We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem - would definitely recommend”
Review of Borgo Antico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borgo Antico Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gem - would definitely recommend”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A short stroll from San.Giovanni railway station you will find the Borgo Antico Hotel. Literally down the steps in front of the station (I'm sure you can walk around if you have a heavy bag... but beware there are quite a lot of steps), then turn left and you are there! Top tip, leave plenty of time to get your return train ticket as there was only one machine working and there were lots of people queuing for tickets.

The hotel is small and perfectly formed. The old building has been beautifully restored with modern touches but still retaining an old world charm. The reception staff were helpful although not overly 'happy'!

The room (304) was very clean with air-conditioning, hair-dryer and safe. This room was at the front of the hotel on the one-way street side. It was silent and there was no need to open the window as the air-conditioning was working perfectly.

The breakfast room was very clean and the service was excellent. A good choice for a light continental breakfast... you could also boil your own eggs.

Would definitely recommend this hotel as Como is so small it only takes a maximum of 10 minutes to walk to the lake and the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mandy-must-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    170
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
225
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Borgo Antico is on a small street a short distance from the touristy town center and a great place to base yourself in Como. The room we had was clean, updated, and very comfortable and even though we were on the street side of the building the double pane windows kept any street noise out. It is a short walk to the train station if planning a day trip to Milan. Also a short walk to the ferry docks for the ride to Bellagio or other places on Lake Como.

On the same street we found a great trattoria, (ask at the front desk), a small Spanish restaurant with great food, and a beer bar with some great Italian craft beers.

Breakfast is included and provides a wide selection for you to choose from. The staff working the breakfast room provide tea and coffee service right to your table.

Compared to some of the other hotels we have stayed at while in Italy the price is very competitive and you will not regret staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the small elevator in the event there are some late partiers coming in late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
465 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights whilst visiting Lake Como. Hotel is slightly off the main centre, but still only a ten minute walk away. Staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. Rooms clean and tidy, bathroom was spacious with lovely walk in shower. Continental breakfast buffet was more than adequate. Can't fault the place and would stay again without a second thought. Only minor niggle was road noise at rush hour. The street is quite narrow and vehicle noise with the window open is very loud. Our room was on the front so a rear room would be better. Hope to visit again some day. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front due to traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieH110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in total in two seperate blocks (4 days in between). Yes we liked the hotel, it's small but perfectly formed. The friendliest people in the hotel were the ladies serving breakfast and the really pleasant cleaner. We feel at times the 'welcome' at reception could be construed as unwelcoming- sometimes I felt no-one took time. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the breakfast more than satisfying.
It was noisy as they are having construction work done to another part of the hotel which started with a drill at 8 am which at first I thought was the after affect of vino rossi from the previous nights' meal. To be fair when I drew attention to this unrelenting noise it stopped.
All in all we would come back hoping for a smile. It is very close to everything you need in Como and it's to take a break to this hotel from all the buzz of the waterfront. What I lived most about the hotel was their nod of their head to the history of the area with the lovely photos.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GlensGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent one night here at the end of May (me, my husband, 2 children age 4 & 15, and another couple). The hotel is located on a narrow street in a beautifully renovated old building and is simple, clean and modern in style. The rooms are quite sparsely furnished but have everything you need, including a safe. Beds are quite firm but comfy, a/c works fine, wifi was free, shower (no bath) was good. We found the reception staff very helpful and they spoke good English. Breakfast is nice. There is no lake view, but it is only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Como and to the lake. As other reviewers have said, the San Giovanni train station is just to the back of the hotel up a flight of steps, no problem unless you have a lot of heavy luggage. A few yards to the right of the hotel on the opposite side of the road is a good restaurant, and next door to the restaurant is a really good bar serving lots of different beers from local micro breweries.

We paid 125 euros per room per night including breakfast. It is easy to confuse this hotel with the one further up the street with the similar name (the Borgovico), make sure you are at the correct hotel! Transfer time to Como from Malpensa airport is about 40 minutes, I pre-booked a minivan transfer (as there was too many of us to fit in a standard taxi) with a company called Car2Jet.com, the cost was 109 euros.

This was our first visit to the Italian Lakes and we all thought Como was lovely. Not too commercialised, very picturesque. So I would be happy to recommend Como, and happy to recommend staying at the Borgo Antico.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themadprampusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 for about 4 nights as we explored the Lake Como and Milan areas. No car. We arrived by San Giovanni train station which is very close to the hotel (10 minute walk at most) although it is a bit of an awkward walk down a few flights of stairs from the station to reach the old road. The location is okay, it is within a 5-10 minute walk of the lake, the ferry services, and all the old town amenities and restaurants. We had a nice room on the third floor which was bright and spacious with a very nice bathroom and large shower! Breakfast was included in our price and it was a simple continental breakfast but nicely done and they had barrista service. Staff were generally helpful although I must say they were not particularly friendly or enthusiastic. In fact this was probably the reason I did not give five stars. Wifi was okay although quite slow in the one evening I needed to use the internet for some work related tasks. There are a few restaurants right near the hotel but unfortunately: (1) the Trattoria/Pizzera in Borgovico and the All i Olio which seemed the most highly recommended both were disappointing, and (2) Nothing was open for dinner last night (Monday) which is annoying when you have no choice but to eat out. It is a longer walk to the train station from which you would do most of your day trips (Como Nord Lago), probably about 15 minutes. Overall a very nice hotel and if the staff had seemed a bit more happy and welcoming it would have earned the five rating.

Room Tip: Room 301 was nice, good bathroom and double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here on the first night of our 3.5 week honeymoon to Europe. Good clean hotel with plenty of amenities. Good location and we were easily able to walk with our luggage from the train station to the hotel. The shower took some figuring out but was good. Breakfast was basic but decent. All in all a great stay and would stay here again. Rooms and the elevator are small so big bags can be a pain for the both.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.5 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Antico Hotel

Property: Borgo Antico Hotel
Address: Via Borgo Vico 47, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Antico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Antico Hotel was launched in march 2013. The hotel is equipped with 24 comfortable bedrooms (18/20 m2) with bathroom, everyone provided with shower, telephone, 32" Led Television, air conditioning, strongbox also for computers and i-pad, wide beds with double sommier, free wireless, bar service and breakfast. Free wi-fi is avaible in the whole building. News of the year: we have 3 new rooms with a little private garden and a meeting room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Borgo Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Antico Hotel Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing