We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite”

Osteria Quatro Pass
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A favorite”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We received a recommendation to this restaurant by our hotel, Albergo Milano, and we agreed, it was superb. Quatro Pass, and the restaurant at the hotel, made for two of the best meals we had in Italy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    182
    56
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Possibly our best meal in Italy so far”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After several weeks of restaurant meals, I think this tops the list. Recommended by our hotel and we are sooooo glad we went. Pricey but worth it. Great classics and lots of seafood. Everything we had was excellent and the service was top notch. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susiebeeonmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful service”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

First place in Italy that we had excellent attentive service. Very impressed how we were treated being a family of four with 2 small children. Food was delicious, recommend lobster and meat skewer selection. Tiramisu was best I've ever had.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“I expected better”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After seeing all the positive reviews, on TA, I made a reservation. Since it was still drizzllng, we weren't disappointed by the lack of view. When we arrived at 8, there were only a few other couples. Since we've been traveling in Italy, we typically order our food and then either ask for a recommendation or simply order the house wine. The suggestion here was for a 38 bottle of white wine. Really? It put us off a bit. We live an hour from Napa and know you can get plenty of delicious, inexpensive wine that highlights the food. Speaking of food, the bread basket arrived and was stale. Our first course of marinated lake fish was delicious and perfect to share. I then had the pasta with mushrooms while my husband had one with seafood - tasty, but nothing special. We then shared the "grilled" (translation - pan fried) plate of mixed lake fish and grilled vegetables. Again, tasty but not memorable. On to service, during our appetizer, a very large, loud party came in and service just disappeared. At one point, somebody brought us the dessert menu and we hadn't had our main course. We finished with espresso (husband) and grappa (me). 7 euros for grappa? Ridiculous. Our total bill was 100 euros.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ligaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The food here was probably the best meal that we had in Italy (for 2.5 weeks!) It was very delicious and fresh! The staff was friendly. There were no views, but the place was recommended to us by locals. We were impressed. It was expensive, but for our last night in Italy, we were glad we ate here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krysta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Quatro Pass also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Osteria Quatro Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing