We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a beautiful location”
Review of Albergo Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo Firenze
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Como
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is located in the center of Como, just a few blocks from the lake on a large open plaza.
Very convenient to shopping, cafes and restaurants. In the afternoon and evenings the plaza is
filled with lots of activity. The rooms are very comfortable and large for Europe. The breakfast was served in a well decorated second floor room and was very good with plenty of choices for
anyone. The disadvantages would be that parking is located a few blocks away and there is only one elevator in the hotel that is very old and slow. The staircase is narrow, making it difficult to haul luggage up and down. Neither of these issues would prevent us from staying again.The staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke English. Definitely a 4.5.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2wanderers2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for one night while traveling with our teenage daughter. We had an apartment with a separate bedroom and kitchen. The accommodations where spacious, but there was not a lot of character to the room. It needs a bit of TLC and updating. It is a bit difficult to get to the room, especially traveling with numerous suitcases. Parking was a problem. We had to find a parking space in some random place away from the hotel. The location was great and the breakfast in the morning was nothing fancy but suited our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlsz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

In a great location 10 mins from train station, one block from the lake (with some views from higher floors) and on a lovely square with plenty of bars and restaurants. The 'very good' rating I've given the hotel really reflects the location and how lovely the staff and management were - they were so friendly I feel bad giving an 'average' rating which in truth is what the actual hotel rooms deserve. Despite a great location, the rooms themselves need some gentle TLC and I felt they were just about average for the price paid. Its a shame, as the rooms were spacious and really well set out but let down by missing light bulbs, very hard beds (by anyones standards), and the bathroom whilst spacious and clean had a few maintanance issues including a shower guard which didn't actually close.

As I say, only a few small improvements would make this hotel 'very good' and wouldn't cost the management much to achieve.

The 4th floor square facing rooms have partial lake como views and balconies which was nice, although some late night noise might put some off the rooms facing the square it didn't bother us.

Also, the room which had 2 singles (or combined as 1 king) had 2 very cheap pillows which were no thicker than 2cm and had seen better days. Pretty poor for the price paid.

Despite this, we did enjoy our stay here and would return due to the good location and friendly staff.

Whilst good customer service and a location 'saved' them on this review, I suspect others may not be so generous and perhaps some time spent fixing the bits and pieces in each room would see good returns.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the square on the 4th floor to get partial lake views (although you will get some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Rooms are basic; beds are hard; showers don't work (extremely small and they leak); sink backed up; door handle broken. Furnishings are old and cheap with lots of chips. Breakfast was mediocre at best, however the coffee was good. Shall I go on. The staff are indifferent and not friendly at all. Way overpriced and the 3 stars on the door not accurate. The Piazza it is located on is picturesque and the location is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Albergo Firenze occupies historical building on Piazza Volta, local meeting point lined of cafes and restaurants. Short walking distance from the Como S. Giovanni railway station, the Duomo and the tourist pier make it an ideal place to explore the city and the lake.

The hotel is comfortable and clean, the staff is friendly, location is perfect, and all comes at a reasonable price. i would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaNW87RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We made a last minute online reservation for this hotel, as we spontanously decided on making a road trip to Southern Switzerland and Northern Italy. As it was last minute, this was one of the last "payable" hotels available in Como.
The hotel is perfectly located in a lovely Piazza in the historical centre of Como and just two steps away form the gorgeous Lake Como. Even though the furnish is really old fashioned, the place is really clean, which is always my most important requirement.
The stuff is quite bubbly and friendly and the breakfast is ok, normal buffet breakkie, with bread, brioches, yogurt, cereals... as bein March we were lucky and got fresh strawberries.
The room (cheapest range) has mini-bar, TV and Complete Toilet (w. Shower, Bidet...).

As any place, there are some positive and negative aspects:

POSITIVE:
- Location
- Cleanliness
- Politeness
- Price compared to others

NEGATIVE:
- Very old fashioned deco and furniture (for those who care)
- Very hard mattress (I slept like a baby anyway)
- No own parking. Public parking (not cheap) has to be used.
- Depending on your luck, horrible views to interior dirty courtyard.

All in all, as we don't really spend time in the room, I was really happy with it, and we probably will go back to this Albergo if going back to lovely Como.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Piazza will surely have a nicer view. There is also an interior nice courtyard. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alma_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

A classical 19th century Italian hotel in a beautiful traffic-free old piazza in the city centre, only a couple of minutes' walk from the lake. Our large room was on the third floor with a fine view of the piazza, but was quiet, and comfortably heated in this cold March weather. Super clean. Towels and sheets changed more often than was really necessary. Marvellous staff, friendly and helpful. Large breakfast room; normal Italian breakfast. If you come by train from Switzerland, consider taking the No. 1 ASF Autolinee S.r.l. bus from near Chiasso station; it will drop you a few metres from the hotel in Como.
We'll be back !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.4 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#10 of 32 in Como
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Firenze

Address: Piazza Alessandro Volta 16, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: £67 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Firenze is a welcoming 3-star hotel located in a historical Neoclassical building, in the centre of Como, in Piazza Volta, meeting point of the town. Hotel Firenze is situated in the limited traffic area: however, guests can reach the hotel by car and leave their luggage, they can then declare the number plate and the model of their car to the reception in order to avoid fines.The advantage of the pedestrian area is allowing guests to enjoy the maximum relax without the trouble of the noise of the city traffic. Hotel Firenze is located at walking distance from the Como S. Giovanni railway station and from the FerrovieNord railway station, both important for connections between Como and Milan. The little tourist pier of Como represents the starting point to reach the wonderful lake destinations such as Bellagio, Argegno, Tremezzo and many others.In this hotel, business travelers or visitors on vacation will find an ideal place to relax and refresh close to the lake. Hotel Firenze offers its guests the best services: the large hall overlooking Piazza Volta – where breakfast is served every morning – and hosting business appointments as well as meetings with friends for entertaining moments; free internet wireless connection; 44 rooms equipped with digital TV, direct telephone, mini-bar, air-conditioning and hairdryer.The kind and reserved staff, the welcoming and familiar atmosphere, the quality services complete the offer and guarantee a pleasant and unforgettable stay. Hotel Firenze is an excellent starting point to visit the town of Como. The hotel is located close to the spectacular lakeside promenade, while the streets around the hotel branch out with their many boutiques, restaurants and tourist attractions.A boat ride is mandatory when in Como and represents the ideal opportunity to visit wonderful landscapes, while a trip aboard the renowned funicular climbing along the mountain as far as Brunate will let you enjoy a breath-taking view on the city and on the basin of the Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Firenze Como, Lake Como, Italy
Albergo Firenze Hotel Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing