We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice”
Review of Hotel Marco's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marco's
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Como
usa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best choice”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is perfectly located - the piazza by the lakefront is really only a few minutes of walking. The base station for the little train that goes to the top of the mountain is less than a 1 minute walk from the hotel. The views are spectacular and the restaurant options close to the hotel are GREAT. The staff were very helpful and I had no issues during my stay there. Highly recommended and I will also strive to return to this same hotel and "my" same room next time I visit here! The Linate airport is about 1 hour and 10 minutes away. Very easy to reach this spot and they have reserved parking spots behind the hotel for hotel guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view - it is incredibly beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usintheusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    92
    43
    11
    5
See reviews for
45
112
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just returned from a short trip to a water and pump exhibition in Milan and enjoyed three lovely evenings at the Hotel Marcos on the edge of Lake Como. This is a small family run hotel, the staff were extremely friendly and hard working. English is spoken. Rooms are basic however more than adequate.

Our room had a fantastic view of the Lake with a balcony which looked magical at night with its twinkling lights.

A good continental buffet breakfast is served not just cakes, bread and jam.

The hotel also boasts an excellent restaurant where they offer 5% discount for guests and 10% discount off a sister restaurant. They have a wood burning pizza oven which unfortunately we did not try as we made the mistake of having a pizza elsewhere. They make their own bread and focaccia which was excellent and each morning we were awoken by the glorious aroma of freshly made bread.

Views from the restaurant overlook Lake Como which we are certain would be highly sort after during the summer months.

There is limited free parking for guests which was no problem for us as it was mid week.

Not suitable for disabled as there is no lift.

The hotel is easy to find just head for the funicular, in fact the restaurant is called The Funicular.

We would certainly recommend this hotel and will be going back in the near future.

Room Tip: if possible ask for a room with views of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rojodall103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic night here. Highly recommend for the location and great view of the lake. Clean rooms with nice bathroom. Simple breakfast but with a view of the lake. Hard to beat especially with discounted off season rate.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for two night after booking direct with hotel on recommendation of a friend. Fantastic location with very genuine friendly staff. Breakfast included which was ok...coffee delightful. Room small but a to die for view. Very clean. Recommended if you are staying for say up to 3 nights and using Como as base. The view over the lake from 210 is fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 210. Balcony with fantastic lake views. Its on second floor. No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob6282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just got home from Italy and we stayed at the Hotel Marco while in Lake Como on September 28-29. It was wonderful the staff was so helpful and kind. The breakfast each morning was delicious. The hotel is right by the water so the view we had was amazing.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Lake Como.

Room Tip: no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Overnight stop only, but if em had been here longer the room would have been too small. But comfortable bed, good restaurant and very clean. Great staff, all the ones we met couldn't have been more helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Marco's on the last night of our holiday. Lake Como is a lovely area and the Hotel overlooks the Lake. We had two rooms with a lake view and a small balcony. The rooms were quite small but perfectly adequate and had a large bathroom with good shower. The room had air conditioning. The staff were good and even took our cases to our rooms. They recommended lots of places to visit and the area is surrounded with bars and restaurants. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food and value was excellent. Como town is also wonderful with a good range of shops, bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this Hotel. The only downside if you have a car is that the parking is very limited and is on first come, first served basis. We parked down the street in a metered area but it was not expensive. We had to leave in the morning before breakfast was served but they did offer us coffee and a brioche. Breakfast is served on the terrace over looking the lake which is stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 655Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quarcino
Hotel Quarcino
#16 of 32 in Como
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#14 of 32 in Como
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Re
Hotel Tre Re
#22 of 32 in Como
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Meuble
Park Hotel Meuble
#9 of 32 in Como
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco's

Property: Hotel Marco's
Address: Via Coloniola, 43, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco's 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marco's is a likeable and neat hotel managed by the Gungor family, situated directly – in the meaning of “really directly” – at Lake Como and next to the funicular to Brunate.Enjoy the panorama of Lake Como and major parts of the city of Como, especially from the newly built, beautiful breakfast terrace or the restaurant’s winter garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marco's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcos Hotel Como
Hotel Marco's Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing