We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mom & Pop hotel in Como Italy”
Review of Hotel Quarcino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Quarcino
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 days and enjoyed the hotel very much. It's well located and the people who run it are very helpful.

However, not all the staff speaks English very well and this can be a problem for some. (My wife speaks fluent Italian.) Also, there is a church right next door which rings its bells starting at 730 AM.

This is not a luxurious hotel. It's listed as 2 stars, but the quality of the rooms and the service were definitely more like 3 stars. Breakfast was standard for Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sssteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

Hotel Quarcino was ok accommodation.
We arrived during the evening and were warmly welcomed by a woman who spoke very good english. However during the day we really struggled to communicate with the staff and weren't able to get much help with advice for daily activities except to go to the Tourist information office where we recieved even less and more frustratingly incorrect advice on what to do and where to go.
The room was nice but the bathroom had quite a strong odour of mould!
A church is also located next door, or should I say the hotel is located directly next door to the church and the bell chimes extremely loudly at 7am so don't expect to beable to sleep in. Not even earplugs could dull the noise of the bell.
Breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Great little family run hotel. Only 13 rooms but perfectly placed for Como and the rest of the lake. Church bell next door ensures that you are awake at 7.30 to make the most of the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StainrodFFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I was delighted to find that the recommendations of Tripadvisor served me well on this occasion. Arriving late to Como in off season, I found a free hot spot in a centre square in the city and consulted with TA. TA suggested this place a position 6 with friendly service and this is what I found when calling to book (cheap offer I think) and more so when I arrived.

At the time the management did not know about TA, which surprises in this day as their service was as it was with out the inclination toward positive reports on TA... there was even a small Italian lesson.

I otherwise enjoyed my stay, and while the room was small by Aussie standards, it was all that I expected, clean and well serviced. There is fast internet in the reception and dining room, which did not extend well to my 3rd floor room, but no matter.....

The placement of the accomm has approach on a narrow street, but parking was made available also. The locale has a a row of restuarants and eateries on the lake for a great, albiet expensive dinner at the place I selected to gaze upon the late and the lights of the hillside.

Como otherwise appears a great place for romance or market shopping that occurs on the South side of the old city...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DejavuJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Nice hotel, not a wonderful view but quiet with good parking & pleasant friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddywatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Basic hotel but in an ideal location in the centre of Como. The hotel was clean with ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was not included but this was made clear at time of booking, breakfast was 5 euros ech day but chose not to have it as who wants to sit in a hotel when you are in such a wonderful location as Lake Como. This is a family run hotel, and the lady who worked in the evening gave excellent service and organised an early morning taxi for me.
The hotel is in need of modernisation but the price paid and excellent service and location was worth staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StezC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We have booked one 5 en suite room at the price of 130 euros. As you can understand it was very cheap for Como Lake. We had a huge veranda, next to the church. At 7.00 the bells were ringing...you have to be very tired not to listen!!!!
Nonetheless, the room was very big and very very clean!!!There is also parking area free and a garden to have your breakfast there if you want.
The hotel is 2 minutes far from the station Nord lago.You won t have problem to find it.\
I would definately recommend this hotel!!!!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
Thank lidaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#11 of 32 in Como
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
620 reviews
2 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#9 of 32 in Como
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quarcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quarcino

Address: Salita Quarcino 4, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Como
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quarcino 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned hotel in Como center with garden and Private Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Quarcino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarcino Hotel Como
Hotel Quarcino Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing