We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bell tolls”
Review of Hotel Quarcino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Quarcino
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Como
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The bell tolls”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Hotel was what you would expect from a small two star hotel. Staff were old, but friendly and old fashioned. Don't expect an elaborate computer print out of your bill, good old hand written receipt. Room was small with a single bed. Hotel was close enough to walk to the centre of town and any major attractions. Only issue I had was the church bells every half hour (7.30 - 19.30), lucky for me I was out of there after 7.30am, but the afternoons bells would disturb any quick nap you would like to take. Also no small fridge in the room, but this is normal is most European hotels.

Room Tip: Ear plugs, if you want to sleep in past 7.30am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChappyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    91
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
66
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We were very nicely received by the owners and staff who are all very friendly and accomodating. So to respect their good work, I will start with the bad things about this hotel and finish with the good things to leave you with a better impression.

So, what's wrong ?
- The church bells ... The hotel practically touches a church whose bells ring for a few minutes at 07h00, 08h00 and 08h15. Since it is so close, there is no way to sleep through them and the third time will have you stand up. Good to make your day longer, bad for late sleepers.
- The cold. Our room, the only one on the third floor had heating problems and we had some cold time, but the staff did its best to correct the problem, so it should not happen to you.
- Allergies. The hotel and the rooms are clean, no visible issue, but if you are allergic, take your drugs, it seems the carpet hasn't been seriously washed in a long time, so be prepared to sneeze.

And now for the goodies:
- The price. This hotel is definitely one of the cheapest in Como especially if you do fill the room, our room was meant for four bot with folding beds, can actually accomodate six ! this makes it kind of a price record in Como.
- The location. If you forget about the church and its bells, the hotel is very well placed, close to the center, the lake and lots of fine restaurants
- The value. For a two star, it is quite good overall, the breakfasts are not very imaginative, but they are good and large enough. The whole hotel is reasonably clean, there is a private parking which is quite the luxury in Como town.

So all in all I would recommend the hotel just as a good value for the money. But if you are in Como to enjoy a certain lifestyle and luxury, pay the price and get on of the posh four stars hotes, after all this is only a two star.

Thanks again to the owners and the staff who were really nice.

Room Tip: There is a quadruple room whis can actually accomdodate six ! since you pay for the room, imagine th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
330 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 days and enjoyed the hotel very much. It's well located and the people who run it are very helpful.

However, not all the staff speaks English very well and this can be a problem for some. (My wife speaks fluent Italian.) Also, there is a church right next door which rings its bells starting at 730 AM.

This is not a luxurious hotel. It's listed as 2 stars, but the quality of the rooms and the service were definitely more like 3 stars. Breakfast was standard for Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sssteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Hotel Quarcino was ok accommodation.
We arrived during the evening and were warmly welcomed by a woman who spoke very good english. However during the day we really struggled to communicate with the staff and weren't able to get much help with advice for daily activities except to go to the Tourist information office where we recieved even less and more frustratingly incorrect advice on what to do and where to go.
The room was nice but the bathroom had quite a strong odour of mould!
A church is also located next door, or should I say the hotel is located directly next door to the church and the bell chimes extremely loudly at 7am so don't expect to beable to sleep in. Not even earplugs could dull the noise of the bell.
Breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Great little family run hotel. Only 13 rooms but perfectly placed for Como and the rest of the lake. Church bell next door ensures that you are awake at 7.30 to make the most of the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StainrodFFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I was delighted to find that the recommendations of Tripadvisor served me well on this occasion. Arriving late to Como in off season, I found a free hot spot in a centre square in the city and consulted with TA. TA suggested this place a position 6 with friendly service and this is what I found when calling to book (cheap offer I think) and more so when I arrived.

At the time the management did not know about TA, which surprises in this day as their service was as it was with out the inclination toward positive reports on TA... there was even a small Italian lesson.

I otherwise enjoyed my stay, and while the room was small by Aussie standards, it was all that I expected, clean and well serviced. There is fast internet in the reception and dining room, which did not extend well to my 3rd floor room, but no matter.....

The placement of the accomm has approach on a narrow street, but parking was made available also. The locale has a a row of restuarants and eateries on the lake for a great, albiet expensive dinner at the place I selected to gaze upon the late and the lights of the hillside.

Como otherwise appears a great place for romance or market shopping that occurs on the South side of the old city...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DejavuJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth Garden City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Nice hotel, not a wonderful view but quiet with good parking & pleasant friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddywatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.8 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.3 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quarcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quarcino

Property: Hotel Quarcino
Address: Salita Quarcino 4, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quarcino 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned hotel in Como center with garden and Private Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Quarcino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarcino Hotel Como
Hotel Quarcino Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing