We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Central location with comfort”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
ArskaDive...
Espoo Finland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Central location with comfort”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Villa Central was in perfect location just opposite Villa Cipressi and Monastero, as well as just a block from the main square of Varenna.
Lots of space in 3 storey house, enough room for 8 persons. Very clean and comfortably furnished. Kitchen is equipped with all you need for preparing breakfast or even meals.
Highlight was the whirpool in top floor bathroom.
Very good value compared to expensive hotels in Varenna.
Expensive parking house just opposite, but you can also park for free within 200 m reach along the Lenno-Varenna road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, lots of space, kitchen
Liked least: Some noise from the street into lower floors
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Dear Guest
I am very glad to read about your positive feelings regarding your stay here ain Varenna.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Kindest regards,
Your Staff at Villa Central Varenna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Off...
Pizzo, Italy
1 review
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This home away from home is a lovey spacious place.
Amazing value for money
Great service and helpful staff.
Fully equippes to the very smallest detail.
TERRIFIC

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motheroft...
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great budget rental close to all amenities”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were a party of 8 adults and one child and each adult paid just under 200 euros each for the week. Nearby B&B charged 125 per night per room so if you are watching your pennies then this is the villa for you. Bit of noise from traffic and the church bells so dont expect a lie in unless you take ear plugs !!! Eurospin supermarket nearby in Bellano and small delis around the square with a market at the weekend. Flora the landlady is a wee gem. Very helpful. All in all a great wee villa. Slight hitch with access/key pick up. Make sure you are given Floras mobile number

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The price
Liked least: Wifi not working and had to wait for access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFC100
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, easy access to lake and town”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were two families with teenage boys and we found the villa to be perfect for our needs. Located within one minute walk from Varenna main town square, the villa had sufficient room for all of us, though with the addition of an extra bed in each of the two double rooms (one very spacious and one less so).

Check in was fine and Flora (who looks after the property for the owner) was very helpful, especially as she also works in a restaurant in the main square which meant that anything we needed to sort out during the week was easily done.

Located as it is, we were happy for the boys to wander around town on their own and then to make their was back to the villa without supervision. Lack of wifi curtailed ability to plan excursions easily but we were happy to spend time in Varenna which is an attractive town with lots of charm.

We had cars and it was expensive to park (20 Euros/day) unless we were lucky to get one of the few free spaces available down the road ...so best to come without a car if not really needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of wifi/internet access
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2014
Dear Sir,
I really appreciate your feedback. Sure we will keep it up this way, we are always glad to provide a cozy accommodation for aour precious Guests.
Kindest Regards
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveW251...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing great value.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This villa is perfect for a large group. We have just returned from a week long stay here with a group of 8 adults and 1 child. Right on the edge of town. 3 minutes walk from the main square with many bars and tourist information etc. The lake is around 100 meters from the front door via Villa Cipressi or any of the little side streets. The amenities are fantastic. With a very well equipped kitchen. Powerful showers through out and a fantastic jacuzzi tub. The only reason for the 4 mark on the service is we couldn't get the wifi to work. Which was fine as the main square I'd a wifi zone. However if you need to do work etc. It's not very reliable. Laundry and cleaning etc is not an issue with a well equipped utility room with a very new looking, modern washing machine etc. Well worth the money. Flora the care taker will cater for any needs. I'm sure more from our party will post similar reviews as the service was out standing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2014
Dear Guests,
thanks a lot for your lovely words.
We are very glad that you enjoied your stay at Villa Central Varenna.
We look forward to welcoming you again in lovely sunny Italy
Kindest Regards
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pankaj S
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious, value for money and great location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights in July'14 - we were a group of 4 adults and 3 kids. A great location , short taxi ride from the station, public parking next door and a 2 min walk from the village centre. The villa is well maintained and Flora the support staff is very responsive. The only improvement would be the WiFi. Would recommend this place for larger groups and family.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahNaom...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality and excellent value for money”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We've just returned from a delightful week's holiday at Villa Central. As a group of seven adults and an eight week old baby, the location, facilities and space that the villa afforded us were perfect for the occasion and all at less than half the cost of the hotel immediately opposite. We were actually pleasantly surprised on arrival - the pictures of the villa we'd seen don't do it justice. The view from the balcony was also breathtaking. The location was very walkable - the cobbled streets towards the lake weren't exactly buggy-friendly but we managed perfectly fine and they are part of Varenna's charm.

We arrived at Milan Malpensa airport, approximately 1.5 hours away by taxi which the owner organised for us. This made the journey hassle free late at night. Had we not been a large group, we would have made our way by train which is approximately 17 euros one way with a change at Milan's central station and taking the express train.

We were met at the villa by Flora who had very kindly put milk and bottled water in the fridge for us and bought us some bread all at no request, but really appreciated so late at night. Flora was exceptional in her hospitality, ensuring that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. There were baby changing facilities in the en-suite to the master bedroom which was great. Flora was also contactable throughout our stay. We were glad of the villa's WiFi which helped with planning our day trip into Milan.

Villa Central is perfectly situated to explore the other towns on the lake and also for a day trip into Milan. 15 euros provides unlimited ferry trips between Bellagio, Mennagio and Varenna for one day or 10 euros is the cost of a return trip to either one. Varenna's train station is approx. ten to fifteen minutes walk away and we got a direct train to Milan which took about an hour. There are several nice restaurants right on the lake in Varenna, but we mainly ate in the villa - the supermarket we went to in Bellano ("Eurospin") is a five minute train journey at the cost of 1 euro each way and less than a five minute walk from the station. There are little deli shops in Varenna for basics though.

You don't need a car in Varenna and we were glad we hadn't hired one as the car park is at a cost of 20 euros a day.

All in all we had a wonderful week and spent quality time together as a family in a stunning setting. The convenience and amenities of the villa made our stay incredibly relaxing and hassle free at an affordable price. Certainly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, kitchen and dining facilities
Liked least: The hairdryer in the en-suite bathroom - ladies, bring your own :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
Dear Guests,
thanks a lot for your lovely words.
We are very glad that you enjoied your stay at Villa Central Varenna.
We look forward to welcoming you again in lovely sunny Italy
Kindest Regards
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing