We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location just stunning?”
Review of Caffe Varenna

Caffe Varenna
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Exclusive Lake View, Light Lunch & Dinner, Continental Breakfast
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Location just stunning?”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Sat at a table with the water lapping near your feet just 15 feet away, wow! My wife and I just had coffee here but the scenery was absolutely stunning. The waitress who served us was very polite and friendly and you must sample this cafe if visiting Varenna. A very good selection of home made cakes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    221
    47
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Three visits!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We enjoyed lunch here one day when the other bars were crowded. Turned out to be a gem. Lovely service, good food. Shared a panino and a salad overlooking the water. We also came twice for aperitivi. Caffe Varenna serves excellent snacks with their cocktails.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank VinoDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful view-great for a drink”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stopped here for lunch our first day in Varenna and we sat inside since it was raining. Service was good. We ordered 2 sandwiches and 2 pastas. Pasta carbonara was too eggy and not pleasing. Tomatoe sauce pasta was fine. Kids loved the milkshakes made with their gelato. Sandwiches had lots of fresh focaccia bread but not enough filling. I ordered caprese sandwich but couldn't taste the small piece of mozzarella and tomatoe inside. Also there was no fresh basil as menu indicated. Crostada for dessert was good. I would recommend this place for a drink or dessert and coffee but not food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeannineH-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice risotto, great location”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staff at this little café are really pleasant and the location is great! I tried their mushroom risotto which was very nice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArcticRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lakeside Cafe”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent cakes. Great food. Fantastic cocktails. Lovely staff. Great location with amazing view. A great place to watch the sun set.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquiJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Varenna also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Caffe Varenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing