We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palace Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$239
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Metropole Suisse Hotel(Como)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Marco's(Como)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$131
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$362
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$243
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Meuble(Como)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Engadina(Como)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Antico Hotel(Como)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
334
368
146
55
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
368
146
55
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden bargreat locationlake comoa lake view roomshort walkbreakfast room istrain stationcentral locationcold meatsbreakfast was excellentper daywonderful hotelrestaurants and shopssmall balconyyogurtold townmichelangelo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you are headed to Lake Como do not stay at the Palace Hotel. We were there on a Globus package through Switzerland and Italy and this place is a DUMP!!! It is dirty, the rooms smells the minute you walk in, There are no screens on the windows, so if you want to open them up,anything from outside can get in and it is so small, so you can get hurt if you get up to go to the bathroom. It just is AWFUL.There is not much else to say about this hotel. Avoid at all costs!!! The elevator is so small only one person with luggage can fit in, and there are only two tiny elevators. The staff was nice, and the food we had there was sufficient-but that can't make up for the rooms!! The bed is terrible too-the mattress is probably from when they first built the hotel, and the linens on the bed too!! The bellboy even said the mattresses were as old as the hotel. (probably over 100 years) Find somewhere else in Lake Como to stay.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here-they all smell, because we asked for a room change and the others were no better
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobswifecleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that your stay was not satisfactory, nevertheless I find the terms used in your description a little harsh. As you mentioned you were on a group tour and therefore the rooms assigned were standard. I am however pleased to inform you and fellow readers that the renovaztion works are well under way and soon we will be able to present 62 brand new rooms and bathrooms. The wing being renovated is the one you stayed in.
Best regards,
Robert Webber
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just returned from celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary in Northern Italy, including 4 nights at the Palace Hotel. The Palace and its staff have provided us with the perfect stay in Como with its beautiful lake right outside our balcony. We had the opportunity, during our stay, to have at least 4 different staff members at the front desk provide us with helpful service. Each and everyone was polite, professional, intelligent, and friendly. The waiters and waitresses in the formal restaurant and the breakfast room ( more like a grand ballroom) were most courteous and professional. The food served at the hotel could not have been better. The total experience is that of the grand hotels of the 19th century. I didn't think places like this and service like this still exists. Truly a dream come true.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great location within walking distance of points of interest.
The ambiance inside the hotel is amazing.
Rooms are a good size and clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The service was top notch.
Had dinner at the Hotel restaurant and the food was well prepared and tasty.
We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Arlene,

thanks for your recent review. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you particularly appreciated the quality of our restaurant and of our service.
I'll share your compliments with the rest of the staff.
We all look forward to welcome you back in the future!
For your next reservation, visit our website where you can always find promotions and offers.

Best regards

Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Let me begin by saying the only reason the Palace doesn't get my 5 star endorsement is because of ongoing construction. Once the construction is complete, the hotel would get my full 5 star rating. The sledge hammer work on the roof woke us up a bit early one morning; a bit unexpected. That's our only negative comment. The location is wonderful, being right on Lake
Como with views thereof. The staff is fantastic. They were helpful and very pleasant, both in the bar/restaurant and the lobby. The room was large and clean - all we could ask for. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and I'm telling you the truth that it was the best risotto I've ever eaten. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us at the Palace Hotel and greatly appreciated our services and staff.
I will gladly share your compliments with my team. Sorry about the inconvenience due to
noise from the renovation works. The most heavy part has been demolished so things
have calmed down now. We are looking forward to opening the new wing next spring with
64 rooms that include deluxe rooms and junior suites.
Hope to welcome you back in the near future,
Very best regards,
Robert Webber
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The location of this hotel could not have been better as it was right on Lake Como. Stunning views and such a beautiful town a short walk from the hotel.

The hotel itself is quite spectacular from the outside, and lobby, restaurant and conference facilities were great, but bedrooms are in need of renovating. The bedroom doors are too thin with quite a big gap underneath, so although the walls are thick you can hear every sound coming in through the flimsy doors. The bedroom was tiny and dull, but bathroom was a decent size with good lighting.

Staff were not unhelpful, but they didn't make any extra effort to see that you were OK. I felt like sometimes they acted like they couldn't understand me, when I think that they probably could if they wanted to.

Hotel was very very expensive but that's just how much you pay to stay in an area like Lake Como. Would definitely return to the area but not sure if i would stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews