We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 59 Como B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Well a little hard to find the entrance but its basically in the middle of the El Merendero restaurant.

On arrival friendly owner greeted us and showed us to our nice clean double room with ensuite and airconditioning.

Yes there are 4 levels of stairs to the top rooms but easy if your mobile, rooms are newly decorated and spacious enough. We had a rear room looking out over neighbouring roof tops nice and quiet room G1.

Owner was very friendlyand helpful and offered advice on transport, ferries, sightseeing and even booked us a taxi to take us to the centrale station in the morning.

Yes the hotel is right near the bus station and the nord lago train station, not the giovani station, if you arrive at giovani station take the number 4 bus to lago bus station.

Would recommend this nice clean basic value for money B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiFireShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed in room in annexe with shared bathroom. Very clean but spartan. Beds made during the day, bins emptied. Bathrooms are excellent recently renovated and spotless. Hearty breakfast included. Good location and value for money. Free Internet.

Room Tip: Avoid bunk beds. 54 steps involved to room in annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaJ47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had a 4 night trip round Lake Como and chose this B&B as our first stop in Como itself. Check-in was easy and we were able to do so 30 minutes early. The guy at reception was very helpful and gave us a quick tour of the hotel and its facilities.

I'd say it perhaps had a slight hostel feel to it, but this is no bad thing and everything was perfectly clean, the bunk beds were extremely comfortable and we both slept very very well.

We were pretty pleased with our stay when we woke up the next morning but there was still one last surprise to come - breakfast. It was FANTASTIC and probably rates as one of the best breakfasts we had on the trip, including some in much more expensive hotels. The selection was very extensive and it was all fresh.

So if you're coming to Como and you're on a budget (or even if you're not) I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tluamiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and found this B&B to be very good and convenient too. We took the option of going there direct from Milan Malpensa airport by trains, first using the ‘Malpensa Express’ train for Milan from T1 then changing at Saronno for the train to Como Lago Nord station. The whole journey took about 1hr 25min. depending on the connection. It was easy enough to do and reasonably cheap. In Riva al lago was 6-7 minutes walk from the station. Easy to find.

Checking in was great with Mario. We asked him a let us have a quiet room and he arranged it with a smile. Mario informed us that breakfast in fact was included in the Booking.com price and it was an error on their website which was good news. We were early at around 12:30 so we left the bags and took the local bus just round the square to Belligio for the afternoon. Journey time around 45 mins and it offered a good view of the lake. On return to In Riva around 6pm it was the older guy who showed us to the room. He seemed rather grumpy and impatient.

The room on the 3rd floor at the back was reasonably spacious and very quiet. Rooms at the front would be noisier with the restaurant customers in the street down below. There was only the view of a roof but we didn't mind. There was no lift so beware if you have no heavy bags. AC worked great. Bathroom was clean and roomy. Buffet breakfast turned out to be decent and it was nice to sit outside in the warm sunshine in the morning. We ate in the piazza cafe/restaurant 1 of the evenings, it was fine and not expensive.

The ferry boats dock was 10 minutes walk away and easy to use. We had a wonderful boat trip up and down the lake and stopping at 2 of the towns. One can ask Mario for the best way of going about doing that if unsure. As we had already spent the previous pm in Bellagio, we opted for a whole day boat ticket covering the entire lake for 5Euro more. One wont be able to visit all the town of the upside down Y, but we had managed to visit Varenna (nice place) for 50 minutes and Colico (30 mins). Beware it would be a long day (9:15-19:30) doing it this way but we saw all the different sceneries all the way up to the top of the lake! That was the main reason we went to Lake Como.

The Como town centre, Cathedral, shops etc. were 10 minutes from In Riva and the tram to go up the hill was 5 minutes the other way. On leaving Como, we walked to the main Como train station to catch a train to Milan, it took 15 minutes and it was an easy level walk. No real issues there.

All in all we will recommend In Riva. However it would be even nicer if the older gentleman could learn to be less grumpy and be more patient and polite with the customers.

Room Tip: As for a room at the back if you want quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SC168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

More than happy with comfort, quiet air conditioned rooms, with super shower, incredible breakfast, superb staff service! A total bargain, too!
Central to everything, we got off the ferry tired after a long day on the lake virtually at the front door! Extra windows and shutters mask street noise well, and i am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiejen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is a very well run hostel. We couldn't recommend it highly enough. If you are a travelling on a budget this is a great choice. Mario in the reception office is so very friendly and helpful with lots of suggestions for making the most of the visit to Lake Como. The hostel is just behind the main bus terminal and a one minute walk to the secondary main train station for Lake Como. 2 minutes walk to the start of the Lake promenade. A few minutes walk to the main square and the old town. The hostel was spotlessly clean during our stay and the breakfast was plentiful. The breakfast area is converted to a lunch time and evening restaurant at really reasonable prices.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room facing the court yard as the front rooms are a little noisy and quite ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

we really enjoyed our holiday in this hostel, the bedroom are very clean and i think it was very safe.
there is a lot of good italian food around it, and there is a bus station very near from the hostel. this is a very good choice to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
1.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#9 of 32 in Como
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#11 of 32 in Como
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Benedetto E Antonio Maria Crespi 4, 22100, Como, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range: £36 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In Riva Al Lago Hotel Como
In Riva Al Lago Bed And Breakfast
In Riva Al Lago Bed & Breakfast Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing