We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Quarcino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Quarcino
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Brilliant hotel - glad to know places like this still exist - family run but get it all right. Super great value, no complaints. Yes, the bells are loud and there's a bit of street noise but you'll probably get the same everywhere in Como (and that's why ear plugs are essential travel items).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    91
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
66
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

we chose the Quarcino because it was near a train station (yes), and wasn't too expensive. It's on the east side of town, near the secondary train station. It is better to catch a train that puts you into the other station, and then either walk across town, or take a cab. You'll have more choices that way, and fewer transfers coming up from Milano.

The hotel is a bit on the old side. The rooms are well kept and spacious. We booked a triple, and got a room with a queen bed, and a second bedroom with 3 twins. I think there was wifi in the lobby, but not in the rooms, but my memory could be faulty. There's breakfast in the morning (extra), and a supermarket just down the street, and a nice cafe/restaurant between the supermarket and the train station. There's several nice restaurants between the hotel and the lake; just explore the side streets going north. Of course, there are also many restaurants between the hotel and the other train station.

The Bells. Those Bells. The hotel is located next to a church. The bells start ringing at 7:30 (get up), again at 8:00 (get out the door), and at 8:15 (we're starting). This goes again in the evening. Our bathroom was on the side of the hotel facing the bell tower. The bells were quite loud, even with the windows closed. If you're trying to sleep in, well, good luck. I think we sort-of got used to them, and then it was time to go.

The couple that operate the hotel are very nice, and speak good English. I think that German is one of their other languages. If we get to Como again, and don't stay further up the lake, we'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the bell tower. There is a coin-op laundromat within a block of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audiogeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my fiance on a road trip round this part of Europe. I was only able to book a triple room online, but was told on arrival I should have called as they had doubles free, so worth a call even if showing as booked & one of the four staff I encountered spoke good English. The (triple) room itself was large and spotlessly clean, you could call it minimalist but I think a little impersonal and plain on the decor side. There was a nice enough bathroom, although the towels were that peculiarly budget hotel thin variety. WiFi good and reliable. Room had wall-mount aircon unit, also nice traditional window shutters. We were a little late arriving, getting there around 19:30, once we had arrived the carpark was locked immediately, 8 foot gates, so nice and secure. It is only a minutes walk to the lake shore, so location is very convenient, near to the cable car as well. 5 euro continental breakfast was a bargain when you consider that a 50cl beer costs north of 6 euro locally. Other guests making a fair bit of (drunk Italian) noise at around 1am disturbed my sleep a bit, although not the hotel's fault. There is nothing to wow you as such, but would certainly recommend as a well located, clean & decent place to stop on a budget. Como North exit from the motorway better than the Como south exit indicated on the directions if coming from Swiss border by road, but blink and you'll miss it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Highly recommend this charming hotel, in a perfect location near the lake, close to Funicolare, ferries, and centro storico - great value for Como. Don't be put off by negative comments about the bells.........yes, they do chime at around 7.30 - 8 am, but this is common in towns and villages all over Italy and if there is a church clock too, sometimes every half hour and all through the night, speaking from experience!!! More of an issue was noise from guests above as the floors are tiled. Our large air conditioned room was spotless with a new shower room, cleaned and towels changed everyday.
The pleasant elderly owners speak very little English but try hard and other members of staff do - everyone was friendly and helpful. Good breakfast selection of bread, croissants, cakes, cereals, yoghurts, juices and huge fresh fruit platter.
We would definitely stay here again..

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor overlooking the car park - quieter and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The couple who run the hotel were so friendly and homely. The room was simple and decorated in an Italian cottage style. All very clean and most of the staff spoke English. Typical Italian breakfast. The church bells have to be mentioned, they made the stay for us but if you like to sleep late maybe they would be a problem. Delightful place, value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked the day before as we only wanted one night. We were shown to a large and clean room. Staff were polite and accommodating - spoke English, didn't see anyone particularly 'old' (see earlier review). Breakfast was adequate. Can't fault the hotel - it is what it is, and I've certainly stayed at worse hotels with higher ratings. It's well-located for visitors and the free parking was a bonus. Yes, the bells can be an issue if you are a late riser, but we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Hotel is clean, quite newly renovated. Owners are old and speak very little eng. Their hospitality is just exceptional. We stayed here for 6 nights and, of curse, had quite problem with the bells every morning. When you get use to it this is fairly nice place to stay in Como. Rooms are nice, city center and all turist locations close. For the price you pay this is fair offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.8 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#11 of 32 in Como
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#12 of 32 in Como
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.3 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quarcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quarcino

Property: Hotel Quarcino
Address: Salita Quarcino 4, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quarcino 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned hotel in Como center with garden and Private Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Quarcino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarcino Hotel Como
Hotel Quarcino Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing