We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You ll be surprised!”

The Market Place Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 526 Restaurants in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You ll be surprised!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A must do in Como. Dont want to say much and spoil the surprise that awaits you. After reading reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to go for the degustation menu.. and boy were we surprised. My husband and I both thought that the first 3 courses were the best food we ve had! The last 2 were good too but we loved the first 3. And it wasnt as expensive as we would have imagined for the quality or novelty! Lovely little place where you can see through the kitchen doors - which we thought was a great touch. The staff were excellent and we learnt post our meal that the chef has apparently worked under Gordon Ramsay before. Ramsay or not, the chef gets a michelin star from us :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluejourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    209
    65
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Junglinster, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Restaurant in Como”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Visited twice during our recent trip to Como and was knocked out both times. Quality, Service and Price is unbeatable. I would have paid twice the price in Paris, New York or London for the same or less. On our first visit we had the tasting menu at €35 a head - too good to be true with 5 outstanding dishes. Great explanations of the dishes and wine in perfect english. For €50 they pick the wine for each plate. First visit cost us €100/person with pink Champagne and a Grand Cru Red - decided to go for it as the prices was so good. Second time was €50/head so we were more conservative but you can easily eat well for €25 with a house wine and 2 plates. if your in the region do not miss out but you need to reserve. Also their location saves them allot of money - not the best end of town but do not be put off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious! one of our best meals ever!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and i and our two adult children visited this restaurant a couple of weeks ago on the strength of previous reviews and were not disappointed.
The service is fabulous, and the staff are enthusiastic and helpful.
We had the 5 Course degustation menu, which was incredibly good value! We are from Melbourne where we have eaten at what is considered our best restaurant," Vue de Monde". This food is right up there with Vue de Monde but at a fraction of the price.
The courses were all delicious, Italian favourites but much more delicate with a modern twist.
It was also great to be able to see into the kitchen from our table, a very slick immaculate operation!
Could not recommend highly enough, go there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Restaurant Who Made Dining an Art”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

When my family and I took our first step into the restaurant, I realized how fancy our dining would be! We were welcomed by a wonderful host who had a truly elegant manner. We had a 5-course tasting menu, which was marvelous and plentiful. The courses were unique in various styles. The price was very reasonable. The bread, I can't forget to mention, was fabulously made; the seasoning and cutting made the pieces look particularly fancy. After we finished the whole basket, the host surprised us with another basket! My younger daughter loved the pasta she ordered and commented "The calamari, greens, and tomato spiraled above - just thinking about it makes my mouth water!" We also ordered an eggplant ravioli, which was equally tasty. Everything else was gorgeous, too. (Especially the host!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJRubyRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best meal of our Europe trip!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant on our last night in Como. Myself and my partner are from Melbourne, so are spoilt for food, and we've been looking up and enjoying all the best places to eat across Europe. After being rather disappointed with the food thus far in Como, we were absolutely blown away by the market place! The 5 course tasting menu was absolutely divine - one of the best I've ever had. It started with a bang and just got better from there! You must get the matching wines, some fantastic unique tastes, ranging from semi local (Sicilian) to South African! They matched the food perfectly. Our main waiter was fantastic in every way! What a surprise, this gem of a restaurant has gone into my all time top 5! Only negative was that we weren't staying in Como for one more night to return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Market Place Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Market Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing