We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Lac
Nearby Hotels
Royal Victoria(Varenna)
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$543
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence L'Ulivo(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$954
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$868
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Olivedo(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eremo Gaudio(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
362
106
34
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
106
34
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake comosmall balconypartial lake viewan aperitifhotel terracehear the water lappingparking garagewonderful hotelsmall hoteltrain stationking bedshort walkperfect spotroom was spotlessviews are spectaculareach morningreception area
Filter
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2009

A luxurious hotel overhanging Lake Como in one of the prettiest villages in Italy.
It's heaven.
Rick K.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtkrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We loved it here. We were so pleased we decided on the very very elegant and peaceful Hotel Du Lac. After checking in and wandering through Varenna and past the other hotels, it was clear that we had made the right choice. The lady owner was terrific and gave us the best recommendations for places to eat early during our stay and booked for us (if you go, make sure you book to go to Quatro Pass - superb food), which given how busy it was in Varenna at the time meant that we were able to eat at the best restaurants. While we were seated in the restaurants, so many other people who hadn't booked in advance were turned away. The hotel itself is very tasteful with beautiful views and our room had a lovely bath. Breakfast was not overly exciting but having eaten so much food the night before we were happy not to over indulge at breakfast. We were given little chocolate rabbits for Easter. Definitely stay at Hotel Du Lac - it is delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Another_Australian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

What a fabulous story-book place to spend the night. The hotel is not fancy, but very charming and quaint with a view that makes the long hours you spend getting there all worth it. My room was small, clean and has a round little window looking out on to the lake. I felt like I was in a cabin on a ship. Excellent location near everything in Varenna. Every morning, I had breakfast on the terrace looking out to Lake Como and the mountains. Bell chimes, fresh air, the view, family of swans swimming by ... all so very lovely and idylic. Hope to come back one day soon!

  • Stayed: June 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sarahdippity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed for 5 nights , and are so glad we chose Hotel Du Lac. The location is fantastic and Varenna is the best place to stay on Como. The staff at the hotel were all charming and could not have been more helpful, with restaurant suggestions, bookings, places to visit and the best shops. The place is spotless and although only a small lunch menu is available ,what is produced is very fresh and tasty.We cannot wait to go back and will always choose this hotel over others in this pretty little town. However we hope to be able to book the bigger rooms with the balconys next time, so my advice is to book early, but better to have one of the smaller rooms than stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trefanel670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

The setting is beautiful and we had a great room with lake view and small balcony. The view is absolutely stunning! The tranquility is magnificent! Unfortunately most of the staff we encountered were unfriendly. The man supervising breakfast mostly stood intently watching the diners and made us feel uncomfortable asking for a cappucino (the coffee provided in a pot on a warmer was pretty bad). When we checked out the receptionist was abrupt and barely acknowledged us. No Grazie or Ciao from her! The hotel itself is beautiful and immaculately clean. We had plenty of space, beautiful linen, towels and nice furniture. As referred to in a previous TripAdvisor review, strangely the double bed was actually two single beds pushed together (completely separately made up with separate sheets, bedspread etc) All over Italy we got used to two singles pushed together, but on all other occasions the beds were made up with queen size sheets and bedspreads, so were effectively double beds. The good definitely outweighed the bad - just don't expect too much from the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yarra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews