We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Storico
Ranked #49 of 58 Como B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and family enjoyed a night at B&B Storico. Owner Marco was very accommodating making our one-night stay enjoyable. He made us espresso as soon as we arrived and the next day when we left he let us leave our luggage in one of the rooms while we did a last-minute train ride to Lugano and back before heading to Milano.

Pros: Location was perfect and rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Owner was very accommodating.

Cons: Bathroom towels are old and room smelled a little musty at first. Maybe because it was raining so hard in the area.

Tip: There is no elevator, however, we had no problem with stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Me and my wife spent just a single night at B&B Storico, but we could experienced a cool atmosphere, very well located, confortable, very clean and cozy room. The owners, Marco and Ticiane are so kind and friendly. The breakfast is simple, but very nice and good quality stuff. If you are looking for full service Hotel, this is not the place, but if you are looking for something afordable and cool, but still with good quality and friendly service, B&B Storico is your option in Como.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CauTrindade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at this B&B for, what we regretted only one night before heading up Lake Como to Bellagio and 4 further days.

Our room, which was the budget double, was perfect and charmingly decorated, and the B&B itself in a lovely location with all of Como's charms in easy walking distance. The room was full of character with exposed beams, view over a typical Como old town street, and up onto the funicular railway. That said, the room was quiet even with the day to day bustle in the morning. The room had plenty of little extras to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable, including a small cupboard with cutlery, plates, glasses. The bathroom was also very nice with a good shower, and also seemed recently decorated to a high standard. Quite rightly the owner, a lovely man, is very proud of his restoration/ decoration

The real star was the owner who was more than helpful and friendly, from pre-arrival emails, through to general local advice, to allowing us 4 days later to store our luggage at his B&B whilst we had an afternoon further exploring Como before heading to Milan. That went beyond the call of duty however is a perfect example of why we always try and use smaller family run businesses for our travel accommodation - he really wanted to make sure we had a great, easy time.

We do now a month on regret only staying the one night given how nice this B&B was, how much we enjoyed the atmosphere of Como, and look forward to retuning and staying longer, using Como as a base for Milan along with the Lake

Given the room rate and all of the above this is probably the best value for money stay we have had

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl_b77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our stay in storico was not as expected. Ratings on the booking website were very good and we expected something fabulous. It was actually very average as the famed owner was absent. Breakfast place was cramped and the room was just ok.
The location was however very central and makes this an ok choice for A week-end in Como

Stayed: March 2012
Thank xlider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We booked the quadruple superior room and given the reviews on the internet, thought it was going to be great. We had spent a week travelling through Italy staying in beautiful hotels with much more modest reviews so we were confident that we had booked something special. The B&B was on a third floor without a lift so to access it you had to heave your luggage up a grotty little staircase at the bottom of which an old man was sitting on a box. The room was overcrowded with cheap mismatching furniture. The heating was not working in the morning so we had to have our showers in shivering conditions. The TV wasn't working and was a small old 14" box TV (Where was the plasma screen described in the booking confirmation?) and it didn't work. The bathroom was small and uncomfortable and had a bad smell coming from the pipes. There was no hydromassage (as promised when booking). We were so outraged that we couldn't even complain about all that was wrong. You had to have breakfast in your room and pick up the very limited choice of articles with the landlord hanging over your back. We got out of there as quickly as we could. I can quite calmly say that is the worst hotel/b&B I have stayed in and that it was a big disappointment after staying in wonderful hotels.

Room Tip: Do not book the quadruple superior room. It was really awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trotamundosMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent 3 nights here during early October and thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The accommodation is quirky and quaint. We had the smallest room, which was very small, but did also have a look in the other rooms, each of which has its own distinct style and character.

The apartment which the B&B is in is up 3 flights of stairs with no lift but we didn't find this any problem.

The main thing we loved about this place was the hosts who were incredibly warm and welcoming. Marco speaks very good English and his wife very good French. They even insisted on dropping us off at the bus station in their car when we were leaving.

This B&B is in a very good location with lots of restaurants etc in the vicinity, an easy walk to the lake, and with an excellent patisserie directly underneath.

There are, I think, 6 rooms available in the B&B including 1 family room which sleeps 4. The owners also have an apartment downstairs which is available for stays of over 1 week. Partly because the cost is so reasonable for Como they seem to be very well booked up and you may need to book ahead to get a room.

Room Tip: At least one of the rooms has been refurbished and is very modern with its own little balcony, the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Good price for a clean and quite honest lodge in Como.
I stayed in a very clean room with shared bathroom and shower - the staff was very nice, in my first stay. The second time, some strange advice like the time to have a shower was strict and the silence order.
The localization is very good - next to the train station to Milan and close to the lake. The same owner has a restaurant - food for honest price too.
The more important is: visit Como!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank NinaOishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#10 of 32 in Como
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Como
Hotel Como
#8 of 32 in Como
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.2 mi away
Le Dame della Cortesella B&B
1.5 mi away
B&B Villa Adelaide
B&B Villa Adelaide
#21 of 58 in Como
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Storico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Storico

Address: Via Giovio 28, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range: £67 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Storico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Storico Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing