We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Como”
Review of Hotel Plinius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Plinius
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Melilla
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“In the heart of Como”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

It is a medium sized hotel in the very centre of Como and a walk from the shopping area and cafes of Piaza Garibaldi. The double room is comfortable for two and wifi works with a password that you have to introduce each time you get into the hotel. Scarce breakfast buffet,terrible coffe(ask for one out of the buffet to the waitress,they give it to you for free)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    85
    60
    11
    6
See reviews for
29
93
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The good things first: the hotel is located centrally in Como the receptionists were very friendly, the place was clean and the wireless LAN worked ok. I was on a business trip and traveling alone. I got into a tiny, narrow room, which was stuffy and hot. With the windows open, there was much noise from a club nearby until after midnight. The next morning the sound of motorcycles in the narrow alley made sure I didn't oversleep. With the windows closed the air inside became stuffy and they didn't protect from the noise anyhow. Breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI1995, Proprietario at Hotel Plinius, responded to this review, 31 March 2015
Hi Marcel M,
thank you very much for your review. The hotel needed to be renovated and we did it! In Winter 2014-2015 we changed doors and windows, blankets and mattresses. We painted the walls, updated hydraulic and electrical system, improved the lighting and built a new floor, that has new modern and beautiful executive rooms!
I hope you can come to Como again to see the results of our work; in the while I suggest you to visit our Facebook page “Hotel Plinius”, where it is possible to read news and special offers.
Best regards
Umberto Butti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

You've got your choice - you can have the windows open to try to catch some breeze, because the air conditioning doesn't work, or you can close the windows to shut out some of the loud music coming from some club. Of course, then you can't sleep either, because it's so hot in the room.
Only bright spot of this hotel was Gay, the desk clerk. She was very pleasant and helpful. Other desk clerks were not as good,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatriarchInTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
278 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This place is close to harbor so if coming in by Ferry, its not very far to walk. Only a few blocks to train station also. Air conditioning doesn't work and two out of three clerks were not helpful with how to get it going, or how to find English TV stations. There's a club down the street and it plays loud, heavy on the bass, music into late night. Stairway smells. Room is showing age. Bathroom clean. Breakfast typical Europe fare. Gay, desk clerk, is only helpful one in two days stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing front of hotel, to decrease noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Booked last minute whilst on a cycle holiday as the campsite was out of town and we fancied getting a flavour of Como.
The room and en suite were clean and the staff helpful. We were able to store our bikes in the underground garage.
Unfortunately although we got to enjoy a night out in Como I probably would have slept better in the tent. I assumed the air con just wasn't working and had an unsettled night due to street noise with the windows open to cool the room down. In the morning I learned that the air con is switched off overnight which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the street if possible due to noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night in Plinus. The hotel is in a great location, 5 min walk to train station, 3 min to the lake, 3 min to the city centre. The front desk was very helpful and nice. The room was basic, clean and had everything we need. It's a great deal when you compare the money you pay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great clean room in this Hotel that is located in the center of the town. Would have been very good if it hasn't been for the noise from the bars nearby. Make sure that you get at room the lies in the right direction.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank merete k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.2 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plinius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plinius

Property: Hotel Plinius
Address: Via Garibaldi, 33, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plinius 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plinius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plinius Hotel Como
Hotel Plinius Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing