We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could live here”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“We could live here”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Hotel du Lac was absolutely enchanting. Every afternoon my husband and I enjoyed Prosecco with tea sandwiches or cookies on the hotel terrace overlooking Lake Como. Our very comfortable room had a king size bed and included a twin bed, which we did not use except to deposit our luggage. While the shower was small, the bathroom was roomy and equipped with fragrant toiletries.
Delicious pastries every morning with espressos or cappuccinos in the bright dining area, open to the terrace, gave us a good start to the day. The tablecloths and serveware added much elegance to the continental breakfast. Even the china matched the soft coral decor of the public spaces. Eggs and more substantial fare were available for a small additional charge, but we found the salami and cheeses quite adequate to accompany the pastries. In the evenings, after dinner, my husband and I enjoyed a limoncello, or cappuccino in the dining area.
The staff was exceptionally obliging. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with Gaetano at the front desk and Janet at the bar. Gaetano suggested the best restaurants for dinner and Janet gave us inside information on the town's activities. They both made us feel completely at home. We loved our experience there and plan to return to Varenna and stay at Hotel du Lac.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    99
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
55
319
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This hotel is all about the location, right on the lakeside with a lovely deck and "garden" terrace. The Hotel du Lac doesn't really do food other than a light lunch, and their breakfasts aren't really good enough. Never mind - Varenna has oodles of restaurants.

A bit soulless.

Wi-fi was dreadful.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoolFork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

My wife and I stayed here last summer when we toured Europe. This hotel, and Lake Como, were one of the highlights of a three month long trip. We are still trying to figure out which was better, Lake Como or Murren, Switzerland. You really shouldn't miss either. The view from this hotel is unbelievable, and the location is amazing. The hotel sits right on the lakefront, make sure you get a room facing the lake. We would return in a second.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liketotravel167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I was extremely lucky to have secured a room in Hotel du Lac in Varenna (and not just any room - THE room right in the center of the building overlooking the lake). Despite the hefty price, it was well worth it for the experience. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were immaculately clean. Varenna is quiet but charming; the best place to stay in Lake Como. If you want some action, you can always take the ferry to other islands like Belaggio.

The hotel experience was fantastic from the get-go: we met a friendly Irish man on the train and he kindly accompanied us from the station to the street outside the hotel. Later that night, I saw him manning the front desk; talk about coincidence.

I highly recommend VARENNA MON AMOUR ristorante near the hotel; they have the best seafood pasta. The ingredients are so fresh, you can still taste the sea!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikiSMLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Our stay at this hotel was wonderful - very friendly service, fantastic view of Lake Como, a delightful breakfast/lunch room and terrace on the lake and big comfortable beds in clean pleasantly decorated rooms. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars for the room was that it had no bath. That was not an issue for us but if you want a bath, our room wouldn't have been it. Our view was amazing, though, and we had a small balcony with 2 chairs to admire it from. We hope to go back there again.
note: This hotel is old (hence its great charm!!) and has no elevator - so it may not be suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K0vac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Views from every room. Spacious and well appointed rooms. Wonderful terrace and bar/restaurant for sipping cappachino while viewing the lake. Located right on lakefront walk and just a short walk to ferry landing. Only a short ferry boat ride and you can be in Belagio.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at the Hotel du lac for 4 days in September. The hotel is situated on Lake Como in Varenna, and our room had a breathtaking view of the lake. With a sleep loft above and floor to celing windows, it felt like we were in our own snug boat looking out at absolutely mesmerizing views, which were replicated on the terrace. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with restaurant and excursion recommendations. We would return to this place in a heartbeat. VERY romantic!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvToscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#4 of 6 in Varenna
432 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
798 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via del Prestino 4, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna
Hotel Du Lac Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing