We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Sea food combined with Italian cuisine”
Review of Il Carrettiere

Il Carrettiere
Ranked #79 of 569 Restaurants in Como
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Found the hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. It is important to make reservations in advance. We showed up there at 19.30 without reservation; they could luckily find a seat for us provided that we finish by 21.30. It was getting quite crowded when were leaving.
They have very nice options for sea food combined with the Italian cuisine. I had sword fish which was very delicious and my sister had pasta with vegetables. The prices are a a little bit expensive but I guess understandable considering most of the dishes include sea food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xxrxx27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariano P, Proprietario at Il Carrettiere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you.
Mariano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great night out with fantastic food, staff, wine & atmosphere! Don't know what it's like on other nights but just had a Saturday night there. It was packed & the front desk lady was brilliant in finding us a table. We went & had a drink & came back in half hour. Table was ready.

Waiters all know their business & are really helpful in helping you choose. The portions are very big & you can really over do it so be careful. We had spaghetti & risotto to start & shared the fried fish dish, this was more than enough for us. Had a good bottle of wine as well & total bill was 70 Euros, great value! Def would go back if in Como again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank duncancolwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariano P, Proprietario at Il Carrettiere, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor.
Mariano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

The manager of the hotel we were staying at, In Riva al Lago, recommended we go here. Glad we did! Authentic Italian restaurant was just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Great, fun waiters who knew enough English to understand that we enjoyed the meal! (English menu available.) My husband loved the lobster spaghetti and my salmon thin crust pizza was delicious! House wine was good. Reasonable prices, too!

Thank MtMomofSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariano P, Proprietario at Il Carrettiere, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you very much.
Mariano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Been recommended by our hotel's concierge as one of the best places in Como to eat something really italian.
Will be short - great quality and portion-size, good wines recommendations - we ve been very happy.
Wish have discovered this place earlier - its a great talian, not compared to all the usual trashy touristy stuff round the corner !
Worth a return visit.
Their website :
www.ilcarrettiere.eu

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CityOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

excellent quality, real Italian and seafood. the price is acceptable comparing to food. call them before you go cause you need a reservation

Thank walidbalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Carrettiere also viewed

 

Been to Il Carrettiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing