We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with old world charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Abbondio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Don Abbondio
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lecco
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel with old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival found the owner exceptionally pleasant & accommodating. He assisted with carrying heavy luggage up the stairs. He explained how everything worked. Had a lovely little terrace over looking the river with beautiful trees & mountain views. Although the hotel was older style it had a charm which I wanted in my stay in Italy. We had dinner @ local pizzeria which had nice food. Breakfast simple but very adequate & wife very friendly and accommodating. Both hosts extremely helpful in every way. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tatdantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    63
    19
    5
    10
See reviews for
25
45
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend, on my first night in Italy. We were greeted by the lovely lady at the front desk, who explained all the normal bits and took us around the ground floor. We then went to our room and to our surprise, found that we had a large balcony, overlooking the lake/river and a mountain on the opposite side. Needless to say, it had a very calming effect.

During the night I went downstairs for a drink and found a friendly gentleman at the coffee machine. Now my Italian is very poor and his English only a little better, but with his enthusiastic approach and both of our persistence, we managed to have a nice conversation.

In the morning we went down to the breakfast room and was very pleased to find fresh warm croissants as well as packaged croissants, bread, jams, three different cereals and yoghurt, as well as juice, milk and water.

We now live quite close and even after we had checked out, I went back to ask for help and some items for cooking and was given all of this with pleasure.

All in all this was a very good experience and anyone staying here, will have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjames84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in may . The owners were very helpful and spoke very good english which made our lives easier. We were in room 2 . this is on the front of the hotel with a partial view of the lake. The balcony was nearly as big as the room. The room was very clean and comfortable . Breakfast was a buffet and included cereals, pastries, meats and cheese. drinks were freshly made tea & coffee. overall a lovely stay and just around the corner from a chocolate factory with an outlet store.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stef2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Our room had a very nice view. The large terrace with plants was very nice, it had a nice view of the beginning of the lake Como. Service was very good and friendly! Nice walk to the old center on Lecco. There is possible to take boat trip on lake Como.

Room Tip: Room with balcony are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aili E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The hotel is situated on the banks of the lake Como. It is on a perfectly scenic spot, beautifully surrounded by snow clad mountains with the serene water body right next to it.
Quite far from the City Centre, close to the supermarket, has a restaurant right next door but is a bit expensive. The hotel offers morning breakfast (all forms of bread, no eggs and juice-which I did not like). The rooms are very pretty and well serviced. 30-40Euros per night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor towards the south of the hotel have a very nice view of the lake from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adarsha_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel as we liked it so much. It is about a 15 minutes walk from the centre or you can take the No.1 Bus from the station which takes just a few minutes and they run every 15 minutes. The hotel is situated in a small Piazza which looks on to the lake and there is a lovely restaurant and bar next door, The rooms are clean and lovely and the bathroom is quite large for an italian hotel. The breakfast is adequate and the receptionist is really friendly and speaks good English even though I can speak italian she always speaks to us in English. The reception closes at 11.30 pm but on your key fob you get an electric key which opens the back door so you can come and go as you wish. There are lots of lovely restaurants nearby and we particularly like the indian resutarant Masala which is a few minutes walk away. We like Lecco as it is not touristy like Como, Varenna etc but it has a wide range of restaurants and bars together with a good selection of shops in the centre and also a large shopping centre about a 15 minute walk. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuttsy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Good:
• It is a nice, clean and quiet hotel situated 15 minutes away by walking from the beautiful town center.
• The staff is friendly.
Bad:
• The nearest parking place is at about 100 meters away from the hotel entrance.
• We were promised a little terrace and a lake view but we had received a tiny balcony (only one person would fit there) and no lake view.
• The breakfast is very poor and the food is insufficient for all the guests.
• The receptionists didn’t speak English very well so we had a hard time trying to understand each other.
• You had to be in the hotel till 12 p.m, otherwise you might sleep on the rug, beneath the sky

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lecco
0.4 mi away
NH Lecco Pontevecchio
1.2 mi away
HLL Hotel LungoLago Lecco
0.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alberi Hotel
Alberi Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lecco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Promessi Sposi Da Giovannino
1.5 mi away
Hotel Parco Belvedere
Hotel Parco Belvedere
#1 of 1 in Pescate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Abbondio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Abbondio

Property: Hotel Don Abbondio
Address: Piazza Era 10, 23900 Lecco, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Lecco > Lecco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lecco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Abbondio 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Don Abbondio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing