We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 55 Como B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Conveniently located near the bus station. The bedroom was very compact, but the bathroom was large. Very basic in terms of amenity, lack of table, chairs in the room. There was a ceiling fan and a small TV. There is no lift, so hauling heavy suitcases is hard work but the maid helped to carry my heavy suitcase. Breakfast was not included in the room rate because it was the beginning of the low season (October). Room conditions seemed rather strict in that you weren’t allowed to eat food in the room, only drink water. We knew that check-in was at 2pm and we arrived just before noon, and told that room was not ready, even though it was low season and only 20% of rooms were occupied. There is no secure luggage storage area, luggage just sits in the reception office. There is however a secure after hours entry via a security code at the main door. There was no view of the lake from our room, just a lot of terracotta roof tiles.
Positive notes: the staff are friendly and helpful, providing us with a map and directions to places we needed to go to. There is Wi-Fi available but we didn’t have a device - we needed to look up a phone number on the internet and the receptionist was happy to do that for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy_traveller_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suiteh, Manager at In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and service. We are considered the best budget hotel in the Como area. In addition to our clean, comfortable rooms, we pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful service. As you mentioned, our breakfast buffet is served June – September. Our snack bar is open year-round where guests can enjoy excellent sandwiches or pizzas. And, although we do not have a dedicated storage area, luggage left in the reception office are very secure. We believe our excellent location (50 meters to the Lake Como promenade and the Como Lago Nord train station, and only a few steps to the Brunate funicular and the bus station) and our value pricing compensate for the lack of Lake Como views. There are only a handful of hotels in Como that do have lake views – all of which are considerably higher priced. We hope you will come again to visit us and stay connected with us on Facebook for special offers and information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    154
    52
    10
    12
See reviews for
69
160
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights towards the end of October. Our room was basic, but clean and comfortable. The main benefit of the hotel from my point of view is the location, a five minute walk into the center of Como and the lake cruise boats, a 30-second walk to the funicular to Brunate, and it also offers parking, which is why I choose it as we'd hired a car. What i hadn't realised is that breakfast isn't served during the winter months, or at least not when we were there, and i hadn't expected this. If I remember correctly, when I booked, it did say the rate didn't include breakfast, but I didn't realise breakfast wasn't available at all, I just thought i'd pay extra. Anyway, it didn't matter too much as we just went to a cafe in the morning, of which there are plenty, or found a bakery. Otherwise it was a pleasant place to stay and would recommend if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mb2512cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suiteh, Manager at In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us at In Riva Al Lago! We’re very happy you found our rooms clean, comfortable and a good value. But, we’re sorry you experienced some confusion as to our breakfast buffet. This is a good time to remind our guests that our buffet breakfast is served only during the summer season (from June to September). Our restaurant / snack bar operates year-round where you can easily find a cappuccino and brioche in the morning and other delicious items throughout the day.

In Riva al Lago is the perfect place for budget travelers to stay when exploring the Lake Como area. We are conveniently located close to center-city Como, to the Como Lago Nord train station, to the Brunate funicular and to Lake Como water transportation. Additionally, our guests can always depend on the cleanliness of our rooms and helpfulness of our staff. Again, thank you so much for your review! We hope you’ll visit us again soon and stay connected with us on Facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

First of all i want to say, that ive booked via venere.com the room with a private bathroom. Can you imagine, how i was surprised, when we saw, that we have a shared bathroom with 4 other rooms. It wasnt so clean as it used, ive even saw an insect there. The second thing i didnt like, that its forbidden to eat in the room. And the last thing it eas only one friendly man in the staff, the others were rude. I wouldnt recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suiteh, Manager at In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
“We are posting this reply to advise readers of our position on this particular review.

First of all, guest satisfaction is very important to us. We have asked TripAdvisor to assist us in obtaining the reviewer's full name and dates of stay since we cannot locate a guest record without this information. We have attempted to contact the reviewer via TripAdvisor e-mail, but have not received a response to date. The guest name and dates of stay are needed to identify the guest and properly investigate the claims that have been made.

This review indicates that our hotel switched a reservation and operates in a dishonest way. We find it offensive, unacceptable and harmful to the reputation of our property. We do not operate in this manner and we are very committed to identifying this guest and getting to the bottom of the reviewer’s claims.

We will update our response as soon as we can identify the guest and properly investigate the circumstances surrounding her stay with us.

Rest assured, it is our goal that every guest who stays with us is satisfied and happy about the value of our rooms, the service they received and the cleanliness of our accommodations. We strongly encourage guests to let us know if any issues that arise during their stay, so we may address them immediately. We also encourage guests to call us or e-mail us before booking a reservation if they have any questions.

Thank you for your patience and understanding while we attempt to identify and investigate this review. “
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights while exploring the area and relaxing. Both employees that assisted us went above and beyond normal service--one carried my husband's suitcase up to our room; the other called, the night before we left, for a taxi to pick us up for an early departure to the train station the next morning.

Clean, large, quiet bedroom and private bath came with a sitting area outside our room that we did not use, but would be great if two couples or a family were travelling together.

Laundromat, bank, and good restaurants close by. And reasonable price!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MtMomofSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suiteh, Manager at In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fine review. We're so happy you mentioned the outstanding service provided to you by our staff. This hotel is family owned and we want to treat all our guests as "one of the family." As you mentioned, our location is perfectly situated for exploring Brunate by way of the funiculare, taking a train to Milano for shopping or a boat up Lake Como to discover the many quaint villages along the lake. Restaurants, laundry service and the Como boardwalk is right at our doorsteps too. We're so grateful you stayed with us and hope you will come back soon. Remember, you always have friends at In Riva Al Lago! Please join our community on Facebook and share some of your pictures. Grazie ...a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
234 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel offers good value in the city centre of Como. Everything is in walking distance. Rooms are clean and spacious. Internet works fine. Parking garage available around 100m away. Pizzeria in the ground floor offering basic food. The breakfast was actually good for Italian standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suiteh, Manager at In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your comments on our service and breakfast. In Riva Al Lago has a reputation for being a good travel value and we’re glad you commented on this. Our guests can always expect clean, comfortable rooms at a fair price. Our breakfast buffet is considered one of the best in Como. Just as a reminder, our breakfast buffet is served only from June-September during the summer season. We have a snack bar-restaurant that is open year-round. As you stated our hotel is within walking distance to the historical center of Como, the Come Nord Lago train station, the funicular to Brunate and Lake Como water transportation. We hope you will stay connected with us and share some of your photos on our In Riva Al Lago Facebook page. Thank you for choosing In Riva Al Lago as your vacation accommodation and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Lake Como.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Three of us spent a few days in Milan before coming up to explore Lake Como. The hostel is the perfect place to do so. Close to the main town square and where the boats depart and also a 2 min walk from the funicular railway. Clean rooms and bathrooms and all at a very reasonable price. Includes a decent breakfast. Highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room overlooking the front as can be noisy in the morning with road cleaners/ buses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suiteh, Manager at In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
We couldn’t have said it better ourselves! In Riva al Lago is the perfect place to stay when exploring the Lake Como area. We are conveniently located to train, bus, cable car and water transportation. Additionally, our guests can always depend on the cleanliness of our rooms and facilities. Thank you so much for your review! We hope you’ll visit us again soon and stay connected with us on Facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The best hostel I have stayed in. Room rate included an excellent buffet breakfast (croissants, bread, cold cuts, cheese, cereal, good coffee, etc etc). Very reasonable room rates, clean rooms which were tidied every day. Good shared shower facilities and air conditioning. The hostel also runs a restaurant/bar (where breakfast is served) that serves decent food, wide range of beers and bottles of wine for 10 euros. Shared bathrooms are well kept and modern, hostel is a stone's throw from the lake and next to the local rail stations Como Nord Lago (or a short 15 minute walk from Como S. Giovanni). Mario who runs the show speaks good English and is very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suiteh, Manager at In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you this review and your kind comments. We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We take a lot of pride in keeping our rooms and facilities in tip-top shape and appreciate your comments. Plus, as you mentioned, our breakfast buffet is always delicious! We want to remind everyone that we serve our buffet breakfast only during the summer (from June-September). But, our restaurant/snack bar operates April - February. We invite you to stay in touch with us via our Facebook page and post any pictures you might like to share. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.7 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
1.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#7 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast

Property: In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Benedetto E Antonio Maria Crespi 4, 22100, Como, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In Riva Al Lago Hotel Como
In Riva Al Lago Bed And Breakfast
In Riva Al Lago Bed & Breakfast Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing