We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed emotions...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Torretta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Torretta
Ranked #2 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

The villa is beautiful and very private. I loved our spacious room, the antique furnishings, and the view of the water. There is no air conditioning which is typically fine with me because there was a nice breeze off the lake but this required leaving the doors open all night. Despite my poor sweltering husband's request, I couldn't bring myself to leave doors sans screens open because of the bugs (a little phobic). Did I mention we were there in August? The lack of Internet was frustrating especially since I typically use my iPhone for restaurant info, etc., but we found a cafe with free wireless. Breakfast was mediocre but do go there for dinner, her ravioli is top notch. Great location overall due to access to ferry, restaurants, etc. A good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    29
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
97
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We spent three nights at the Villa Toretta. The first two days were fine. The third day was cold and rainy. We returned from a trip down lake cold and wet. The room was cold and we tried to turn on the heat. There was no heat. We inquired at the front desk and were told that the heat is not turned on until October 15th. Shortly afterwards, we received a phone call informing that the heat could be turned on for a few minutes. It was and it made a huge difference.

That said, the location (adjacent to the Hotel Olivedo) is superb as are the views. The room was large, the bed comfortable. The owner works very hard to please. It may be a cultural thing but she needs to understand that travelers appreciate warmth when the room is cold no matter what time of year it is.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bondBendOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Great location with wonderful views of the lake with balcony. This villa is an annex to the hotel Olivedo next door no elevator or wifi in the villa but great wifi at the hotel where you take your included breakfast. Enjoyed our stay !! Thank you Laura!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at Villa Torretta for two nights and had a very nice room with high ceilings and windows overlooking the lake. The only fault with this stay was the free breakfast was a tad skimpy in selection, bread, croissant, cheese, juice, crap cereal, yogurt, coffee, filled us though. The breakfast was served on their outdoor patio, one problem, the weather had turned. We woke to rain and wind, made for an interesting breakfast!

There is no internet available and the WiFi service in the town is awful.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnabytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Villa Torretta is a beautiful Art Nouveau villa on the edge of Lake Como a stone’s throw to the ferry dock. We were on the main floor of the house and felt it belonged to us exclusively as we never saw another guest use the common areas while we were there. Our room was large and had a window at the front and rear of the building and was decorated with beautiful antiques… however, the bed was awful, like sleeping on a cardboard box. It was the hardest mattress; I checked to see if someone had placed a piece of Masonite under the sheets. Not only was it uncomfortable, the frame wasn’t very steady. When my husband rolled over in the night the bed shook so hard I awoke with a start thinking there was an earthquake. For the second night I removed the sheets and layered all the extra blankets under the sheets to cushion the mattress. For the 200 euros a night they are charging for the room, I think they could afford a better mattress.

At the water’s edge beside the ferry dock is a walkway into town along the cliff; it is well light at night and an easy walk into town and avoids the traffic of the road. If you want Internet while visiting Varenna there is no Wi-Fi in the hotel, but one of the bars in town offers free Wi-Fi to customers so take your tablet with you and enjoy a grappa after dinner.

Now getting there can be an issue if you are relying on GPS. Ours got us into town but was confused with the address. Ignore it and follow the signs into town all the way to the end to the ferry dock. If you are lucky you can find free parking within the white lines near the hotel, if you cannot find a free space the parking garage at the entrance of the town is available but it is expensive. It cost us 40 euros for two nights.

If you are staying in Varenna for a couple of days take the ferry to Bellagio for the day and if you are interested in visiting the Villa Serbelloni garden be aware that there are only guided tours, with a maximum of 20 people, twice a day at 11:00 and 3:00. This was not mentioned in our tour book and when we finally located the meeting place we missed the group. If you miss that garden, don’t despair, the Villa Melzi Garden and property along the lakeside is very lovely to see, it is open all day and there isn’t a waiting list. Many of the trees are labeled and the garden itself is serene and picturesque with ponds, sculptures and many walkways through the hillside so you can daydream about planting one of them in your own garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We have NO complaints about our stay. It is a quaint room with a fantastic view. Laura was most helpful. I emailed several times before our trip and was answered within hours. The breakfast here was the best in our whole 10 day stay in Italy. You can't go wrong staying here!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

John says---We walked away from room 4 at Villa Toretta forfiting 160 euros.
Daniela says--Room was dusty, dingy, full of cobwebs, uncomfortably warm, dark. Opening windows invited biting bugs.
John says--Total watage of all bulbs may have been about 100.
I emailed management 6 times over 6 months from January to August with questions important to us, I got one reply in late in Auigust. The norm for accommodaton in Varenna is very high. This room does not meet minimal expectations..

Room Tip: Avoid room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Torretta

Property: Villa Torretta
Address: Via Largo Enzo Venini, 6, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little lovely villa, 19th-century, on the edge of lake. All 3 rooms en-suite with great lake view and balcony. Lovely little garden with table and chairs to enjoy the view of the lake.Laura and Mamma are there to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Torretta Hotel Varenna
Villa Torretta Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing