We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place with great food”

Osteria Quatro Pass
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly place with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Best meal we had during a week in Varenna. Modern cooking, well executed with a good and reasonably priced wine list. The restaurant is situated in a wonderfully atmospheric lane away from the pizza pasta belt along the shore. Service and ambiance were also excellent

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank macca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    161
    49
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chadds ford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great Local Restaurant in Varenna, Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had our best meal here during three-day stay in Varenna. Tucked away on side street halfway up the hill but it was well worth it, particularly for various mixed grill entree highlighting local fish. Staff very accommodating. Restaurant frequented by various nationalities, including Americans.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnpjessup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
1,452 reviews
903 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 774 helpful votes
“Great upscale food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant serves sophisticated food which is delicious and is not distracted by the beautiful views anywhere in this beautiful town. Please make your reservations or you will not be seated, enjoy your dinner being helped by friendly staff and serving perfectly seasoned dishes, no problem if you decide to share a plate, they're ok with it, enjoy this place

Helpful?
Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautifully presented in Varenna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Although not blessed with a Lakeside view, this small and intimate restaurant in Varenna works hard and produces delicious food and efficient service. We went twice in our week's holiday and it was definitely the classiest in Varenna - though others were very high standard too.

Firstly, even the breadsticks are homemade and deliciously flavoured with rosemary. Then each evening we had a litlttle amuse-bouche brought before we started. One evening a tiny pastry tart filled with tuna cream. The second time a little polenta circle with some fried onions on the top.

I had the perch with almonds. My husband had 4 grilled lake fish fillets - perch, trout, lavarello ( white fish) and salmon. The grilled mixed vegetables were very varied - not the usual aubergine,courgette and pepper combo!- but grilled apple, fennel, tomato, potato, as well as aubergine, courgette and pepper. Delicious torta for dessert - a chocolate one and I had a nut and honey one. Next time we went for the vegetarian pasta and a lovely mixed salad which we said we would share so they thoughtfully split it between 2 bowls and it was very plentiful! Creme brulees are served literally flaming!

IMHO, the quality of the food equalled Silvio's (the much acclaimed restaurant with a lakeside view in Bellagio).

We found it very quiet and intimate both evenings, despite the restaurant being virtually full, so I guess the other reviewer must have been unlucky. Also I guess that further into the season it would fill up quickly so you may need to book.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
294 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Not ideal for a couple seeking a quiet intimate dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

During our three night stay in Varenna we had the opportunity to try several local restaurants. Of the three we tried (all reviewed here on this site) Ostaria Quatro Pass was unfortunately our least favorite. The menu is interesting and the service is efficient. The main problem, in our view, is the relatively large size of the dining room in compared to other restaurants in Varenna. This may be perfect for a larger group but less than ideal for a couple seeking a quiet intimate dinner. There were several groups of 6-8 people each and they were extremely loud and boisterous making it difficult to carry on a quiet conversation at our table. We couldn't wait to finish our dinner and leave.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Quatro Pass also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Osteria Quatro Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing