We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Megaride Guest House
Ranked #21 of 58 Como B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The location is very good, but the manager was unfriendly, unhelpful and aggressive if you made any request, such as two sets of keys so we could come and go separately. Furniture in the room consisted of a wobbly table that was a pre-cast toadstool, and stool to match, plus one other chair. Matching toadstool in bathroom. There was a lift. Looking at alternatives, however, they were quite a bit more expensive. There were three different keys to access the property, and the manager said he was not there during the day, as he had meetings all over the city, so he could not let one of us in if the other had the set of keys. We saw him only on arrival, when he immediately demanded to be paid for the room. He said breakfast coupons were no longer provided.

Room Tip: Try to book elsewhere at another hotel, or else have very low expectations of this one, based on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

This bed and breakfast refused to give us any information about breakfast until I complained to booking company. No one is on property except for 2-3 hours per day. Phones don't work, alarm didn't work, hall lights go out every 30 seconds unless you wave your arms, very dark halls are dangerous, and staff is unhelpful and downright unfriendly. Office was open and all keys including master keys to all rooms were easily obtainable to anyone since no staff person there, ever. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. And only demands upfront cash payment or you could be locked out of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Fantastic separate apartment, although there was not any air conditioning it was ideally located for Como; just five minutes walk away. There isn't a lift and the apartment is on the third floor, but you soon get used to the walk. The apartment is well equipped with cooking utensils and a dishwasher, although a washing machine would have been useful. That said, I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for the separate apartment or the new apartment which has air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bali311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The only good thing in this hotel was the location. Everything else was terrible. Never chose this hotel to stay in Como. They do not accept credit card, only cash. There was not hot water in the bathroom which was located in the entrance hall and we should go out of the room to use it. There was not TV in the room, wi fi was too slow to use it. The breakfast was served in the bar in 5 min walking distance and was 1 croissant and coffee. There are not reception service after 5 p.m. so you have to call the owner for check in. The elevator is small and claustrophbic, better not to use it. This hotel has not been renovated since it was built.

Room Tip: Never stay at this "hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonCeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

A very good location, near the centre and the lake. The building is not well identified so a little difficult to locate. A friend and I had 2 rooms with a shared bathroom. The rooms were quite nice but the bathroom appears to be only half renovated with a shower curtain covering a back wall, no window covering and all in all not very pleasant to use. My bed was very comfortable but my friend did not find hers very comfortable at all. The area we had also had a small common area which led onto a balcony and we were advised when we arrived that this whole floor which had its own entry was all ours but we weren't there very long when the entry door was unlocked, someone walked in without any explanation and removed some towels from a cupboard and left??? The breakfast was very poor, at the bar on the corner across from the hotel, and consisted of a croissant and coffee. Expect a much better breakfast from a B & B. The reception area is also not very inviting and you can only pay in cash. Also, sound proofing probably non existent. This is a great building in a very convenient location and could be a fantastic place to stay but definitely needs some work to get it right. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eslynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The B&B is near the history center and the restaurants by the lake edge (just 5min walk). We had the Maryline room: it was clean, and the bed very confortable. We also had a balcony. However, the bathroom was not directly in the room but next, even if it was a private bathroom. It is not very useful. The staff man was a little weird. You do not feel safe with him even if we do not have any problem. But he is not always at his desk, so for the check-in you can wait for him a while.

Room Tip: before the chek-in, call or send an email to the staff to tell your arrival hour. Otherwise you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MellowL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

(+), Location is good, just across the rail tracks and you are at the Opera and Cathedral. There is a lift (tiny one, 3 people max) up to third floor. Wi-Fi was good and there is also a parking place for 5euro per day. Maurizio is very nice, friendly and he does his best to help you.

(-) No reception, you have to call an Italian mobile phone. No credit card, only cash. We booked and paid for the studio (since a family with a young kid), but when we got there, we were told that the boiler was broken and the flat was flooded. We didn’t receive any email about this change. So they put as in a double bed room with the bathroom outside the bedroom in a shared flat (one entrance but two different bedrooms). Anyway, we didn’t’ have another option, so we accepted it (for the same price, they only offered the parking for free, 3 nights x 5euro= 15euro “compensation”). The first day till next morning, no heating and no hot water, so no shower, not able to clean the 2 years old kid either. Next day they fixed it, lasted for 2 days, and on Monday (check out day), it was broken again, so no shower once more. The room was small, no TV, they were kind enough to bring us a microwave to warm up the kid’s milk and a small fridge to keep the milk cool, but it didn't work so we left everything on the balcony (temp around 4-7 degrees end of March). I think this is a budget place, where everything is dated, and not working properly. But heating and hot water is a MUST. Most likely we are not going back, as this wasn't a place for us. By the way, also breakfast is very poor, just a coffee with a croissant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melie-anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.7 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
610 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#9 of 32 in Como
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#11 of 32 in Como
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.3 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megaride Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megaride Guest House

Address: Piazza del Popolo 5 | Via dei Partigiani 4, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range: £42 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Recently opened Bed & Breakfast which is found in the heart of Como's city center. It is located 100 meters from the Ferrovia Nord's Como Lago Station with marvelous views of the Duomo's cupola and the famed Palazzo del Fascio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Megaride Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaride Guest House Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing