We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too brilliant”

Pizzeria Victoria Grill
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not too brilliant”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Specials were overpriced and not very good.

One nice dinner was a nicely cooked medium rare fillet steak.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryandJamesOpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    70
    38
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent sit down restaurant”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Their pizza menu was not available when we went at lunchtime (1230).
Note that they may be closed from 2-4.
Located in main square across from the clock tower. Near the bank. Walk about 20- 30min from ferry dock to get to main square.
Pricing is a little high, but typical for this type of restaurant in Varenna.
They have outdoor seating and very stylish indoor seating. Check out their restroom- state of the art.
We had their pasta of the day and they served it family style so our group of 7 could share but they still charged us per person. The risotto, lasagna and bolognese were all good.
We also had affugato, ice cream sundae and tiramisu-all were good.
Service was typical of this region, slow, and not exceptional. Our main server spoke some English but did the bare minimum.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nella024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeverinoBeri, Direttore at Pizzeria Victoria Grill, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your rewiew. It's always usefull for us hearing your opinion to improve.
We are afraid you came for lunch the day pizza is not served, but also our pizza cook must have one day off per week! It's not a question of hour, but once a week we don't serve pizza at all.

We wait for you next time to taste our pizza!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good option in Varenna”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Varenna is a small town with not too many options for food. We had a fairly good dinner here, but nothing to write home about. The menu is very simple. My husband had the carpaccio pizza and I had a pasta. If you are looking for a filling meal quickly, this is a good option. However, if you look a little further there are other places with lake views that are good too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mario K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My wife and I returned to Varenna a second time. A third trip is planned next summer. The meal was good and the setting very nice. It is more expensive than on the lake.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank r_s638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive but Classy”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The dishes were excellent and the service great. We couldnt decide on a dessert which we wanted to share so the kitchen made up acomposite desser beautifully presented and for the price of a sinle dessert!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andersonian1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria Victoria Grill also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Pizzeria Victoria Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing