We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice old style hotel with great view to the Lake.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Como
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A very very nice hotel with a flair of old style. Room with a lake view is fantastic, spacious. Others would say dated but for me it s beautiful and classic. Perfect location to everything and helpful staff especially the young lady at the reception.

Room Tip: room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sotiris_Ath_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar_C61, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Sotiris_Ath_GR,

thank you for sharing your beautiful comment on Tripadvisor.
It is so pleasing to know that you truly appreciated the historic character of our Hotel, highliting our flair of old style.
How wonderful to read that you esteemed the simple beauty of our rooms, not dated but beautiful and classic...thank you for your very kind words.
We are glad that you also enjoyed our very central location and you felt welcomed by our helpful staff; we passed your nice comment to our reception lady who is extremely grateful.
We look forward to welcome you again, don't stay away for too long!
Heartfelt thanks and kindest regards,

Roberto Cassani, G. M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel has a great location right on the lake, across the ferry station which is a great convenience for trips around the lake. It is also an easy five minute walk from the Como Lago nord train station. Our room was on the third floor and had a balcony overlooking the lake, the view was just amazing. The room was large for European standards and it was furnished with furniture that matched the ambiance of the architecture of the building, the bathroom was nice and roomy. Both were immaculately clean. The front desk staff was polite but not too friendly. We had dinner at their restaurant "il imbarcadero" on one of our nights and the food and service were just great. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Como. The only thing that I had a gripe with is that breakfast was not included with the somewhat steep price of the hotel and that their buffet breakfast despite being good seemed a bit overpriced when compared to other hotels in Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar_C61, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Michael C,

thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay with us.
It is so nice to read that you enjoyed our good position, indeed, we are centrally located, as you mentioned, close to the ferry station, five minute walk from the city centre and right on the lake.

How kind of you to review so many positive aspects of our rooms, we are so pleased that you noticed the deep and strong essence of our furniture, a fundamental detail of the identity of our Hotel, which we are very proud of.

We are also thrilled that you found our Restaurant food and service to be great. It is so wonderful to hear your kind words of recommendation.

We do regret that your breakfast was not included in your reservation, to avoid this inconvenience in the future, please feel free to contact us directly at info@hotelmetropolesuisse.com.

Thank you for choosing our Hotel, we do hope to have the great pleasure to welcome you back again.
With renewed thanks and kindest regards,

Roberto Cassani, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Metropole Suisse has a great location, right opposite the Como lake.
The Funicular Rail and most of the town is within walking distance. Quite a few good restaurants around the hotel. We especially liked a restuarant called Hosterietta, right behind the Hotel
.
The breakfast was quite nice.. decent spread - Scrambled eggs, cheese, bacon, sausages, cereals etc

We were given an option of one 2 bed suite instead of 2 rooms.. but the Suite had just one bath, so did not opt for it..T
The two rooms allotted to us were ok.. but the rooms had a slightly slanting floor.. which was strange.. maybe the hotel building is old. (rooms 6 and 8) and the beds were a little uncomfotable .. as there was no king bed.. but 2 beds combined to make a larger bed with a gap in the middle.. And were metal beds with springs...very jumpy..
The bath had a tub with no curtains.. so lots of spillage and but no seperate bathing area..

Overall, the room could have been better...

The staff was friendly and eager to help..

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms with Lake view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParagGude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar_C61, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Greetings Guest,
thank you for writing a review about your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about our Staff our Location and our breakfast!
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your visit in Como.

Regarding the two rooms, we really sorry that those does not come up with your expectations, if we knew that you prefer modern furniture we would have moved you in another room.

I am pleased to inform you and the future guests that the renovation works are well under way.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable.

Many thanks and best regards,
Roberto Cassani G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This very charming older hotel is in the best location in town: right across from the boat docks and a nice square. You can walk to the cathedral, to the funicular, and to many, many restaurants. The hotel itself is good, the rooms are large by Italian standards, and everything is spotless. The staff at the front desk was always friendly and welcoming. We had a room with a view, which was good but means there is a bit of noise from the street if you have to keep the window open like we did. I had free WiFi in the room, which I did not expect. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sperantei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robcass, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Sperantei,

thank you for writing your review about your recent stay with us.
It is really pleasing to read that you described our hotel to be "charming", sure enough, we are very proud of the refinement and finesse of our interior design, that is our way to communicate the historic charm of our family, since 1892.
We are pleased that our staff took care of you, being friendly and welcoming; it is one of our main aims to offer a comfortable stay, this is why we try and put efforts to make guests feel like home.
It is a reward to hear that you would definitely stay here again... well, we also would love to!
We look forward to welcoming back again.
Thank you and best regards,

Roberto Cassani - G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We began our tour of Italy in Como and thoroughly enjoyed our couple of days at this old hotel across the street from the lake. Our room was quiet and overlooked a piazza and our small balcony allowed a full view of the funicular and the SE portion of Lake Como. The buffet breakfasts were plentiful and of good quality. There were several nearby restaurants and gelato shops so it was easy to cover them with an evening stroll; the very Italian "Passeggiata".

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 3rd floor and overlooking the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prcipce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robcass, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Prcipce,
thank you for taking the time to share your lovely contribution on this site.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your short trip at Lake Como and we are honored that you chose our Hotel.
It is with great pleasure that we read your nice words, describing the spectacular view from your room balcony, as we are situated in Como main square, few steps from the very heart of the city centre, next to the tourism point, the ferry terminals, the funicolar and right in front of the lake and mountains... the location can't be beaten.
We are glad that you found our buffet breakfast to be plentiful and of good quality.
How wonderful to hear that you had the very Italian "Passeggiata" here, it is a pictoresque picture of Lake Como lifestyle.
We do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back.
Thank you for being our guest.
Kindest regards,

Roberto Cassani - G. M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent a most enjoyable week in the Hotel Metropole Suisse. It is an ideal base to explore the Como are as it is situated right by the ferry dock. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, though not 'modern'. The bathroom facilities are clean and adequate. We had a small balcony from which we could view promenading Italians by the lake. There are numerous cafes and restaurants nearby and the hotel restaurant is very good. The hotel is a short walk from Como Nord rail station with links to Milan. The other main Como station is about a 25 minute walk. We booked independently but the hotel is popular with tour companies.

A fine old hotel, well maintained, independently managed.

Room Tip: Book a room with Lake view, well worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robcass, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear RJCarter,

thank you for writing this corteous comment about our Hotel and location, we are very happy that you gave us the maximum score.
We really appreciate that our rooms met your taste and we are pleased to know that you also enjoyed Como city and its beautiful lake.
The restaurant staff is grateful for your kind words.
We are certain that your review, full of information, will be very useful for other guests.
We hope to meet you again in the near future.
Thank you and best regards.
Roberto Cassani, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is located right at the lakefront with great views. The renovated rooms are a must. The breakfast is wonderful, and the hotel staff very very helpful and very friendly. The shutters that cover the windows at night do a great job at buffering any car noise.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank PJWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robcass, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear PJWelch,

thank you for writing this lovely review about our property.
Each time, it is a great pleasure to read such positive comments from our satisfied guests.
We are delighted to know that you recommend our renovated rooms, but we would also like to convey ,to our future guests, the timeless appeal of our authentic and genuine classic rooms, that are, maybe, the only ones that are able to express the unparalleled story of our family.
Our staff is very happy to read your appreciation words!!
We look forward to welcoming you back again,
our heartfelft thanks and kindest regards.

Roberto Cassani, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.5 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Suisse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Suisse Hotel

Address: Piazza Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 19, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: £80 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Suisse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel dating from 1892 situated in city center, close to main shopping area, overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Suisse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Suisse
Metropole Suisse Como
Metropole Suisse Hotel Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing