We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bellavista” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Torretta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Torretta
Ranked #2 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kruft
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bellavista”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have spent our holidays for almost 10 years now at Laura´s Villa Torretta. We always book the combination of two double rooms with dinner. The Villa consists only of 5 rooms, therefore it feels exactly like home. The bathrooms are very luxurious.
The dinner room in nearby Hotel Olivedo is furnished in Art nouveau. In summertime from april to october when the weather is nice you can spend the breakfast and the dinner outside at the waterfront of como lake. Dinner at Laura´s restaurant is always extraordinary!
The location of Villa Torretta is breathtaking and Laura is extremely friendly and helpful.
To sum up, spending holidays at Villa Toretta is something that you will never forget and never regret.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    29
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
97
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We could not ask for a more pleasing revisit to Lake Como. Our five days at Villa Torretta were beyond our expectations.

Our front room (#5) faced the lake and we were entranced looking out to the promenade, the ferries coming and going, and the lovely changing colors of the water views. I am a very light sleeper but my rest was not disturbed by any dock activity as the window shutters worked well for sound muffling at night.

Especially enjoyable: The large room size, comfortable bed, nicely updated bathroom, cleanliness, enough closet and drawer space, antique decor, places to sit and relax both inside and out, and flower-bedecked lakeside terrace. (Don't be put off by the charmless lower level entry. The pretty villa is just up the stairs).

Best of all: The attentive service of the staff and Laura who with calm and competence goes about accommodating her guests at Villa Torretta and at the Hotel Olivedo. She is kind and will help you with any assistance you need. We fondly recall how each time we saw her, she would cheerfully greet us by name - pronounced in Italian.

Mornings started with a buffet breakfast (generous offerings of coffee, pastries, cereal and fruit) at the Olivedo Restaurant next door. It was convenient, reasonable and fine for dinner twice - although the menu selection is short. There are many restaurants only a stroll away along the lake - or (if you care to walk up cobblestoned steep passageways), there are even more good choices. Very cozy Il Cavatappi is well worth considering.

Staying in this quaint town allowed us to readily crisscross the lake and again visit other locations, but there is a lot to see and do without leaving Varenna: scenic hikes, gardened villas, hilltop castle, falconry, shopping, finding great gelato, cookery lessons - even a beautifully impressive cemetery. It was delightful to stay here where we could step out just on foot to reach many nearby destinations. Start out on an evening's amble along the lamplit (or moonlit) promenade and who knows where your fancy will take you....

We would go back there and stay at Villa Torretta because of the quality of the lodging and for the hospitality Laura offers, unobtrusive and sincere. We hugged her good-bye hoping to see her again.

Elaine and Joe Marone

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank homeoncape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

In late September we did a 2-week road trip in Switzerland which ended in Northern Italy on our way back to Geneva. Happenstance led us to Varenna and Villa Toretta. We had stayed at Hotel Olivedo 8 years ago on one of our first trips to Italy & we loved it. This stop in Varenna was not planned, but when we arrived, we remembered how much we loved the area & decided we wanted to spend one of our last nights there. We remembered Laura from our previous stay & although we had no reservations, she immediately ushered us into a beautiful room in Villa Toretta overlooking the lake. We felt like royalty in this exquisite setting & the price was very reasonable. We enjoyed dinner at Hotel Oliveda with Laura and her friendly staff. It seems like Laura never sleeps. She is there in the morning and still helping guests in the late evening. She was actually born in the Hotel. We would highly recommend this charming Villa. The location is perfect for a walk down the picturesque promenade and a ferry trip on the Lake. We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2scubacozumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Four of us (2 couples) stayed three nights in Varenna at Villa Torretta. We selected Varenna on Lake Como as our "home base" on the advice of Rick Steves and we had to agree that this was a great choice. We loved the town, its sights, and its restaurants.
Villa Torretta has lots of old world charm. Our room (5) on the first floor was comfortable and although the bathroom was not large and rather chilly, it was fine. I got a chuckle out of the large wardrobe, the rods of which were so high that I had to use the provided hook on an extension pole to hang and retrieve my clothes. Actually, I became quite adept after a while!
Both of our rooms looked out on the lake and although the weather was cloudy, we enjoyed the view and all the activity of the ferries arriving and departing.
We found it convenient to to be within walking distance of the train station and even the walk back uphill with luggage was doable.
Laura, the owner was most congenial and friendly. She had asked to be paid in cash as did 3 other B&B's on our trip, so we had planned ahead with trips to the ATM's.
We did have a pleasant dinner on the evening of our arrival at Hotel Olivedo where we also had a continental breakfast each morning.
I realize there are some mixed reviews for Villa Torretta but I would definitely recommend booking with Laura at Villa Torretta for your holiday on Lake Como.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean4510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

After reading mixed reviews, we booked for what seemed a good price:value. We were not disappointed. We were given a room that is separate from the main villa and very large in size, especially for European standards. Room was very clean and well looked after. Tiny balcony that had a lake view, but the surrounding gardens were right outside and we were the only guests there when we were enjoying our morning Capuccino or sunset wine. Laura indeed kept an eye on all her guests, which enabled her to ensure we were well taken care of. Great location, we just loved the village of Varenna.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We visited early May while picking up our daughter from Milan. We hoped that a quick 2 day/1 night trip to Varenna could work within our schedule and this B&B was a perfect complement. The train from Milan is quick and the walk from the station is straight downhill to the picture perfect lake setting and this quaint little inn. We were pleasantly surprised to have a cottage complete with a big window/small balcony facing Lake Como. The cottage looked a hundred years old perched on a stone foundation, but the bathroom was modern, newly tiled and exceptionally clean. The room has a queen bed and was outfitted with nice roll away bed which made it extremely cost effective and a real family value. The location is also ideal for exploring the beautiful town and hopping the ferry to Bellagio - an even more scenic lakeside town. The B&B terrace overlooking the lake and dock has WiFi and is a perfect place to uncork a local wine, put your feet up and watch the sunset on a perfect side trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doublemdoublet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
475 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

There are a few mixed reviews on this B & B so we were anxious to stay and give our own
view of the experience. The Inn is just a short stroll down hill from the train station and easy
to find, as it is next to the sister property and right across from ferry station. We found the owner to be somewhat friendly and Christian was very helpful lugging our heavy bags up to the room. We had a cottage type accommodation with very large room and bathroom along with picture window with lake view. The room was clean, but rustic. The beds and pillows are a bit hard, but this is old world Italy with all its quirky charm. We did not have any train noise, ferry noise, or any real problem with noise at all. Not sure why some reviews address this problem as it was very quiet for us. The B & B common rooms were quite lovely with antique furniture and this was an inviting place to sit and use the internet service. The Inn is located next to the lake side walk to stroll (less than 5 minutes) to the center of Varenna where you will find some great food and shops, plus amazing lake views. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant at the hotel, although the owner offered a discount on the room if we ate there. The breakfast is served in the sister hotel next door (where dinner is served) and is very limited. They offer bread, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. Not a big meal but enough to start the day. This is a convenient location if you are hopping around on water taxi to visit other areas like Bellagio, which is only a 10 minute boat ride away. The owner does insist on cash for the room, but we thought the rate was quite fair given the room rates at some locations throughout Lake Como. Overall it was a good experience for us. Staying in small towns in Italy can be iffy
and I would suggest that if you stay at this place you should go with an open mind and low
expectations. Admire the beauty of the lake and forget about the odd inconveniences.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMHappyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Torretta

Property: Villa Torretta
Address: Via Largo Enzo Venini, 6, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little lovely villa, 19th-century, on the edge of lake. All 3 rooms en-suite with great lake view and balcony. Lovely little garden with table and chairs to enjoy the view of the lake.Laura and Mamma are there to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Torretta Hotel Varenna
Villa Torretta Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing