on our website!

Best regards

Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a lake view room on the 5th floor with a small balcony where you could sit with a drink and enjoy the view across the lake. Though Hotel Barchetta faces a busy square, Piazza Cavour, once the balcony door is closed you do not hear a sound (thanks to double glazing). It is a 1 minute walk across the square to the ferries which take you to other towns on the lake. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the room, though small, was nice. In the bathroom however, the shower curtain (which clung to you at every turn) should have been replaced by a glass panel during the refurbishment. Breakfast was good. Staff were efficient and helpful. You had to pay for WiFi but there was intermittent free WiFi in the town which could occassionally be accessed from the balcony of our room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFTMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Lake View Room and that you appreciated the refurbishment done this winter.
I will share your compliments with the rest of the staff and we all look forward to welcome you back: visit our website where you can always find promotions and special offers!

Best regards

Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The reception was incredible. Valentina - office manager checked us in very efficiently
provided us with information on the area. And recommended activities for 2 days which were
right on!!!..every one in the reception area: Valentina ( another ) and Elena were totally helpful
visiting Como is a great decision....more than other areas at the lake...pricewise is effective...
and you can move from point a to b to c very easily.
We highly recommend this hotel...and would certainly come back if we are in the area!!!!
Bartender was very friendly as well....you can't miss coming to this hotel..
Breakfast included in the price makes it even a great deal!

Room Tip: definitely pay a little bit more for the Lake View....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liliana93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear liliana93,

thanks for your recent review. I will be pleased to share your compliments with Valentina, her staff at the reception and all the staff in Hotel Barchetta!
It is always a pleasure to read that the service we offer is appreciated and helps our cherished guests to enjoy the city and our beautiful Lake Como.
Continue to visit our website where you will be able to find special promotions and the best rates for your next stay.
We all look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards
Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

In the middle of the piazza overlooking the lake, Barchetta has an excellent location. Spotless rooms and bathrooms. The front desk staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. They helped us with all sorts of questions from places to dine, places to visit and how to get there. Breakfast buffet is also greaat. WiFi is for a fee, however, there is a public free WiFi network in the piazza. We were lucky since we were able to connect to this network from the balcony of the room.

A great stay that is worth the money.

Room Tip: Pick a room with lake view on level 3 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaledmarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests appreciate our Hotel.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Barchetta Excelsior, that you found the staff at the reception helpful and pleasant and that you liked our buffet breakfast that every morning helps our guests to start the day properly!
We all hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards
Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

close to both stations in Como- ensure you ask for a lake view on 4th floor upwards- overlooks square which is heaving at night (in a good way) close to large choice of restaurants (Eastwards are better than south), close to ferries- wonderful views day and night. Rooms good-could have more space between twin beds. Wifi expensive but sit on balcony and you can connect to city wifi for free, Reasonable bathroom & toiletries. Good tv and choice of channels. Enough plug points for re-charging and lamp controls convenient. Excellent choice of breakfast although e
scrambled eggs were tasteless. Fruit was very fresh and there were good alternatives of juice, teas/coffees and croissant

Room Tip: facing lake above 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 5th floor room with balcony and a lake view. Fabulous! The unobstructed view if the piazza in front of the hotel and down the lake was worth paying for. Bought in dinner and wine from the local supermarket rather than eat at a restaurant, as we had the best view in town! The room was comfortable, slightly old fashioned for a recently renovated room, but large and with a comfortable king size bed. The breakfast was adequate but had limited selections. Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and spoke good English. Secure parking at a sister hotel 100 metres away cost 15 euro. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you appreciated our beautiful lake view and the quality of the staff at the reception. I will refer your compliments to them.
We hope to welcome you back and we remind our guests that our restaurant will be more than happy to serve lunch or dinner directly in your room, on your balcony, so you can enjoy the view while eating.
Best regards

Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.5 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barchetta Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barchetta Excelsior

Address: Piazza Cavour 1, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: £85 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barchetta Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Barchetta Excelsior you are surrounded by beauty: the villas with their gardens, art exhibitions, silk outlets, boutiques, romantic boat trips, renowned golf clubs. The only hotel in Como with over 50 rooms facing the lake offering a breathtaking view of one of the world's most beautiful sceneries. The hotel is located a few steps from the Cathedral and from the city center and close to the shopping area. Every single moment you spend in Como will be unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Barchetta Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barchetta Excelsior Como
Barchetta Excelsior Hotel Como
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing