We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend!”
Review of Hotel Olivedo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Olivedo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Laura, the owner, smokes and you know it immediately. If that bothers you, don't even consider this hotel. Wish I knew that. Breakfast was minimal. Laura strongly suggests that you eat at her establishment and I feel her "friendliness" and "helpfulness" depends on that. I wouldn't on principal. Asked for extra towels and she said she would tell the maid but didn't mention that there is no maid service until the following morning. Truth be told she has a goldmine location. The noise from ferries was minimal and not an issue. Oh - did you know that there is a daily charge of 15 euros per day for parking and it needs to be paid in cash? So I though I would check the website, no website...and you need to pay your bill the night before you check out? and there is a note in the room that states daily charge - tax - don't remember the wording...you make your own decision...mine is never again. there is no swimming pool - sorry - couldn't uncheck the category.

Room Tip: Elevator goes to 3 which helps with luggage but low enough to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mean1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Eventhough we had one day out of three with weather from h.... the stay was perfect. LOVED the beds - not those soft hotel beds where you lay Down and cannot move because you a stuck to it. Had and comfortable!

The staff was very friendly and helped if we had any questions (which was not many). The breakfast was dull, but ok enough.

They had some problems calculating the prices - one night we payed 5 euroes for a doubble whiskeym the next almost 15.

Some people (here on Tripadvisor) have complained about the ferry being to close - we had a room with lake view and was not bothered at all.

But all in all we were very happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bsild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Olivedo (sept 2010 & sept 2013) and both stays were fantastic, the Olivedo is perfectly placed a short walk out of Varenna behind the ferry port with excellent views of lake Como, we stayed in the hotel in 2010 which is full of old charm and excellent views over the lake, 2013 we stayed in villa Torretta which has its own garden with tarrace over looking the lake with stunning views over lake Como. The food at the Olivedo is beautiful with excellent choice of pastas and meat (rosemary & sage chicken with roast potatoes was amazing as was the perfectly cooked steak.. the juicey veal.. the list goes on) Laura and the staff are lovely & very helpful and make your stay even more special, it is hard to believe that Laura or the hotel get any bad reviews... counting down to our next stay, ciao

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Located not far from the Varenna-Esino station and just opposite the ferry landing for visits to other towns around the lake. It is an old school, family owned hotel and decorate that way.
The hostess (I think she was also the owner) was very helpful and spoke good English. If you're looking for a modern hotel, this isn't it. The furniture is a bit old, but the bed is comfortable. Despite this, we still have access to free wifi :)
The best thing about the hotel is the location, which makes it easy to get to Milan (or any other destination by train) and the fact that the ferry stop is just in front of the hotel. On the day of our departure, the hostess insisted that we have some coffee and bread + fruits before we left, all on the house. Typical Italian hospitality.

Room Tip: Out room #31 was on the 4th floor. The lift (which was very, very slow) is only up to the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here in 2006 and liked it so much that we decided to stay here again! Laura, the owner took care of our every need, she was a pleasure to deal with. We had to switch rooms half way thru our stay, but it wasn't a big deal at all, both rooms had great views of the lake. The food was very good, this was the last stop on a 3 week foodie trip around Italy, and we enjoyed our meals here. This hotel is very conveniently situated on beautiful Lake Como, with the ferry dock out the front door with ferries that take you all around the lake, it's a short walk to the train station, and a lovely short waterfront walk to downtown Verenna. If we ever have the privilege to return to Lake Como, we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Bath rooms are newly updated, and there is a lift for the baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Olivedo July 5 for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. When we arrived we were shown to our room and it was a lovely room on the 3rd floor with a balcony and amazing views of Lake Como and the Italian Alps. Laura was so pleasant and warm , we felt at home.
Breakfast was good and dinner was excellent . You have to try the fresh spinach ravioli as I have thought of it often but I have to say everything was great. We traveled each day to the various towns by ferry including touring the mansion. Unfortunately we never did see George Clooney.
We did have an unexpected highlight on our last night when there was a festival and fireworks in Varenna . The fireworks were over the lake and because we had a balcony room we were able to sit on the balcony and watch the fireworks with no obstructed view as we would have at home in Northbrook on July 4th. So you see, we had a wonderful time. Laura, her mother, Christine and unfortunately I don't remember the man's name that also worked with them were great. Laura's mother always stayed sitting inside and it reminded Tom and me so many years ago back home when Italian restaurants were family owned and mom was always there. Our room was great newly updated with a fantastic shower etc. when we first arrived we asked Laura if there was AC because when we were in Milan the hotel'sAC was minimal and we never slept. Laura told us the AC comes on at 2:30 to reserve energy which was understandably. We have traveled all over the world and we are accustom to this. We have recommended Hotel Olivedo to many friends and I believe one is actually there now. Hope they and anyone that reads my review decides to goes there has a marvelous time.
Chow

Room Tip: Room 22 is great. 3rd floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choochoo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our room was on the fourth floor, the lift only goes to the third, a long way to heft cases when you are over 65! When we queried the lack of smoke detector on the ceiling, we were told" not to worry, that is only for fire" ! The broken AC in our room had been like that "for days, and anyway it was nearly the end of the season" , we had temperatures in the mid twenties the two days we were there and the room was hot at night even with the window wide open. We enjoyed Varenna, but would not go back to this hotel!

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank 832christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Beretta
Albergo Beretta
#6 of 6 in Varenna
146 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivedo

Address: Piazza Martiri della Liberta' 14 | Lombardia, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £115 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivedo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel on the edge of Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Olivedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivedo Hotel Varenna
Hotel Olivedo Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing