We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Storico
Ranked #49 of 58 Como B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My friend and I spent 3 nights in a twin room at B&B Storico last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is in a fantastic location in the walled old town of Como, so restaurants, bars and shops are right on your doorstep (we were not disturbed by any street noise, our room at the top of the building was very quiet). Lake Como is only a five minute or so leisurely walk from the B&B. The room was not overly large, but was completely charming and had everything we needed for a short stay, including a small balcony, which was fantastic for our al fresco breakfasts. Our room was decorated in a fairly traditional style, but some of the other rooms Marco (the owner) showed us had a much more contemporary feel and were very stylish.

Breakfast was buffet style, which you collected and ate in your bedroom (or on your balcony). Each room had a table and chairs, so if the weather was unkind, you could still eat comfortably. There was a selection of very fresh rolls and croissants, cold meats, fruit juice, cheese, fresh fruit and yoghurts to choose from and Santo was happy to bring your selection of tea or coffe to your room.

Marco and Santo were lovely hosts and were genuinely keen to ensure that you had the best possible stay in Como.

Be warned - our room was at the top of three flights of stairs, so getting your suitcase from top to bottom could be a problem! We were fortunate that Santo was around when we arrived and happily brought first one, then our second suitcase to our room. We would not have managed without him!

I would certainly stay at B&B Storico again and am happy to recommend it if you are looking for B&B accomodation in central Como.

Room Tip: Ask Marco which rooms are available, as some of the rooms have a traditional feel, whilst others are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

This B & B was great and the décor was modern and charming. The breakfast was excellent and we were able to bring it to our room.

The host was very hospitable and helpful. We could not have asked for more.

The only draw back is the numerous flights of stairs to get to our room but the host was very helpful and brought all our luggage up upon arriving and departing.

I highly recommend this spot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Situated in the walled old town in a quiet side street, this was a really nice place to stay. Great location with everything within walking distance. The b & b was very nice, rooms were well furnished and clean. My room had a fridge, coffeemaker, tv , hairdryer etc. Had my own balcony to sip a drink on and while away the time. The staff were very , very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Both Marco and Santo were keen to make sure we enjoyed the town. Breakfast was good and had a reasonable choice. Some people might miss a breakfast room ( you collect it from the buffet and take breakfast in your own room) but there are tables etc in each room so it was not a problem. There is no elevator but it was good exercise ;-) They would help with luggage if you need it but I only had a holdall so it wasnt a great problem. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulgarynixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed at the B&B Storico last week and was very disappointed. The host was very friendly and the B&B was nice however we had a terrible smell that turned our stomach coming from the area of the refrigerator. We informed the host and nothing was done to correct the problem. I moved the refrigerator to another part of the room hoping the problem would go away and it did not. The smell was very much like a dead animal in the wall. Until the problem is corrected I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnohess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a good option for those who want to save money. We have stayed here for the second time. Situated in the old part of Como town, in walking distance from all 3 railway stations, 5 mins walk from the lake. B&B on the last 4th floor. No elevator, so if you have large suitcases, it is better to make a call at the bottom to ask for help. The rooms are not large, but fairly clean. Only 4 rooms. Each has its own bathroom. There is a free wifi, printer, tee, coffee. Breakfast is served with croissants, ham and cheese. Apples and oranges are always available during the day. The hotel is quiet. It's not bad value for money for Como, since here quite expensive hotels. Cons: the weather this April was cool, heating in the hotel was gone and the room was quite cold.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Simply amazing B&B inside the historic center of Como.
(be careful there is no access with the car unless you get special permission)
Great place with attention to details.
The stuff extremely friendly too.
I ''ll let the photos speak for their shelf.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Effie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The b&b Storico is a cosy albergo located in the historical section of Como within the walls. The room meets all of your requirements and the owner, Marco and Santo can't do enough for you. They provide info about what to do and see in Como and in the other towns around the lake. They provide substantial breakfast, meats, eggs, cheese, juice, coffee etc which gives you a good start to the day. Marco also owns the L'Antica Trattoria which is close by. I can tell you that the meal was perfect. We had tenderloin with pancetta and a fantastic sauce. The server recommended a fantastic wine from this region. We are staying here as I write this review. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#9 of 32 in Como
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Como
Hotel Como
#8 of 32 in Como
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.2 mi away
Le Dame della Cortesella B&B
1.5 mi away
B&B Villa Adelaide
B&B Villa Adelaide
#21 of 58 in Como
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Storico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Storico

Address: Via Giovio 28, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range: £66 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Storico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Storico Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing