We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Borgovico Hotel(Como)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$717
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Engadina(Como)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
259
395
186
81
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
395
186
81
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationlake comoferry terminaldirectly across the streetthe main squarepiazza cavourexcellent viewsmall balconycorner roomwonderful hotelfirst stopgelatothree nightsbreakfast was excellentsingle rooma lake view roomcroissants
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A very very nice hotel with a flair of old style. Room with a lake view is fantastic, spacious. Others would say dated but for me it s beautiful and classic. Perfect location to everything and helpful staff especially the young lady at the reception.

Room Tip: room with a view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sotiris_Ath_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar_C61, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Sotiris_Ath_GR,

thank you for sharing your beautiful comment on Tripadvisor.
It is so pleasing to know that you truly appreciated the historic character of our Hotel, highliting our flair of old style.
How wonderful to read that you esteemed the simple beauty of our rooms, not dated but beautiful and classic...thank you for your very kind words.
We are glad that you also enjoyed our very central location and you felt welcomed by our helpful staff; we passed your nice comment to our reception lady who is extremely grateful.
We look forward to welcome you again, don't stay away for too long!
Heartfelt thanks and kindest regards,

Roberto Cassani, G. M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel has a great location right on the lake, across the ferry station which is a great convenience for trips around the lake. It is also an easy five minute walk from the Como Lago nord train station. Our room was on the third floor and had a balcony overlooking the lake, the view was just amazing. The room was large for European standards and it was furnished with furniture that matched the ambiance of the architecture of the building, the bathroom was nice and roomy. Both were immaculately clean. The front desk staff was polite but not too friendly. We had dinner at their restaurant "il imbarcadero" on one of our nights and the food and service were just great. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Como. The only thing that I had a gripe with is that breakfast was not included with the somewhat steep price of the hotel and that their buffet breakfast despite being good seemed a bit overpriced when compared to other hotels in Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar_C61, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Michael C,

thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay with us.
It is so nice to read that you enjoyed our good position, indeed, we are centrally located, as you mentioned, close to the ferry station, five minute walk from the city centre and right on the lake.

How kind of you to review so many positive aspects of our rooms, we are so pleased that you noticed the deep and strong essence of our furniture, a fundamental detail of the identity of our Hotel, which we are very proud of.

We are also thrilled that you found our Restaurant food and service to be great. It is so wonderful to hear your kind words of recommendation.

We do regret that your breakfast was not included in your reservation, to avoid this inconvenience in the future, please feel free to contact us directly at info@hotelmetropolesuisse.com.

Thank you for choosing our Hotel, we do hope to have the great pleasure to welcome you back again.
With renewed thanks and kindest regards,

Roberto Cassani, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Metropole Suisse has a great location, right opposite the Como lake.
The Funicular Rail and most of the town is within walking distance. Quite a few good restaurants around the hotel. We especially liked a restuarant called Hosterietta, right behind the Hotel
.
The breakfast was quite nice.. decent spread - Scrambled eggs, cheese, bacon, sausages, cereals etc

We were given an option of one 2 bed suite instead of 2 rooms.. but the Suite had just one bath, so did not opt for it..T
The two rooms allotted to us were ok.. but the rooms had a slightly slanting floor.. which was strange.. maybe the hotel building is old. (rooms 6 and 8) and the beds were a little uncomfotable .. as there was no king bed.. but 2 beds combined to make a larger bed with a gap in the middle.. And were metal beds with springs...very jumpy..
The bath had a tub with no curtains.. so lots of spillage and but no seperate bathing area..

Overall, the room could have been better...

The staff was friendly and eager to help..

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms with Lake view and balcony
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParagGude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar_C61, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Greetings Guest,
thank you for writing a review about your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about our Staff our Location and our breakfast!
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your visit in Como.

Regarding the two rooms, we really sorry that those does not come up with your expectations, if we knew that you prefer modern furniture we would have moved you in another room.

I am pleased to inform you and the future guests that the renovation works are well under way.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable.

Many thanks and best regards,
Roberto Cassani G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This very charming older hotel is in the best location in town: right across from the boat docks and a nice square. You can walk to the cathedral, to the funicular, and to many, many restaurants. The hotel itself is good, the rooms are large by Italian standards, and everything is spotless. The staff at the front desk was always friendly and welcoming. We had a room with a view, which was good but means there is a bit of noise from the street if you have to keep the window open like we did. I had free WiFi in the room, which I did not expect. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sperantei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robcass, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Sperantei,

thank you for writing your review about your recent stay with us.
It is really pleasing to read that you described our hotel to be "charming", sure enough, we are very proud of the refinement and finesse of our interior design, that is our way to communicate the historic charm of our family, since 1892.
We are pleased that our staff took care of you, being friendly and welcoming; it is one of our main aims to offer a comfortable stay, this is why we try and put efforts to make guests feel like home.
It is a reward to hear that you would definitely stay here again... well, we also would love to!
We look forward to welcoming back again.
Thank you and best regards,

Roberto Cassani - G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We began our tour of Italy in Como and thoroughly enjoyed our couple of days at this old hotel across the street from the lake. Our room was quiet and overlooked a piazza and our small balcony allowed a full view of the funicular and the SE portion of Lake Como. The buffet breakfasts were plentiful and of good quality. There were several nearby restaurants and gelato shops so it was easy to cover them with an evening stroll; the very Italian "Passeggiata".

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 3rd floor and overlooking the piazza.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prcipce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robcass, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Prcipce,
thank you for taking the time to share your lovely contribution on this site.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your short trip at Lake Como and we are honored that you chose our Hotel.
It is with great pleasure that we read your nice words, describing the spectacular view from your room balcony, as we are situated in Como main square, few steps from the very heart of the city centre, next to the tourism point, the ferry terminals, the funicolar and right in front of the lake and mountains... the location can't be beaten.
We are glad that you found our buffet breakfast to be plentiful and of good quality.
How wonderful to hear that you had the very Italian "Passeggiata" here, it is a pictoresque picture of Lake Como lifestyle.
We do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back.
Thank you for being our guest.
Kindest regards,

Roberto Cassani - G. M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews