We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm, inviting and home-like base from which to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Margherita 2

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Como, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Any
English first
tomfpurvi...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm, inviting and home-like base from which to explore this lovely city.”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a most wonderful time in Como; it is so beautiful, interesting and full of fun.our stay was made all the more memorable by our time in this apartment. It is so lovingly appointed and filled with warmth; we just felt at home here. Giglioni and Adriano were such perfect hosts, the apartment is a reflection of their kindness, and attention to detail.
My husband and I from Auckland, NZ and our daughter, husband and grandson from Maidenhead UK will always remember our stay in this beautiful apartment as a portal to this lovely city.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Dear Verna
thanks so much for your review and for your friendly and polite stay in Casa Margherita. We are very happy you have enjoied our apartment .
We are weating for you another time .
Your cake are very tasty.
Thanks for all and have a nice and quiet year
Gigliola and Adriano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt T
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, lovely hosts”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Casa Margherita is a fantastic base for exploring all of the lake Como area. It's only a few minutes walk from the center of Como city, and the city is the hub from which one can catch boats and buses all around the lake.

The owners live next door to the property: they are friendly and kind, considerate and helpful. We walked from the station and they helped us bring our cases up the last part of the small hill to the property and up the stairs. They answered all our questions, made sure our refuse was taken away and even gave us some small gifts.

The property itself has a lovely courtyard where you can sit or eat and drink. Inside it's clean and comfortable if a little old-fashioned: the twin bedroom and bathroom especially could do with a bit of a makeover. There is a church next door with bells that start at 7:30 am but that just made sure we were up for a full day of exploring :)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Dear Rachel
thanks for your holiday in Casa Margherita and for your review.
We are happy you have enjoyed our apartment .
We hope to see you again
Best wishes
Gigliola and Adriano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect home from home in beautiful Como!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A beautiful traditional property only 10 minutes from the Cathedral in the centre of Como. Gigliola and her husband were just fantastic and living across the courtyard were able to help with any queries. Very comfortable, clean, fantastic view of the local church and its bell tower (who needs an alarm clock?!) a true home from home. Warm in its presentation, a very useable kitchen, well equipped, a great range of tourist literature, really everything you could want in an Italian home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the property - we settled in very quickly.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Dear Emma
thanks so much for your good review.
Your stay in Casa Margherita was very friendly and polite for us.
We hope to find guests like you .
We are happy you have enjoied the apartment and the lake and you have walked along our hill .
Be carefull with moschitos .
We will weating for you another time .
A big hug to you and your son
Gigliola and Adriano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_fmo1000
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Best accommodation in two months of travelling in Europe!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Como and the surrounding area is a delightful city and the Casa Margharita is the best place to enjoy it. It is a 25 minute walk from the train station (although the #5 bus is also available) through the old town. It is in a quiet residential a neighbourhood with shops close by. The apartment is spacious with comfortable beds and wonderful views. A bonus is the garden area where we soaked up the sun and ate our meals. The kitchen was the best equipped we have used on our extended holiday. My two adult children and I were very happy here. But what made the stay really special was Adriano and Gigliola who live next door. From the moment we arrived, Adriano made us feel at home but never intruded on our privacy. She and Gigliola were so thoughtful, leaving out lounge chairs and a tablecloth when they saw that we were enjoying the garden, and giving us sweet treats. If I could move to Como permanently, I would want a home just like the Casa Margharita.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Dear Fiona
thanks so much for your stay in " Casa Margherita " and for your friendly review. You were very happy to see you like at home.
You and your nice and polite son and daughter were the best guests
We hope to see you again.
Have a nice holiday and thanks for all
Gigliola and Adriano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
“Perfect holiday apartment with everything you will need.”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great communication from the time of booking,good instructions to find the house.
We were give. A very warm welcome and were shown where everything was kept.
Lovely comfortable apartment with all that we could possibly want.
Excellent small shop close by with great home made goodies
Pleasant stroll down to the lake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked all of it
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
Dear friends
thanks for your review and for your friendly comments, when you were in our house
and in Comobest wishes
Weating for you another time,
Best wishes
Gigliola and Adriano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propence
Sonoma County, California
1 review
“Beautiful place in a perfect spot”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Four of us were very comfortable during a ten-day stay. A few blocks just outside of the walls of old Como, it was an easy walk to get to the funicular to Brunate, to the ferry boats for a ride up the lake to Bellagio, to the train for Milan and some really great shopping and restaurants. The owners are very hospitable. We felt very safe and comfortable. Highly recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Dear Carol
thanks for your review and for you friendly stay in our house.
We are very happy you have liked Como and our apartment
We hope to see you and your frieds again.
Best wishes
Gigliola and Adriano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J N
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Rustic Italian and perfect for families”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed during the heat wave in July - 2 adults and 2 children (8 & 10). We travelled from Uk to Malpensa, connected onto the train to Sarrono and changed to Como. Easy and only 30 euros for all of us. Within an hour we were in Como. Out of the station, follow the map and we arrived in intense heat to a great apartment. Met by the owners who showed us everything we needed. They even gave us an air con unit! The apartment is rustic Italian (so if you want modern chic its not going to happen!) All rooms well equiped. Master bedroon has a massive comfortable bed. Free WiFi was a bonus and a washing machine and iron available so able to wash clothes as we went along. There is a little courtyard for guests to use and the owners, although on site, never intruded or bothered us, but they were around if you needed them. Supplied us with loads of info and things happening locally.
The apartment is away from the city centre and up a hill but it only takes 10-15 minutes to get back to the lake. Quiet and residential, felt safe away from the busy city after eating out. Small supermrket at the top of the road which stocked just about anything, larger one in town by the bus station and Carrefor opposite the park at the other end of the square. We did loads of walking as a car was not necessary the location is great. We would recommend to families, singles, couples, possibly not great for people who have trouble with hills and steps as there are a few into the place but otherwise well equiped, great location, relaxing retreat, lovely helpful, kind owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it !
Liked least: Too hot but no reflection on the rental!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Dear Jane
thanks for your friendly and polite stay in our house.
Thanks for your gift and your letter of thanks
We hope to see you again
greetings
Gigliola and Adriano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing