We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lecco
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived at the hotel for a 7 night stay and were pleasantly greeted. However we were not told about the welcome drink on offer in the bar area. We had been given what was considered to be one of the best rooms with a great view (512). We could not argue with this however my wife suffers from an allergy to Smoke, Perfume, Animal Hair and Mould/mustiness. As soon as we got out of the lift to our 5th floor room, the corridors smelled of mustiness. As soon as we got into our room which was well appointed and large with wonderful views over the Lake, my wife started to sneeze and consequently developed severe hayfever for which we had to obtain medication from a pharmacy.

We asked for the room to be sprayed with something and this was done morning and night. In the end we bought some room deodoriser ourselves which helped. Staff at reception were happy to offer the room deodoriser (strange that they keep it on hand) but not a change of room, probably because the hotel was very busy because it was the weekend of the Grand Prix at Monza. I must say, we did not insist on a room change either as we hoped the situation would improve and felt that all rooms were probably the same in view of the smell of the hallway carpet.

We asked if the 3 big windows in the room could be opened but they could not, only the door to the balcony. We felt that if fresh air could be let in, then the smell of the room might improve.

Our room only had a spa bath with a low hand held shower. While this may have seemed a bonus to start with, it actually was inconvenient when one wanted a quick shower. The other downside of this room was that the breakfast/restaurant/conference room was above us and one night we had to complain about the movement of furniture and scraping of chairs at 11 p.m. at night. This happened most nights and we were woken in the mornings with the same things happening.

The internet connection from the room is extremely poor; the staff in all areas need to improve their friendliness (except for the young man who came to spray the room on two occasions) and they need to learn how to smile.

We found the breakfasts to be the same every morning with the only variety in the change of fresh fruit. The toaster didn't work even after 4 attempts to get brown toast. When this was pointed out to a staff member she just raised her shoulders. The pastries were the same each morning but quite nice however the cakes were quite dry and we felt there could have been a change with them each day.

We ate twice at the restaurant for dinner. The meals were nice but very small and expensive for what you got.

This hotel is at Malgrate however the view over the Lake towards Lecco (20 min walk away) is spectacular and we would have no hesitation in recommending Malgrate as a destination as opposed to the more touristy spots of Bellagio and Verenna. Both of these places were easily accessible from Malgrate both by bus and ferry and for bike enthusiasts, the Moto Guzzi Factory was only two train stops away from Lecco. The train station is in Lecco only.

Please note that this review is based on our personal experience. For those who do not suffer with any allergies, you may wish to give this hotel and this part of Italy a try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burglar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    214
    60
    16
    5
See reviews for
90
259
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A friend who knows the Lake Como area recommended this hotel and we were so glad we listened!
First the location and views of Lecco were amazing. We had a very large and comfortable room with 2 bathrooms and a large balcony. The room was clean and well appointed and the beds were comfortable. We were 3 generations of women and all of us were happy.

Breakfast was unbelievable. The room was elegant and the choices were well beyond expectations. I am pretty picky and this was a find!

The price was very reasonable by any standards. The location was ideal for exploring the entire lake area. Driving around the lake was easy and there are many towns to enjoy that are not as touristy as Bellagio or Como.
Lecco was one of the best as was Varrena which was where we took a ferry to Bellagio.

Room Tip: Of course try for a high floor and lake view, worth it! We were in 311 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was my second stay with friends at the hotel and have found on each occasion staff there to be polite and greet you in a friendly manner. Rooms are clean and to a high standard. Our room had a balcony with a fantastic view of the lake. Breakfast staff in particular were attentive and on most days found us a lovely table, affording a beautiful view by the window of the lake. Tables were prettily decorated with flowers in the centre and breakfast was neatly laid out with a lovely selection of items to choose from in the dining area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angcalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Maybe a little premature to be submitting a review as I am currently sat on the balcony at Clarion Griso enjoying a drink and the nighttime view of Lecco. Not yet checked out and don't want to really.
Hotel isn't in Lecco, only the other side of the bridge but in a quieter village of Malgrate only about 10-15 mins walk to Lecco. Views even from the 2nd floor are amazing, the rooms are clean and well appointed and even though we have a small balcony compared to others it is a wonderful outside vantage point day or night.
All the staff have been friendly and helpful especially with my woeful lack of Italian and there are some lovely bars and restaurants just 200m on this side of the river with a wonderful refurbished riverside to enjoy of you don't want to go in to Lecco.
€15 taxi from the train station standard fare but only 20 mins walk if you have less baggage. Lecco has more amenities plus boat/train connections to Milan or other villages along the lakes, but as a base I cannot recommend this hotel more. Granted you may wish for a pool/ spa/ faster wifi but what did you come to Lake Como for in the first place? For me not wifi! And if you are looking for a 'pool' look out the window! That's the biggest one you're going to get!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eclaires123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Staff in reception very limited English spoken, which I know is not a crime, but not very helpful. Also be careful what your hotel info says you have paid for because once you arrive and produce it,they will have an excuse for not giving you what you thought you were getting!! Complimentary water is a MYTH!. Scenery beautiful, view from balcony to die for but overall the staff and the swapping of our room was a huge letdown.Also need to remortgage your home to eat in the restaurant!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8Nilsatis1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

By all accounts this hotel on a very basic level offers everything. The rooms are very clean and tidy; fresh linen and laundry daily. Air-con, which was not in the previous hotel during our tour so was duly noted. Amazing views across the lake; each room has a balcony, which adds to the pleasure etc. I stayed for two nights and though there was a games room don't beleive their is a gym or pool, so worth checking if this is important to you.
On arrival the staff are a little austere; the rooms smelled a little damped, but I rectified this by warming up the air con!
I wanted somewhere to just go and sit and chill out after travelling for hours; a welcoming lounge to have a coffee etc. Hence, I wandered upstairs to the restaurant, which appears to be closed during the day and I was left feeling I had interrupted some kind of staff meeting!?
There is a bar area near the resception desk his is only staffed at certain times of the day and has the feel of a waiting room. Did find one friendly waiter, who was lovely and helpful on evening one but then the staff changed and the feeling was austere again. The balcony is lovely with views across the lake, so if you can get a drink from a friendly waiter then it can be pleasant.

The hotel is situated on an extremely busy road, which you rish pulling onto if driving. Parking can also be very difficult especially as the hotel also serves as a conference venue and as a result feels more functional and businesslike, offering brief stop-overs rather than a warm welcoming place you'd want to stay for say a week!

Didn't eat breakfast, I very rarely do but it looked good. I grabbed my usual coffee and fruit.

However, I have to say that the restaurant food is very good. We ate a 3 course meal for E35,00 a head, which isn't too bad considering we'd paid almost double that for a beef stew in Switzerland!

While the hotel is Travel Lodge functional in style, the restuarant is a real fine dining experience with amazing views and excellent food. Wine by the glass isn't overly expensive but then that can be, granted, a matter of opinion. If you are happy to pay say E50,00 per head for a three course dinner, water and a glass of wine (not a bottle) then this is a good place to eat.

Dessert is extra at about E5,00 each.

But while there is lovely views, there are no gardens only a busy road, so if you're looking for romance and a stroll then this isn't probably the best play to go; nor if you want spa and luxury.

On the downside, a trip by taxi into town (we were tired) but you can walk it in about 20 minutes, cost a staggering E17,00 to travel about 1.5 miles! Felt totally ripped off and taken advantage of as tourists!

The town has some good shops and some amazing history and lovely sites. But after dark, we for the first time during our tour of Europe (Germany, Italy, Switzerland and France) felt intimated by a number of people when we wandered off into the less explored areas. We are quite well travelled as people; do business abroad often etc... so haven't had this feeling in a long time!

However, the experience made us make a hasty retreat back to the hotel. Felt flustered at not wanting to pay for another taxi driver to take us back so walked... which was refreshing but a little marred by a little hostility.

Not sure what crime is like in this area... or whether some people don't like tourists (perhaps we look obvious)... but as a normally relaxed and chilled out person it felt strange!



Didn't bother with breakfast

Room Tip: I don' tthink there was a fitness centre or pool?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you are planning to go to Lake Como, stay here. It'll save you so much money since hotels at Bellagio and Como tend to be ridiculous. The balcony (ask for 4th floor or higher) was large with just amazing view. The staff was very nice. The room was okay (3.5 star quality (US standard)) but for the price I paid, it was not bad. Bed was comfortable. TV could have used more English channels, but at least it had 3 or 4. Breakfast was fine. It was a 20 min walk to Lecco train station where you can easily go to Varenna or Milan.

Room Tip: ask for a room on 4th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lecco
0.6 mi away
NH Lecco Pontevecchio
0.7 mi away
HLL Hotel LungoLago Lecco
0.5 mi away
Alberi Hotel
Alberi Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lecco
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Don Abbondio
Hotel Don Abbondio
#5 of 9 in Lecco
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#1 of 1 in Valmadrera
207 reviews
11.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
Address: Via Provinciale 51, 23864 Lecco, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Lecco > Lecco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lecco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griso Hotel Lecco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing