We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice room, great service”
Review of Borgovico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgovico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have visited the hotel Borgovico twice with my family (me, my wife and two kids of 3 and 5 year old) for a one night stay for each visit. The location is perfect: very close to the city center, but very easily reachable from the highway, both coming from the south and from the north. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, with a big bathroom and plenty of space to accommodate an additional bed for my son. The service was excellent: a lot of info before our arrival on how to get there, the people at the front office always very available to provide with info on the city center and on the best restaurants we could visit with the kids. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Just explain all your needs to the concierge, they took very good care of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svcalleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your good review.
The staff is very happy to read your compliments. We hope to have you again as our guest, kindly regards
Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We came here on a two day package (arranged by the hotel) which seemed terrific value for money. Two nights with 2 breakfasts (very good) and 1 evening dinner and a bottle of sparkling wine in the room on arrival.
The hotel was very nice and clean. Room was quite small but the bathroom was big with lovely large fluffy towels and a great shower (spoiled only by a slight drainage smell). The staff were helpful and friendly.
However there were some niggles..
If you come by car and you don't want to pay a fortune on parking meters, book one of the two hotel parking places. We didn't but parking is a nightmare in Como and it could have spoiled our stay. Later on our arrival day we were lucky the receptionist was able to find us a free place. We didn't use the car after that!
Second niggle was the bottle of wine. There wasn't one until we asked about it on day 2. It was there when we came back after sightseeing, but it was hardly a BOTTLE of wine. In fact it was 200 ml. Oh well, we had a small glass each, not a problem but a bit misleading nevertheless. Third niggle was the dinner. This, we were told, was not at the hotel but in a restaurant up the road. We knew that drinks were not included. The menu given to us at the hotel had a choice of three starters and three main courses so we assumed (as did another couple from the hotel who were on the same package) that we could choose one starter and one main course from this menu. Not so. Dinner was only either a starter or a main course. Hardly dinner and because the meal was not at the hotel, a service charge (coperta) was also charged so we ended up paying over 26 euros extra, The hotel must make this clear to avoid people feeling they have been misled.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014
Google Translation

ich danke Ihnen sehr für Ihre schöne Rezension, wir sind sehr glücklich, es zu lesen.
Wir entschuldigen uns für die Probleme, mit dem Restaurant, die nicht in unserer Kompetenz ist.
Wir garantieren, dass alle unsere Kunden immer glücklich gewesen zu essen in der Trattoria In Borgovico
Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is near the Garibaldi station, not the Terminale. It is on a street that looks like a one way alley, but it is beautiful inside. Room was spacious and well appointed. Bathroom huge for Europe. Breakfast excellent and included. Staff very helpful, though the room was not ready when I arrived.

Room Tip: Ask for the back. Street is very busy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you very much for your good review.
We are sorry for your waiting but our check in time it's normally after 14:00 because we are a small Hotel, our check out it's until 11:00, so we need some time to prepare the room.
If you come again in Como you can say us your time arrival and we will try to prepare your room as soon as possibile.
Best regards

Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spent one night here before going further up the lake for a week home rental. It is charming, comfortable, and very clean. Staff was very helpful about eating and seeing Como. Breakfast was very good with a nice variety. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you very much from all the statt for your good review, we hope that you will stay here again.
Best regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Lovely renovated building with delightful rooms, nice courtyard and really helpful staff. Conveniently close to the station but a little walk from the medieval centre and waterfront, its a great gateway to an Italian lakes getaway

Room Tip: Ask to be on the other side of the courtyard from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you very much for your good review, we hope to see you again in our Hotel.
Best regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Borgovico earlier this month for 5 nights while we attended the Italian Grand Prix at Monza. The hotel is ideally located for the San Giovanni station in Como; no more than 5 minute walk. The rail line to Milan goes through Como and Monza. For those interested in accessing the Grand Prix this way, I would recommend this hotel. The room was simple but comfortable. Breakfast was typically continental. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a decent restaurant next door. Free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: We stayed in the outbuilding which was more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnewman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you very much for your good review.
We hope to see you again the next year, best regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Borgovico Hotel for one night in Como.

I found the booking system on their website quite confusing. After entering all my details (including credit card details), I did not receive any confirmation of the booking. After a few days, I emailed the hotel directly to follow up and they advised that my booking was not confirmed as they required my credit card details. I was hesitant to provide my credit card details again via email, however I ended up providing again for the booking.

The hotel is just down the road from the train station and you are able to hear the train as it goes past. So if you close the windows, you can hear it. It's about a 15 min walk to the ferry terminal and the town square.

Our room was clean, but a little hard to get to from the elevator with our suitcases. The staff were nice enough to let us leave our suitcases at the hotel before and after checking in and out while we were out and about.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaGale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

We are sorry for the problem with the online reception, however we find it works very simple, everything is explained in detail
Probably your system has put thei e-mail of our website in the spam folder.
Thanks for your opinion, if you come back to como you can contact us directly

Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Como hotels
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.5 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#11 of 32 in Como
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgovico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgovico Hotel

Address: Via Borgo Vico 91, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgovico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Borgovico is situated in Via Como 91 Como stone's throw from the historic center and near to the train station. Our reality is born after a careful renovation that has allowed us to achieve 13 rooms, some with exposed beams and stone walls. All equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, Sky TV and internet wi fi connection. The Hotel offers a warm and welcoming atmosphere of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Borgovico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgovico Hotel Como, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing