We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varenna delight”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
stockton on tees
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Varenna delight”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hotel Du Lac in Varenna was a delight for us. We decided to stay at this hotel this August having visited it the previous year while staying elsewhere in Lake Como. Hotel Du Lac is a small and friendly hotel with very modern rooms which are scrupulously clean. We had a lake view room (a truly spectacular view) and were pleasantly surprised at the size, we were told the balcony was small but it had room for two chairs and a small table ideal for a drink whilst we watched the sun set. The breakfasts are help yourself and there is always enough food to set you up for the day, the coffee is second to none. A light lunch is also offered followed by cocktails in the late afternoon and early evening but no evening meals. We asked why and were told that since these would have to be served in the same area as the breakfasts which is immediately below guests’ windows and balconies it might cause a disturbance. On reflection this is a wise decision because the peace and quiet is priceless when looking over the lake in the evening. Seriously, the fact they do not serve evening meals does not matter when staying in Varenna there so are many good restaurants to choose from all within a short walking distance.
This hotel was and is brilliant and importantly it is very good value for money. We got really excited and reserved two rooms for next year, yes it is that good!

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view it is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    99
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
55
319
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I had an excellent 3 night stay at the Hotel du Lac in Varenna. The location is superb. Varenna is a small picturesque town on Lake Como with a good selection of cafes and restaurants, but peaceful. If you want somewhere livelier then other towns may be a better choice. The hotel is right on the waters edge, with its own pontoon from where you can swim in the lake. The view from the hotel terrace, public areas and from many rooms is simply stunning.

The hotel is a pleasant (and flat) 10 minute walk along the waters edge to the public boat service. Varenna has a railway station, ferry service and access to major roads, so has the perfect balance of being very accessible yet quiet and peaceful.

Our room was a good size, very fresh and clean, with fabulous views from its small terrace. The air conditioning worked well and the ensuite bathroom (shower, no bath) was fine.

Although I have rated the hotel as excellent, a few things could be improved, but these aren't major issues and would not stop me returning. Overall service was very good and helpful, but breakfast service was not very engaging. A friendly smile was all that was needed!

Breakfast itself was good, but could have had more fresh fruit and a little more choice overall. The hotel does not have a restaurant but does serve snacks during the day. It has an excellent terrace and view so maybe it is missing a trick.

Strongly recommended for its location, fabulous views, pleasant service and bright clean room.

Room Tip: Always sensible to check if your room will have a lake view. There is no lift in the hotel, so if sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

There are countless little towns and villages around Lake Como and Varenna is an excellent choice. It is not totally overrun by tourists, has a distinct and quaint personality and is centrally located with excellent boat connections to the other towns.

The Hotel du Lac is a very good choice. Excellent location and breathtaking views of the lake. The room we had was of good size and the A/C worked well. Bathroom was small but adequate.

The reason I marked this hotel only as average is this: this hotel lives off its location and views - period! The owner and manager demonstrate zero interest in providing anything that could be described as service excellence. A 4 star hotel without dinner service? The skimpiest breakfast we encountered in Italy. Restaurant staff which certainly do not appear to enjoy their jobs.

As I think about our stay I am frustrated that a hotel with so much upside chooses to be happy being just average.

Room Tip: Whilst most rooms have some lake view, you may be best advised to pay a little extra for a full lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pomerol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Loved this place. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the parking was he easiest of any hotel we stayed on our Italy tour. We had a lovely big room on one of the upper floors with a small balcony and it was ideal. You could still hear the water lapping against the hotel. If you stay make sure you explore the lower deck area under the bar as we only found this on our last day there. My fiancee went swimming off the pontoon most days which is nice if you're into that. The place is in an ideal location within Varenna and during our stay we took trips to Menaggio and Bellagio to do some long walks and would have liked to kayak but you need to book this a day in advance from Bellagio if you want to do this. Loads of lovely food places and even a pizza take away within a short walk of the hotel. Air con was lovely to have in the room at this time of year and the whole place was super friendly. The guy we assumed was in charge, was Irish and really helpful with food recommendations etc. Would definitely go back - worth stretching the budget for.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Hotel du Lac last month. Our lake view room was spacious, comfortable and spotless. Our tiny balcony with French doors was just enough for sitting but also perfect fir letting in the crisp, fresh air every evening. The entire staff was welcoming and helpful. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for lake view! All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toozigoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

This was our first trip to Lake Como, and we spent 6 wonderful nights at Hotel du Lac in Varenna. The beauty of the lake was fully on view from our bed and (especially) from the terrace of our room. We enjoyed afternoon and evening snacks and drinks on our terrace. Our room had a comfortable king size bed and - though not extravagant - was nicely designed and functioned well. Also, we did enjoy the air conditioning, particularly after some long treks in the hills, exploring villas and gardens, and on the "Greenway" from Lenno to Tremezzo.
Breakfast (included) on the hotel terrace was good - eggs, pastries, fruit, cereal, espresso drinks, tea, juice, etc. Guests were mostly from English-speaking countries. (If you're looking for a hotel with a high percentage of Italian guests, this isn't the place. I'm not sure that such a place exists in Varenna or other Lake Como towns, such as Bellagio, Menaggio, or Tremezzo. Perhaps, that's part of the Clooney effect.).
What made Hotel du Lac truly outstanding was the staff. They provided helpful restaurant recommendations and made reservations for us; provided directions and suggestions as to what things were worth seeing (or not worth seeing); and made other travel arrangements for us. When we chose to stay an additional night, they arranged for us to keep our same room (though already booked).
We rarely write reviews because we usually find our travel accommodations to be in line with our expectations. We write this review because Hotel du Lac far exceeded them.
We

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This was an amazing hotel and a highlight of my wife and I's 3.5 week vacation. For a Lake Como trip, there is no better location. The hotel is incredibly romantic and literally right on the water. Our balcony was 5 feet above the lake. We left our door open every night and fell asleep to the sounds of Como's water lapping at out balcony. The staff was incredibly helpful and charming. Varenna make for the best Mid-lake stay. If you are going to Como, STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Djrfouralarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
431 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
795 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via del Prestino 4, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna
Hotel Du Lac Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing