We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little place”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This nice hotel situated in the heart of como. great comfort little rooms , very very clean. nice breakfast. Helpful staff in every way. i would definetly come back here if that were the case.its not a luxurious property but enough set up to be in great athmospsphere.

Room Tip: please ask room in the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abraham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a great stay. The hotel is clean, up to date, and the service from the front desk staff was excellent. The location is an easy walk from the train station and quite convenient for the central town and ferry docks. Very quiet at night. The breakfast buffet is particularly nice compared to other places we stayed. The bed was very nice. The room was a bit small, with only a plastic desk chair, no real sitting place in the room.

There were three oddities worth reporting. The first is room decor, which I would describe as "modern euro". It's lovely…but includes a glass bathroom door that is only frosted in some parts and an unfrosted shower door. If you are not travelling alone, there is no privacy when you use the toilet or the shower. Some couples are accustomed to sharing the bath, but I'm a bit stuffy, I guess. Anyways, forewarned is forearmed.

Second, on first entering the room we found unmarked envelopes on the bed next to the chocolates…on opening we found they were silk ties with 54 Euro price tags. I wasn't interested, it would have been nice if they were marked, I would have set them aside without opening.

Finally - on our final morning, we went down to breakfast at 6:30 AM. We knew it did not open officially until 7, but we had to leave by 7 to catch a train, and were simply hoping for something - anything - to eat before we set out. The man setting up the buffet gruffly told us to come back at 7. When we explained, stressing we would live with whatever was already set out, he was quite inflexible. The coffee is a self serve machine - which is turned on 24/7 - and there were little yoghurt containers and fresh fruit already set out, and that's all we wanted….but he was clearly displeased that we ate "ahead of schedule". I would have expected a little more flexibility and grace in a top rated hotel, considering that breakfast is included in the room charge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crs1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attilio A, Direttore at Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Mr crs1026,
thanks for your review and for your kind words to our hotel, I will share it with my staff.
I'm sorry you did not take the ties that were on your bed. They were a gift, and 54 were not "euro" but the size. Again, I'm sorry for the misunderstanding!
Regarding the bathroom, you’re right, some guests prefer more "privacy", but that is a characteristic of Avenue hotel design. However this winter with our interior designer, we will probably revise the doors.
Now the most painful part for me, I'm sorry for the man setting up the breakfast who was not "intelligently" less flexible than usual to be able to make a breakfast before the scheduled time, it is never happened before.
Thanks for your stay with us and I hope I can host you during your next visit to Como.

The Manager A. Alemanno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We arrived in Como, and found our way to the Avenue Hotel. Our luggage did not make it to Italy with us. The hotel worked to try to help us get our luggage, but we had no success. They gave us all sorts of help from chargers for our electronics, toothbrushes and paste, razors, comb and brushes and slippers. They were very concerned about us.

We stayed there for 2 nights, still no luggage. The luggage arrived a day after we moved on to Interlakin, Switzerland. The Avenue followed out directions PERFECTLY! They refused the luggage that arrived a day after we checked out, and gave Brittish Airways our hotel informaton for Geneva, our next stop. They called us and told us what happened, and that they gave the delivery service our hotel in Geneva.

The hotel was VERY clean, very edgy design. The breakfast was good and the staff VERY accomodating and helpful!!!

The location is good and very close to the train station as well as the town. Exceeded out expectations!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HB1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Clean, good location and very modern. I would definitely recommend. About a five minute walk to the lake from the hotel. Excellent restaurants close by with fantastic coffee shops. The only thing I thought was a little strange was that you could see into the toilet from the bedroom.



Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A really nice, welcoming, clean, beautifully modernised, hotel in a prime position close to one of the best restaurants in the area (the Market Place) and all the sights. The only reason it didn't get the extra star is the size of the rooms which are tiny by my 4 star standards. There was nowhere to sit and nothing to put one's belongings on by one side of the bed. It was OK for one night but would get very irritating for a few days stay. Breakfast and wifi are included, both excellent, but somehow it all felt expensive at 180 euros for double occupancy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robtLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very nice hotel in the centre of Como. We arrived late in the evening which was no problem. Room was as promised. Only downside is that parking is a few minutes walk outside of the old town, but we were told this in advance. When arrival is during the day, there is a parking service. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We picked this hotel based on Trip advisor reviews. Rooms are clean and comfortable (albeit smaller than expected). The location is excellent - a few minutes walk to the lake. Great shopping and restaurants around (we loved Pepe Nero - great food and service!)

Breakfast was included in our booking and it was pretty good. The hotel has a nice courtyard so you can enjoy breakfast outdoors.

The place is a bit difficult to find. its located in a no traffic zone so its a good idea to have the hotel's phone number with you in case you arrive by car and need to get dropped off at the entrance of the hotel (in order to avoid a fine).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.3 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.5 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Piazzolo Giuseppe Terragni 6, 22100, Como, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: £106 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avenue Hotel is a modern 4 stars hotel located in Como, just steps from the charming lake and the main streets of the historic city center. Completely renovated in the style and furnishings, Avenue Hotel is distinguished by its sophisticated design and innovative environments, revealing a perfect choice for holiday or business in comfort and modernity. The rooms are spread over 3 floors and are characterized by the variety of the materials chosen and the quality of the finishes. Guests will also enjoy a comfortable breakfast room, a pleasant courtyard (accessible during the summer). In immediate proximity to the hotel guests will find two restaurants "Il PINZIMONIO" and "LAKE HEART". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing