We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel if You Play the Game...Still OK if you Don't”
Review of Hotel Olivedo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Olivedo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great Hotel if You Play the Game...Still OK if you Don't”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Hotel Olivedo is a very historic and charming hotel in great location across from ferry dock. All of the rooms and especially the dining room are just beautiful. You really feel as though you are stepping back in time when you enter the hotel. There is a small lift for getting to rooms on the upper floors. We had a great lake front room (#15) with small balcony overlooking the lake. Our room was furnished with numerous and beautiful antiques including a modern bath. It has very subtle lighting, is extremely clean with a great bed. It is just perfect for a very romantic stay. The only downside to our room is the bright lights from the ferry facilities coming in the windows each evening. There are no darkening curtains to filter out this light

Everything is walkable from hotel including the train station. A nice pedestrian path leads from the hotel, along the water's edge to the center of town. It is only a 10 minute walk. And of course the ferry docks right in front of the hotel. The area is very quiet.

Breakfast is set up in the main dining room each morning and it is OK but not great. Some items would get depleted and were slow to get refilled, if at all.

As others have mentioned, Laura the manager is a little overpowering but she means well. The first day we arrived upon checking in she asked if we would be having dinner in the hotel. When we mentioned we hadn't decided yet, everything turned "cold." From that moment on she ignored us, did not offer to help with sightseeing or ferries, which are confusing and pestered us to pay lodging tax "in cash." Even though the hotel was not full she told us we would have to check out at 10 AM, knowing our train was not until 1:00 PM.

On our second night there we decided we would try the hotel dining room. And actually the food and service were very good, as was the house wine. What a difference this made in Laura's attitude. She became extremely outgoing at breakfast and as we were leaving big hugs were passed around.

I think you have to cut Laura some slack as she is there from 9:30 am until 11:00 pm everyday, doing everything...registering guest, serving in the restaurant, acting as cashier and managing her small staff.

So a word to the wise...make a reservation to eat in the hotel dining room upon check-in. The experience is rewarding and it might just make your stay that much more enjoyable and friendly.

In any event, I certainly would stay at Hotel Olivedo again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra euro's and get a lake front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    195
    77
    36
    43
See reviews for
89
422
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Hotel Olivedo is a charming hotel right on the shore of Lake Como. Our room was large and beautiful with a balcony overlooking the Varenna harbor and ferry landing. Although the building is historical, our bathroom was luxurious and modern. We were also amazed at the sound proofing of the windows. There was lots of activity at the ferry landing right beneath our windows, but it was totally quiet inside. Laura and her staff could not have been nicer or more helpful to us. We felt like honored guests, maybe even family. The food in the restaurant was delicious. We felt so at home and would love to return.

Room Tip: We loved having a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky-Seibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I own a travel agency in NY that hosts small groups traveling to Italy. This past October was the launching of a new itinerary: Northern Italy. That trip included 3 nights at the Villa Torretta in Varenna on Lake Como. What a treat! The owner of the villa (and of Hotel Olivedo) is named Laura, and she was an incredible host to my small group of travelers...always making us feel welcome, special and very accommodating to all of our needs. The villa itself is perfect. The rooms were clean, warm and cozy. The living area has a fireplace room and dining area. It was truly our own home for three nights... a reprieve from all of the hotels we had stayed in. I highly recommend the Villa Torretta and Laura, as a cozy home away from home on Lake Como.

Room Tip: There are stairs to most of the rooms, but the ground level is perfect for those who wish to avoid s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyrowTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Long story short. I was in a bind for a place to stay.Needed a room for 3 nights. Hotel Olivedo and Laura (the owner) had a room for 2 nights.Rate was 140 euros per night CASH..no credit cards. Took the room..no passport check..no registration at all.Found another place to stay that suited us better. Went downstairs to tell Laura we would be staying for one night only. Rate went up to 150 euros for night and so did her attitude(negative). She later called our room to inform us that her restaurant did take credit cards..hmmmm. Checked out the next day while the couple ahead of us used a credit card...not cash. The hotel room was very nice as was dinner at the restaurant. I just did not get that warm fussey feeling. You judge for yourself. Beware.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakenagsheadnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our family had three room in this delightful hotel for two nights. We were each pleased with our accommodations and the warm welcome we received from Laura and her staff. We had lunch and dinner at the hotel resteraunt, being served pleasing meals on both occasions. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdmorse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a great hotel in Varenna. Easy walk from train station and across the street from the ferry to Bellagio etc. Rooms are in good shape and clean. Laura, the manager was a great resource for ideas of what to do as well as predicting the weather. The dinner in their restaurant was like a home cooked meal!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at olivedo hotel for 2 nights.
The hotel was very nice and clean, great size room with nice bathroom.
Professional and friendly staff at the front desk
Awesome dinner at the restaurant located at the first floor
Would stay there again

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivedo

Property: Hotel Olivedo
Address: Piazza Martiri della Liberta' 14 | Lombardia, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivedo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel on the edge of Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Olivedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivedo Hotel Varenna
Hotel Olivedo Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing