We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italy-fun stay”
Review of Hotel Olivedo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Olivedo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed in the adjacent Villa to the hotel and our party rented 3 rooms for 2 nights. The owner, Laura, was helpful, fun and charming throughout our stay. Rooms were perfect with large bathrooms and roomy verandas. Villa does not have an elevator but hotel does. We ate at the hotel restaurant and received special treatment. The location was perfect. Short walk to the town and the ferry was outside the door. We would recommend this hotel and villa for those looking for a real taste of Italy. Laura saw to it that we received coffee and a sweet roll for breakfast when we had to catch the train at 6:00am. If you have a question on anything ask Laura. She is not bashful on giving her opinion, have fun with her-she's a fun lady.

Room Tip: Villa second floor. Laura will probaly show you what's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We chose this hotel because TripAdvisor reviewers described it as different from the standard hotel experience. They were right, and we were charmed and delighted by our too-brief stay of three nights. From its landmark status, right on the lake by the ferry terminal, to its eclectically decorated rooms and almost homely atmosphere, Hotel Olivedo is a special place. Much of that specialness is due to a person rather than a building: Laura, the often remarked upon owner. From the outset, she makes arriving guests feel they’re being welcomed into her home – and they are. As Laura says, she was ‘born and raised here’ and is the third generation of her family to run the Olivedo. Her attitude towards her guests is warm, personal and helpful. It is surely very rare that checkout is concluded with a kiss!

Our second floor room was spacious, clean, furnished with interesting antiques, and had a little balcony looking over the lake. Effective double-glazing shut out noise from the ferries and tour buses outside. The bathroom was modern and had an excellent shower. As others have commented, the hotel’s elevator is one of the Olivedo’s eccentric features but at least it’s there, however slowly it moves. Stairs might otherwise be difficult for people with mobility problems.

During our stay meals were served on the lakeside terrace, also a pleasant spot for a coffee, gelato or prosecco between meals. We found the breakfast was minimal but perfectly adequate with juice, fresh fruit, yoghurts, sliced meat and cheese, croissants, bread and excellent coffee. But the food at dinner was so good we ate there every night – the grilled lake fish, the roasted chicken with rosemary, the superb roast potatoes, all simply and perfectly cooked. With a jug of the good house wine, these were meals to remember.

Would most definitely stay here again, and highly recommend the Hotel Olivedo to those who would enjoy true hospitality in a place with character, as an alternative to bland and impersonal hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Olivedo in beautiful Varenna.

Laura the owner (who was born in this hotel that her father started) couldn't have been more charming and helpful. The staff was great, too.

It's location is perfect, right at the ferry landing, so very easy to hop a boat to Bellagio or anywhere around the lake... and just a 5 minute walk along the lakeside promenade to the heart of the village.

We enjoyed breakfast each morning as we watched the tourists and ferries come and go. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night - the pumpkin ravioli was delicious!

Both Mom and I would highly recommend Hotel Olivedo.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being in the hotel's "guesthouse" right next door to the main hotel. Nice r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnPirkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Loved our stay here. As mentioned before, this is more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel. The elevator was great to get the luggage up to the higher floors, but is slow. Location is awesome. The ferry was not a problem since it is finished by 9 or 10 p.m. Our room was on the second floor right in front of the ferry dock. Bathroom had been updated and was very nice. Loved the wifi. We found that many of the hotels in Italy asked that you pay the night before you leave and that the Tax be paid in cash. The breakfast was on par with what most of the smaller hotels serve and we found it to be very nice. Would go back to his hotel in a heart beat. We were there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverhome482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Laura, the owner, smokes and you know it immediately. If that bothers you, don't even consider this hotel. Wish I knew that. Breakfast was minimal. Laura strongly suggests that you eat at her establishment and I feel her "friendliness" and "helpfulness" depends on that. I wouldn't on principal. Asked for extra towels and she said she would tell the maid but didn't mention that there is no maid service until the following morning. Truth be told she has a goldmine location. The noise from ferries was minimal and not an issue. Oh - did you know that there is a daily charge of 15 euros per day for parking and it needs to be paid in cash? So I though I would check the website, no website...and you need to pay your bill the night before you check out? and there is a note in the room that states daily charge - tax - don't remember the wording...you make your own decision...mine is never again. there is no swimming pool - sorry - couldn't uncheck the category.

Room Tip: Elevator goes to 3 which helps with luggage but low enough to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mean1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Eventhough we had one day out of three with weather from h.... the stay was perfect. LOVED the beds - not those soft hotel beds where you lay Down and cannot move because you a stuck to it. Had and comfortable!

The staff was very friendly and helped if we had any questions (which was not many). The breakfast was dull, but ok enough.

They had some problems calculating the prices - one night we payed 5 euroes for a doubble whiskeym the next almost 15.

Some people (here on Tripadvisor) have complained about the ferry being to close - we had a room with lake view and was not bothered at all.

But all in all we were very happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bsild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Olivedo (sept 2010 & sept 2013) and both stays were fantastic, the Olivedo is perfectly placed a short walk out of Varenna behind the ferry port with excellent views of lake Como, we stayed in the hotel in 2010 which is full of old charm and excellent views over the lake, 2013 we stayed in villa Torretta which has its own garden with tarrace over looking the lake with stunning views over lake Como. The food at the Olivedo is beautiful with excellent choice of pastas and meat (rosemary & sage chicken with roast potatoes was amazing as was the perfectly cooked steak.. the juicey veal.. the list goes on) Laura and the staff are lovely & very helpful and make your stay even more special, it is hard to believe that Laura or the hotel get any bad reviews... counting down to our next stay, ciao

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Varenna
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
440 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivedo

Address: Piazza Martiri della Liberta' 14 | Lombardia, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £118 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivedo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel on the edge of Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Olivedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivedo Hotel Varenna
Hotel Olivedo Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing