We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Lac
Nearby Hotels
Royal Victoria(Varenna)
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$324
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$255
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$629
US$581
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Olivedo(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eremo Gaudio(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
357
103
33
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
103
33
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake comosmall balconypartial lake viewan aperitifhotel terracehear the water lappingparking garagewonderful hotelsmall hoteltrain stationking bedshort walkperfect spotroom was spotlessviews are spectaculareach morningreception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Fabulous view, fantastic location, truly authentic and unpretentious small family run hotel on lake Como which is getting better year after year with constant improvements, no doubt your best choice in Varenna.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The location is excellent, just in front of the "embarcadere" to Bellagio.
The hotel is clean but the staff is not very friendly especially when we told Laura that we would not have dinner at the hotel; I exhibited at Villa Monastero and the art director had
invited the artists to a special dinner.
The breakfast was really simple , not at all a real breakfast.
To conclude, we would not return >

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Italyl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at the Hotel du Lac for four nights in June with my 16 year old son. We had room 35 on the top floor, with sweeping views of the lake, two twin beds and lots of open space on one floor with a staircase to a big loft with a queen size bed. The hotel is perched right on the lake and is very well designed for spectacular views and privacy. There is a lovely outdoor terrace on the lake and a delicious breakfast in the morning. The staff is extremely competent and helpful. Varenna is a small village where everything is in walking distance from the hotel, and it's a stop on the ferry network around the lake, so you can easily go everywhere. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to couples and to families.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luv2travel19941953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Hotel du Lac is a wonderful little hotel right on the lake. Most of the rooms are lake view but not all. Very clean and fresh.
Service was wonderful. We were unlucky to have lost our luggage from our flight to Milan. The hotel called many days to try and track for us. Our daughter also developed hives late one night and they called the local pharmacy and arranged for them to open up for us -very late- to help us.
Another small thing that I've never seen before was the hairdryer had an adapter that would switch to US plugs so you could charge your electronics without an adapter. That was really a nice feature.
The breakfast is nothing spectacular. We had better during our stay. I particularly wished for some fresh fruit and not canned and the coffee was always cold. However the view at breakfast overlooking the lake makes up for everything!
Lovely hotel on a lovely lake!

Room Tip: One side of the hotel has an elevator to the rooms. The other side has only steps. If you can't climb stairs, mention when you book.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phxaz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

A lovely hotel in beautiful Varenna on Lake Como. Our room was large with a fantastic view of the lake. We had a balcony which was nice. As part of the hotel, there is a terrace covered with greenery and a large balcony where you can have a drink throughout the day or evening. One thing to note is that the hotel only provides a lfit from the carpark to Recepyion so you have to carry your bags up to the room which may not suit everyone.
An enjoyable 3 days.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews