We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine restaurant-do go”
Review of Ristorante Nuova Isola 1169 - CLOSED

Ristorante Nuova Isola 1169
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Naples, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine restaurant-do go”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

One of the many excellent restaurants in Varenna. We went on a weeknight, when it was not busy. One could sit inside or outside. We sat outside, and while it has no particular view it was extremely pleasant.

All the food was very, very good, with a seafood with spaghetti that was to us an incredible dish.
Excellent service. I would love to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theorobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“We highly recommend this restaurant”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This restaurant gave us excellens service and a very well tasting and nice presented dinner. The restaurant is a pearl in Varenna. It is located close to the the seaside but in a more calm and nice environment than the more crowded area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Britta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely dinner experience”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Rule #1: Don't give up trying to find this place. Once you get here, you will enjoy the family-type atmosphere. The fish risotto for two was very enjoyable and fresh. The combination of apple and prosciutto was truly splendid. The wine list is short, but acceptable. We shared 2 half bottles, an Arneis and Greco, which paired nicely with our meals. This place is not spectacular, but solid.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Very convenient to the Hotel Du Lac. For our first course we had risotto with gorgonzola & mushrooms and for our main course we had sirloin steak stuffed with cheese & bresaola and for desert a chocolate tart in warm pear sauce all accompanied by the house red wine. Everything was delicious and well-prepared.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

For our last day at Lake Como, we went to Varenna. We really had no idea where to go, but we wanted our last meal at the lake to be special. We just happened to be walking by this somewhat out-of-the-way restaurant and decided that the menu looked good. It was kind of late in their season (end of September) and we started out as the only people in the place, although a few more joined us. The food was delicious and we finally tasted the risotto with perch which is supposed to be a specialty of the Como area. We got a little carried away with courses and wine, so our lunch was quite expensive, but that was more because each of the 4 of us ordered 2 or 3 courses and we split 2 bottles of wine. You could keep the costs down by ordering less and still have enough to eat. (We were stuffed!) Cost aside, none of us regretted ordering as much food as we did because it was all delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myrna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Nuova Isola 1169 also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing