We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy lakeside B & B”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cozy lakeside B & B”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

During our recent vacation in Northern Italy we stayed in large 5* star hotels each night, but when we arrived in tiny Varenna we were looking forward to a different type of lodging experience. This small, down to earth B & B/hotel did not disappoint. The beautiful lakeside location is perfect. The hotel is tiny, quiet and low key, modestly furnished and clean. The staff is pleasant, helpful and warm. And, they keep it pretty casual. Perfect for a restful night at the lake. The other guests were mostly couples, age 50+.

We were fortunate to have a room with large terrace overlooking the lake (room 10, Oleander). Complete with table and chairs and loungers. We enjoyed the wonderful view despite the rain. Breakfast offered plenty of choices and a lovely lake and mountain view from the patio. Overall, a very relaxing stay that we were glad to experience.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a treat and some have terraces/balconies. Rooms 10, 11, 12 have the largest ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    97
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
52
314
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We found it to be a jewel on the lake! Balconies with views across the lake to the Alps from the hotel terrace with a hearty breakfast and several rooms enjoy that same view. Varenna is a special place and Hotel du lac is a special place within Varenna. If you stay a few days everything is within reach from Hotel du Lac. The staff is very accommodating from the front desk to the restaurant and including housekeepers. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel du Lac and am sure that you will too!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank reelrelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We loved this place. We had a small balcony on the 3rd floor and the view was fabulous. Varenna is a small and quaint village which we found very friendly, relaxed and enjoyable. The people at the hotel were always very helpful and informative. They even helped us with restaurant choices and reservations. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, TN
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a four day stay here and it was amazing. Drinks on the Terrence with divine appetizers are the best. Room 25 is large with a small balcony but a good bathroom with a tub. Staff was friendly, helpful and great when you have a train strike. We had to leave very early because of the strike so they made sure we had breakfast to take with us. It was superb! They would make dinner reservations for us each evening and were so helpful. I cannot say enough wonderful things about all the staff and this hotel. I will be back and please know that Varenna is the diamond of the villages and this is where you want to stay!

Room Tip: Book early to get the room you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishlady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a wonderful time in Varenna, room 1 was like our own little apartment right on the waterfront. Falling asleep with the sound of the lake and every morning we had a spectacular view of Belaggio, the lake and the mountains. The staff was very friendly and the lunches delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan-Carlos Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a wonderful room with a view of the lake. We could sit on the balcony and watch the ferry coming in. Very gracious staff and comfortable room. The adjoining restaurant was ver good as well. English was spoken.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annettefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a great stay at Hotel Du Lac. It is surely one of the most romantic hotels in Como Lake. We spent three nights in room 1. From the small balcony we enjoyed an unforgettable sunset. The staff is always helpful and friendly. We will definitely go back to this small gem in Varenna.

Room Tip: From room 1 it is possible to enjoy an amazing sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#4 of 6 in Varenna
426 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via del Prestino 4, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna
Hotel Du Lac Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing