We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room/View/Location, Average Hotel”
Review of Hotel Olivedo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Olivedo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Olivedo for a week in June having spent a lot of time reading reviews on Trip Advisor and booking.com. We were welcomed by Laura (the owner, mentioned in many reviews of this hotel) and directed to the smallest lift ever (!) and told to go up to room 25 on the 3rd floor.

Room/View
The room was fantastic. Very large, lots of character and two windows, one with balcony, overlooking the lake which was only 20/30 yards away. It also had a large good quality bathroom. The view from the windows was stunning. Room cleaning was reliable and very thorough.

Location
As discussed elsewhere, the hotel is literally right next to the ferry docking piers so between about 7:00 in the morning and 8:00 at night there is almost a constant flow of ferries coming in and out. This might bother some people but we liked watching the coming and going so it was fine. The air conditioning and double glazing was very effective so if you were a light sleeper and didn’t want to be woken at 7:00 you could avoid the noise. It’s a short walk from the centre of Varenna so there is very little noise outside of ferry comings and goings.

Hotel
Outside of the rooms there is not much to the rest of the hotel. One reasonably large dining room which is a rather dark and dreary but if you are lucky to have good weather there is a dining area outside the front of the hotel which is used for meals. The inside of the hotel does smell of cigarette smoke, because Laura smokes, but our room was fine and always smelt fresh and clean. Breakfast is ordinary with a couple of cereals, a few yogurts, apples and oranges, croissants, bread, ham and cheese. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate is provided by the waiter who IS a little like Manuel from Fawlty Towers but very pleasant and helpful. We ate in the restaurant in the evening once and it was OK but nothing special. All the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Overall
So in summary we can see why the hotel gets such extremes of reviews. All we wanted was a hotel with a nice room with lake view, a light breakfast before we went out exploring for the day, and finally ferries and nice restaurants near by. The hotel ticked all these boxes with the room being a really big tick! If you want a hotel where you intend to spend more time in the hotel outside of your room then it’s probably not for you. Equally if you intend to eat in the hotel every night we wouldn’t recommend it although many people seemed to be very happy. From our point of view there are a host of much better restaurants 5 minutes walk away and we prefer the variety.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigelCAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

the hotel was very expensive for the facilities available. The rooms were oldfashioned and our bathroom basic indeed with a shaky shower curtain.
The noise at night was very offputting and we found it hard to sleep

Room Tip: do not sleep in the room next to the bar next door as it can be noisy at night with a television bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Located on the water front by the ferry landing and an easy walk from the train station. This a quaint hotel decorated in the old Italian style. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Food in the restaurant is excellent and the scenery and views from any of the upper floor rooms is stunning. Hotel employees are very friendly and helpful. Being located right by the ferry terminal made travel to other locations on the lake easy.
A three minute walk along the water front takes you to the center of town and past several restaurants offering outdoor seating with excellent views.

Room Tip: No elevator, but not a distraction to those of us that stayed on the upper floors. We would stay her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobraman427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Olivedo during our honeymoon stay in Varenna at the beginning of June. We were lucky enough to have a corner room at the top of the hotel with a stunning view of the lake. The room was clean and very spacious, and very comfortable; the hotel was furnished in a very traditional Italian style and felt very welcoming. The views of the lake were breathtaking, my wife very much enjoyed sitting in a chair in front of the open balcony doors in late afternoon and watching the sun set behind the mountains across the lake.

The location of the hotel is superb. It's right next to the lake, an easy walk from Varenna-Esino train station, and just a short three minute lakeside walk from the main part of town. The hotel is right next to the ferry terminal which is brilliant for heading off to other towns on the lake. The ferries run quite frequently, but are quieter in the night, so we were never disturbed by any noise. Because of the ferry landing the area around the hotel always seems busy and active, it was nice to sit at one of the tables outside the hotel and just watch people coming and going, especially as you're eating breakfast in the morning.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful, and looked after us very well - nothing ever seemed to be a problem for them, at any time of day or night. The owner was very friendly and generous, and always welcoming.

We ate in the restaurant a few times, the food and wine was always very nice and service was very good.

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Olivedo, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Olivedo for a week in late May/early June for a week - the Hotel and room were great (as advertised) with great view of the Lake across to Bellagio and Menagia and plenty to do or just relax.

Laura puts on a continental breakfast and has other great meals during the day and night, and there are also lots of restaurants nearby.

The ferry service was very accessible from the Olivedo (right outside the front door) and we spent time touring the bigger Lake towns - if you are there for more than 3 or 4 days and plan to do the same, then buy a 6 day ferry pass which cost the same as 3 one day passes.

We also took the train to Tirano and then the Bernina Express to St Moritz Switzerland for a day which was defiantly worth the trip with amazing scenery on the way up & back. On another day, we hired a boat with new friends from Ventura California

Laura, Kirsty and Christian were always available anytime of the day and night and were very helpful and made the stay at the Olivedo enjoyable

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libby_don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for three nights last September when we extended our stay in Varenna after 6 nights in a rented flat. I enjoyed this hotel even more. The owner and staff were very helpful. We spent the first two nights on the top floor in a spacious, comfortable very clean room with minimal view. Our last night was in a beautiful second floor room with a small balcony and a fantastic view. The hotel is older, but very well maintained and has charm. A very adequate breakfast is included. We had dinner in the hotel dinning room our rainy last night and it was great. The proprietress was always on hand and was very friendly and helpful. I hope to return for a longer stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bapaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights. The proximity to the train station was good and the ferry is literally on the doorstep. The views from our 2nd floor room/balcony were amazing. Our room was spacious and we had a nice bathroom with a great shower. Our friends' rooms had baths with low showers. The ferries were noisy at times but I wouldn't be put off by this.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kaz747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivedo

Address: Piazza Martiri della Liberta' 14 | Lombardia, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: £114 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivedo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel on the edge of Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Olivedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivedo Hotel Varenna
Hotel Olivedo Varenna, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing