We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Gozo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Only was here for lunch and what a lunch and view, just found this place by mistake, we were just walking in the tiny streets behind piazza san giorgio. A must visit for a lunch at least. Service and value were good. Pity i had already booked my stay someplace else, maybe next time over.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierresMarsalforn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    96
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
52
306
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,022 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,068 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

On our one day trip to Varenna, we discovered hotel Du Lac in this charming town.We wish we knew of it before we booked the hotel in Bellagio. But we were able to walk thru and get all the details for our next trip.
It is a very romantic place -a large villa, with many beautifully restored details , gleaming marble- very elegant place indeed.There is an outdoor terrace overlooking the lake Como and an elegant dining room,where the breakfast is served. if you travel by car, there is a hotel parking available. Something that is not easy to find in this area. Sometimes with all the planning one does on the internet, the best thing still is to have a chance to see it in person. As I said, we wish we stayed here....but there is always next time!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I spent a ton of time researching hotels for my July 2013 trip to Varenna. I chose this hotel and asked for the best room with the best view. well, sometimes what you wish for and what you get are 2 different things. The room was very expensive and while very clean it was dated. The main bed was in a loft area= hot. The main floor had a ship's bed. Little surface space for your things. The elevator stopped at a floor below so you had to climb maybe 4-6 stairs, or have the hotel staff do it with your luggage. I did not like how remote it felt. A view that was not floor to ceiling windows but rather one window on top of the other. Worse perhaps, when I decided to jump ship and find someplace else, with the plan to checkout the next day, I was questioned by Giovanin about why I didn't like the room, what was wrong with it, etc. Look at me, I wanted to say. I am tired from traveling all day. I don't like the room. Please don't question me. To his credit, I was not charged for the remaining 3 nights. The woman at the checkout in the morning barely surpressed her laughter when I had to rummage in my suitcase to find travel papers. Very very not cool and unprofessional. Others I met at breakfast liked their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marydianesanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We didn't stay here, but came upon Hotel du Lac as we were roaming the alleyways of Varenna looking for someplace with a view to have dinner. The bar hostess politely apologized that they didn't serve dinner but we were welcome to come in for a drink. What a lovely, spectacular view of the lake! They had a "snack" menu also and as we started to order, she told us our drinks came with some appetizers. Crostinis, olives, salami; perfect for us. As the sun was setting, we ordered another drink and more snacks were served. The hostess was English, very personable. The terrace was partially covered, but when a storm came up. we were politely asked to move indoors and she continued her hospitality. There were some other places along the waterfront where you could get a drink, but the terrace here was much more romantic and as it is on a hill, a much better view of the surroundings and Bellagio and other village across the lake. No matter where you stay in Varenna, be sure to go here at sunset!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We loved this beautiful hotel and our room overlooking the lake. Breakfasts were really substantial, bar service was outstanding and staff took time to advise us on Varenna when needed. For service, comfort and cleanliness this lovely hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardek
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Anyone who has ever been to Lake Como knows it's not easy to find an unsatisfactory accomodation there. The vast majority of them has beautiful views onto the lake. The same is true for Hotel du Lac, nevertheless the place is quite exceptional. It is situated in Varenna, in my opinion the most beautiful town on the lake. The hotel is positioned directly on the lake shore, so at dusk and dawn you can listen to the sounds of the lake. The atmosphere is very peaceful, the rooms spacious and beautifully furnished. There is a short 5 min. walk to the port where you can catch a ferry for all kind of trips on the lake. And though there is very limited space on the lake coastline which is quite crowded, they have managed to "squeeze in" a little car park for the guests. We spent 4 wonderful and relaxing days in Varenna.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristjan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August. We paid extra to get a room with view to the lake. We got that but room 1 which is not attached to the hotel. You actually have to walk out and down below to get to the room. The room has spiders and molds in the bathroom. No wifi in this room at all. Was awful. Don't take that room.
The breakfast was not great at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eth514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via del Prestino 4, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna
Hotel Du Lac Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing